Saturday In The Park – or not….


This is the day the Lord has made; I will rejoice and be glad in it.

Today I am waffling between happy homebody feelings and being a bit melancholy.  I was really glad to sleep in, even though it was a much interupted morning sleep.  Molly wanted out, in, out, in several times after Bill left, and she absolutely doesn’t take “no” for an answer!  It was still nice to lay there in the quiet, though. 

I am also enjoying Daddy and Mama this morning.  It is my first all-day time with them since we’ve been back, and we’ve been enjoying the coolness of the house while looking out on the beautiful, sunlit yard.  You can’t tell how hot it is out there from the easy chair in the living room!  Mama is more needy than ever now,  but is in a good mood, which is very helpful in my attitude.  I always try to keep a good attitude towards both my parents, hoping my attitude will set the stage for theirs.  It does work that way much of the time, but every once in awhile, the tables are turned, and I am the one needing the attitude lift.  It’s nice when one or both of them can do that for me!

Bill and Dannye Reigh are out shooting a wedding.  We were contracted to shoot this wedding over a year ago, and I have loved getting to know the little bride over the phone since then.  I think that’s where the melancholy feelings are coming from:  realizing that my life is not my own.  Were I not caring for my parents, I would be with my hubby and daughter doing something I LOVE to do – coordinating portraiture at a wedding.

So…what do I do with these melancholy feelings?

I made myself a strawberry smoothie and am now watching my Astros (who aren’t doing so well today!) and writing to my Xanga friends! 

I think I’ll continue my trip journal, although I won’t have photos today.  Dan gave me a DVD with all her finished pics from the trip, but my dinosaur computer doesn’t read DVDs.  I can’t wait to show them to you, though!

Upon arrival at Emily’s parents home (Em, Dan, and the kids were camped out there) I saw the very painful looking crushed thumb of my Dannye Reigh.  She had told me about the accident – car door shut on it – but didn’t really tell me how bad it was.  IT. WAS. BAD.  Her thumb was swollen all the way to the joint at her hand, although the door had actually caught it at the nailbed area, which was black, and the nail was split horizontally.  It had been bleeding, but by the time I got there the bleeding had mostly stopped.  The pain was immense, however, aching all the way to her elbow!  Isn’t it amazing that your child can be 26 years old, yet you continue to want to make their hurts better!  Dan wouldn’t let me take her to the Dr., and she did see improvement every day, but man, it looked bad!

We also learned upon arrival that due to a caffaufel between the Electric Company and a former tenant, Bo and Emily were without electricity at their home.  The date of reconnect kept moving further and further away, leaving them hot and dark for a full week!  We were all even more thankful for our lodging arrangments and spent many cool days and evenings there.  Again, such a beautiful home!

I’m not going to go day by day – mostly because it is all blurred together now.  While we were there, I not only got lots of baby lovin’ and playing, I also got to go shopping with my girls a couple of times!  The first shopping trip was all about Titus.  He REALLY needed some clothes that fit.

Of course, first we had to find something pink with pink sparkles for our littlest shopper, which we knew would keep her happy the rest of the day.  It really worked well – we went to Target and found a few things for Arulai, then were able to go home, eat lunch, put her down for a nap with Papa, and then off to BabiesRUs! 

I’d never been to BabiesRUs before – what a fun store for baby shopping!  They were having a great sale, so we got quite a few outfits for Baby Titus, plus ideas for other needs he will have in the near future.  We also had a blast!

Titus' clothes  Titus' clothes2

I think that since it is time to begin supper prep, I’d better get off here.  I’ve probably talked way too long, anyway!!  I will try to give the rest of the story next time so we can get on with the now!  We’ll see…

God bless your day!!

 

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Saturday In The Park – or not….

  1. We made a trip to Babies R Us just today, actually! My husband was practically pulling me out of the store after we found what we were after. I wanted to peruse every aisle, take in every novelty, and look at every little girlie outfit in the place! 🙂 It’s a good thing he pulled me out, though, or we would have been late picking our little guy up.I’m glad you had a wonderful time on your trip. Meeting a newborn grandbaby has to be a joy that is hard to match! I feel awful for Dannye. Wow, that sounds so painful! I hope she’s recovered well!

  2. Sounds like you had a lovely saturday! We’re sure missing y’all around here.

  3. Mottsngbury says:

    Buying baby clothes is more fun then shopping for oneself.  And that’s saying a lot in my case b/c I LOVE to shop for myself.  Mine are too old to buy for w/o them along…….sooooo sad!  No more surprises.  Even my 10 year old (Miss Katye Scarlett) knows what she will & WILL NOT wear.Glad you’re having a good time w/Daddy & your mama!  She & I had a really good conversation on Father’s Day b/f I talked w/Daddy.  Jeanne was at church & it was just the two of them.  Give them hugs & a kiss for me! Love you!

Leave a Reply

