Some days are like that, huh Howie?


There are times that if you are not an Andy Griffith buff, you will have no idea why I say some of the things I say.  My title is an example…

I woke up this morning so excited about my day:  after my four hours at work, Bill and I were going to meet with a wedding client.  Going to meet with the client sounded like fun for me, simply because I’ve had to be out of the loop for awhile in our business.  Getting to spend the afternoon with Bill sounded even better!!

My workday ended up being an easy one – my boss left after a couple of hours to go play golf, so I was able to quickly finish up my work and get prepared for the meeting.  I had hoped to meet Bill at Firestone so I could leave the van for an oil change.  We saw early on that this was not going to happen.  By the time I was packing up to leave the office, my fun day began to unravel!  Bill was totally bogged down with work at his “real” job, and was going to have to postpone the meeting until after 4.  That meant I couldn’t go, since I had to be home with the folks by 5 so Jeanne  can go by her MIL’s home to give her an insulin shot, then get home around the time her hubby does. 

These kinds of things happen real often in Bill’s job – he really never knows what will get thrown into the mix of his day.  I’ve had to make many adjustments during his 13 years at this job, so it should have been old hat!

I don’t know why, but this time it wasn’t as simple as that for me.  I was absolutely crushed!  I hadn’t realized how much I was looking forward to this little jaunt out of my restrictive days.  I had so much fun preparing the paperwork for this little couple, designing it just so, printing it so nicely, packaging the samples so neatly.  It just couldn’t happen this way!

I did make the adjustment before too long, but I sure had to do some praying to get there!  I’ll admit that even now my heart aches a little as I wait for Bill to get home from the meeting.  I have determined to be especially kind and gentle toward Mama and Daddy tonight.  I’ve learned that my heart nearly always follows my actions, and the love shown by my actions will very quickly be overflowing out of my heart.  Some may think that is backwards, perhaps even hypocritical, but I believe very strongly that it is Scriptural.  (2 Kings 4 is one example)

Disappointment can be a crippling emotion if we let it.  In the passage referred to above, the Shunammite woman lost her only child – the child promised and given her by God after years of barrenness.  When the child died, rather than tell her husband her grief, she told him “All is well” and went to get Elisha.  When Elisha sent Gehazi to inquire  ‘Is all well with you? Is all well with your husband? Is all well with the child?’  She replied, “All is well.” 

All was not well.  Not in the world’s eyes.  Her child was dead.  But this amazing lady had faith in her Lord, that in God’s plan, all was indeed well.

All is not well in my life, either (again, according to the world’s view).  My life has been severely interrupted so that rather than running around with my husband and daughter at the drop of a hat, or flying/driving to see my far away children and grandchildren from time to time, I am helping my mother go to the bathroom,  getting up 2 or 3 times in the night to comfort Mama when she feels lost and alone, staying home during events that I would normally attend were it not for my parent’s needs. 

If I take the time to look at my life through my Heavenly Father’s eyes, however, ALL IS WELL.  Perhaps I don’t understand the plan.  Perhaps I can’t see any good reason for all I have “lost” during this time.  I could insert here all the good I DO see in helping my parents, because there is much good.  But what if I didn’t see any good?  Does that mean there is no good? 

The thing is that ALL IS WELL because God Himself is good.  By His grace, I have faith (sometimes moment by moment, sometimes a little delayed ) that God is indeed working all of my life, my circumstances, heaven, and earth, whatever touches me, for good.  HIS GOOD.  MY GOOD. 

The biggest part of that “good” is that I am being transformed into the image of my Lord Jesus Christ.  I truly, truly take joy in that.  Jesus, the One who loves me even though He knows my evil thoughts and deeds; the One who loves others in that same way, no matter how they treat Him; the One who always does the right thing, says the right thing, thinks the right thing.  I am being conformed into HIS image!  Again, what JOY!

And now, having written these words, my heart is catching up with my words and my actions.  I needed this reminder.  God is so good to lead me from whining to accepting to embracing His plan for my day. 

Bill is now home.  The meeting went very well.  I am so thankful, because Bill hadn’t been feeling well today and was a little stressed as he left the house earlier.  The couple made some decisions on their package, and seemed pleased with what we are offering.  ALL IS WELL!

Mama is in bed, Daddy is back in his room, and Bill is in our room, probably asleep with his laptop in his lap.  Oh, and the Astros won tonight!  I’d better go get some sleep myself!

God bless your day!

 

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Some days are like that, huh Howie?

  1. Mottsngbury says:

    My sweet sister……..you break my heart, but as always……..I’m AMAZED at your faith.  You think it’s common place what you & Jeannie do, but trust me, it’s NOT.  I do wish I had Mom closer, but there’s no moving her now.  I’ll regret that forever. And I know you didn’t post what you did for any “whoa is me” or “look what I do”.  I KNOW the true meaning behind your post.  You have a love for your husband, parents & children that is over powering & you want to do what is best for all.  Unfortunately, there’s only so much of Nina that can go around. Hang in there my sweet sis.Could I take this opportunity to share some good news w/you since you’re not on F B.  My sweet Madi got a FULL FOUR YEAR SCHOLARSHIP w/Lamar University in Beaumont (to play volleyball).  It’s a FULL ride plus the second semester in the summer every year til she graduates is paid for w/all that goes w/it, too.  Want’s to get his girls ready for season so has to throw in a little academia.  Needless to say, we’re all so excited & proud of Miss Madi. She’s a sweet, loving young lady that has devoted years to hone her craft & it’s paid off. No summers at the beach, etc..plus she’s works an average of four days a week around her VB camps & practices. I could go on, but this is your post.  I just wanted to share since no one from the family has posted a commen on FB except B.  Didn’t think you’d seen it.I love you VERY much.  Hang in there my sweet sister……..Motts

  2. Oi vey, Mama. 😦 Love you.

  3. AuntGen says:

    All is well indeed.  God is conforming us to the image of Christ, and to be like Him is our ultimate goal!  In doing The Truth Project, I have been seeing my relationship with Christ in a slightly different light- as the God Whose name is Jealous, Who rises up to defend my covenant relationship with Him against any and all who would threaten it.  He is jealous for me the way a husband is jealous for his wife and his marriage.  This just makes me love Him more and helps me understand better what it is to be faithful to Him.  This might not seem to have anything to do with your post, but it does connect to our conversation about it this afternoon. : ) I love  you and see God’s hand on your life. 

  4. pettybunch says:

    @Mottsngbury – No regrets, Motts.  Your Mama is in loving hands, you go see her often, Til can see her often, and you are able to minister your love to other very important people in your life.  I think of Ruth, and how you ministered to her as often as you could while she was living. And your babies, and even Greta and her babies.  We are doing our best just as you do your best.  You also have to realize that Jeanne and I have each other, plus Dave, Dannye, and Amy to help out.  You don’t have the luxury of having so much family around you!!I am SOOOOOO proud of Madi!!!  It is so wonderful to have such a great opportunity, and I know she will value it greatly!  God is so good!I love you, too, and am always so grateful when you comment – makes me feel close to you, and it encourages me and Jeanne so much!

  5. pettybunch says:

    @sunshinejoy717 – I’m always so blessed just to know you came by!  I love you, too, and just so you know, those precious videos are sometimes all I need to set my world upright again! 

  6. @pettybunch – i just wish i had time to write more in my paltry little comments! I comfort myself with knowing that you know my heart, and a few words is better than none at all. 🙂 *sigh*

Leave a Reply

