Peanut Butter and Jelly


It probably sounds silly, but that was supper tonight – peanut butter and jelly.  I love peanut butter, but because of my diet, the only peanut butter I have had has been in diet bars.  Good stuff, but I really have been missing the rich, gooey sweetness of my favorite – JIF!  So tonight, the diet was on hold, and I had a PBJ sandwich!

I know what your are thinking – why blow your diet with PEANUT BUTTER?????  Well, mostly because I don’t really want to blow my diet, and I can excuse the peanut butter somewhat because it has good protein, I ate sugar free apricot preserves, all on diet bread.  If I really blow things too much it is so difficult to get back on track.  I have lost right at 45 pounds and I don’t want to start down that slippery slope!!  I have about 20 more to go, so tonight, PBJ; tomorrow, back to veggies, protein, and VERY LITTLE CARBS!  (I might need your prayers!)

Tomorrow is Morgan’s funeral.  Morgan is my niece (in-law).  She had been ill for quite some time, but there hadn’t been a true diagnosis for her condition.  She had actually gotten some better in the last couple of months, but became very ill last weekend.  By Tuesday she had passed away.  It was so very sudden, and we are pretty much still in shock.  Morgan is my nephew Mike’s wife and they have a precious 12 year old daughter, Haleigh.  It’s just so sad.  We are truly thankful, though, that Morgan professed to know Jesus and we are comforted to know she is with Him and is truly healed now!

The funeral is in Palestine, Texas.  Bill, Daddy and I will leave around 9 in the morning.  Jeanne will need to stay home with Mama – the trip would be too difficult for her, and the change of scenery might potentially confuse her.

It’s been many years since I was in Palestine.  It’s such a beautiful town.  At least my memories of it are!  If it were for any other reason, I would so look forward to going.  Daddy will appreciate doing something different, and much of our family will be there.  Daddy will love seeing them again.

***************************************

This weekend is my sweet Emily’s birthday.  I had to ship her package so it would be there in time, and while I was at it I also mailed a package to Arulai and Titus.  Well, today Arulai called me and said, “Nonnie, thank you for my PRESENT!!!”  We talked about the different things in the package for a minute, and she suddenly said, “Well, I’m through talking to you now, Nonnie!”  I just began laughing, and when Emily got on the phone she could hardly speak for laughing so hard!!  A.J. is such a funny little girl!!

MN Trip (40).jpg

God bless your day!

 

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Peanut Butter and Jelly

  1. I’m on that road of losing weight too!  I have lost 8 pounds, and I have 47 more to go!  Have a safe trip to the funeral; so sorry to hear about the death of your niece(-in-law.)

  2. i’m so sad that we’re not close enough to attend with y’all—i barely know Haleigh, but my heart just wants to give her a huge, huge hug. thanks for lovin’ me so much, Mama. i love you, too!

  3. AuntGen says:

    Love how you love your own, Nina.  And how your own love you back, little girlie attention spans aside. 

  4. Bettyeboop says:

    I can not believe it is not 10:30 and I am already in bed. Today has been so long. I am so thankful you did not go to the cemetery. It was almost an hour’s drive. At least by the time we got there I had cooled down from the heat stroke feeling I was having in the parking lot of the funeral home. Of course it started over again at the graveside. The unbearable heat!!! Mikey said he did not mind at all if we took some pictures. So jessi and jacey took several w my camera. I will post them after we get home tomorrow. The cemetery is so small and sweet. Thank you so much for bringing Daddy. Didn’t you love the service. Uncle Chester is so precious. Morgan had talked a great deal abt her Uncle Chester. Love you, precious sister oh, I’ve lost 53. Yay!!

  5. pettybunch says:

    @Bettyeboop – I was afraid of the heat.  Daddy said just a couple of things that gave us a little insight into his heart about going to the graveside.  He said a couple of times that “the cemetery is the hardest part of the funeral – it is so final.  It is so hard to leave…”  I felt he was remember leaving his two sons.  It brought tears to my eyes.I’m excited about your weightloss – you look great.  I wish I could have spent more time with you today.  I know you are really hurting for Mikey, for Haleigh, and even for yourself.  Morgan will be greatly missed.

Leave a Reply

