It’s Raining, It’s Pouring…


Hurricane/Tropical Storm Alex wasn’t really supposed to bother us except for a bit of rain, which we needed.  That was about 4 inches ago for us; upwards of 12 inches for other areas around Houston!  There are folks in Houston who are still waiting to get to go home from work.  We haven’t had it that bad – just a steady light rain all day with a couple of downpours thrown in for good measure. 

For Bill, this weather has simply coincided with how his heart feels today.  I’m not going to post the whole story, but last night he called me around midnight to tell me that while he was in the reception of a small wedding he had been shooting, someone broke into his truck and stole his computer and a bag of camera accessories!  Because he drives a company truck, and uses a company laptop, all of those things can be replaced.  The heart break comes in that he had some really special pictures on that laptop that are not backed up anywhere.  His Xanga post tells about it, but words can’t describe how sad he is about his photos!  Bill has such a love for photography, and he especially has a passion for learning his craft.  He LOVES experimenting with his camera, with the props, with lighting, with the subject of his photography. 

Bill's stuff 080

Many of the images on his computer were just such photos.  Some of the photos were of another passion he has – classic automobiles.  He had spent the whole day at a street rod show in Minneapolis while we were there, all by himself, and had the most wonderful day!  The photos represented the memory of that day for him.  Each group of photos he lost has a meaning like that for him.  It’s almost like losing your pictures in a house fire – they are simply gone.   I’m just so heartbroken for him.

Because of the late night reception, the theft, then the police report, Bill ended up sleeping in town last night.  He called me late this morning to see if I wanted to go shopping for a new computer of my own.  That brings up another incident that happened just before we left for our Minnesota trip.  Lightning struck the transformer by our house and apparently the only damage done (except to the transformer) was to our desktop and router here at the house.  Both of them dead!  The desktop was older, but Bill asked me to call the homeowner’s insurance to see if it was worth claiming.  Well, it turns out that it was, so we did and we got the payment just yesterday.  Bill said shopping might help his depression, and I told him it certainly always helps me!  So we had a really great afternoon shopping for a new laptop for me.  We ended up finding such a good deal that we were able to buy one for Dannye Reigh, too!  (Her laptop has been on life support for over a year now!)  It was really great, and I think that while it certainly didn’t change any circumstances, Bill did have a much better afternoon!  He is also going to call the restaurant where the incident happened to see if they have parking lot security cameras that may have recorded the theft.  It might help…

Our Fourth of July festivities will probably be rather quiet.  I wish we could have more of us together for our day, but weekends are usually spent with our immediate families, or working in Dave’s case.  I asked Dannye if she wanted to come over, and she’s coming (“unless I get a better offer!”  )  We’re going to grill some steaks and I am making a Banana Pudding.  I think Daddy and Mama will like that.

Mama has been especially “off” the past few days.  She isn’t totally lost, but has wanted to “go home” several times a day.  She also gets a little more agitated that she had been.  I don’t explain about her already being at home unless she presses me.  I’ve been telling her things like “it’s too late to go anywhere” or “we’re not going anywhere in this rain!” and then change the subject.  It works most of the time.

Pettys pictures August 11, 2007 (2)

Because the demented mind is so difficult for me to understand, it seems really odd to me when Mama expects Daddy to do something about her circumstances – Daddy, who is 90 years old, mostly deaf, and legally blind.  I know that she still sees him as her big, strong husband.  It just seems odd that she can’t see his frailty.  He sees hers, and for the most part has great compassion for her.  She just doesn’t get it, though. 

Mama went to bed quite awhile ago, but just won’t stay there as long as she hears someone up.  Last night I told her she gets more exercise after she goes to bed than she does all day!  She opens her door, looks out, sometimes tries to ask a question, sometimes just looks at us for a bit.  She rarely wants anything, or at least doesn’t remember if she wanted anything.  I always ask her if she wants to stay up or go to bed, and she always chooses the bed, but just won’t settle in if she hears us at all.  I’d better go join my hubby in dreamland before Mama gets up again!

God bless your weekend!
2 Chron. 7:14

 

 

 

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to It’s Raining, It’s Pouring…

  1. So sorry to hear about the theft of Bill’s equipment and the loss of his pictures!  It is going to be a quiet 4th of July weekend here, too, and I am happy with that!

  2. it just breaks my heart for him, Mama! of all the things to take, it had tio be those. dadgum.sure wish we could spend the 4th with y’all. Nathanael will like;y work, as they’re offering time-and-a-half. 🙂 gotta love that.:/

  3. ABAHM says:

    Oh, so sorry to hear of the theft and loss of Bill’s photos!  I understand about your mom.  Grandpa always would tell us all to go to bed, even if it was 8PM, he figured if it was dark and he was sleeping we should go to bed!  However, if he got up at 2 AM he didn’t seem to use the same reasoning.  We would say it was the middle of the night, but he would think it was just early morning and would want to get up and get into things.  He couldn’t understand that Nana had cancer either.  He would say, “she looks fine, she doesn’t look sick”. Hope your mom settles down, I will pray for contentment. 

  4. chix0rgirl says:

    Oh, I’m heartsick to hear about his photos. My friend had his computer stolen out of his carry-on once when we were flying home from a wedding. Some people, eh? That’s so sad. Does he have any online accounts to back up his photos with? If not, let me recommend one!

  5. Bettyeboop says:

    I so understand how Bill feels about his photos. Those are his special memories. I keep most of mine on Shutterfly, some on Facebook, but try to keep them all moved to my external drive. I am behind on that though. I used to be so good about burning cd’s and then DVD’s but haven’t done that in quite a while. I was so happy when Bill told me about your insurance pymt on your computer. You don’t get that fortunate often. Now if we will just hear good news on my power chair.I got so sad reading about Chloe. I know how much it hurts to see them that way. Please tell her and Daddy too that I love them so very much. Did Bill tell you about Adam’ finger. I assume he saw it on Facebook today. Tab posted photos. If it’s not one thing it’s a hundred. They are going to spend a week with me while Tab has her hysto. Pray for me. You notice, I don’t say “with Scooter & I”. Iknow who will be doing all the “taking care”. I love you, Sis.

  6. AuntGen says:

    I’ve been off the computer for a few days and didn’t realize I’d missed a post!  I was so sad for Bill about his photos.  I know how much he puts into them and how he loves them, more than most can appriciate.  I’m thankful that you have been able to replace your computer so quickly.  What a blessing!  Love you. 

Leave a Reply

