Living Murphy’s Law…


Apparently I need a great deal of character building!  This actually comes as no great surprise to me – at least when I look honestly into this heart of mine.  But there are times – most of the time, really – when I AM surprised that my precious Potter-Father suddenly begins to spend what seems to be an inordinate amount of time molding my character! 

I’ve been physically tired lately.  Mama doesn’t sleep very well, therefore I don’t sleep very well.  Molly also doesn’t seem to be able to make it through the night without a potty break.  Bill is about ready to ring her neck, but he knows that might just push me over the edge!

Anyway, back to my whining.  I began realizing today, when I got some not-so-encouraging news from Mama’s insurance advisor, that I had really begun to harden my heart toward my situation.  I realized I am hoping for some kind of magical answer to my life circumstance.   As I realized my attitudinal problem, I began singing a prayer to the Lord –

“Make me a servant
 humble and meek
  Lord help me lift up
those who are weak [my parents?????] 
And may the prayer of my heart always be
 Make me a servant, 
Make me a servant,
Make me a servant today!”

I was really feeling the Lord’s peace slowly filling my heart, more and more as I got closer to home after work.  Bill was heading off to help his cousin work on his tractor at their sheep ranch.  I thought he could probably use a bit of time loose from the responsibilities of this household, so I encouraged him to take his “ditty bag” and stay overnight.  I was feeling so gracious!!

Jeanne and I talked about some of the issues around here we rarely have opportunity to discuss, and it was really good.  Dannye had been with Mama this morning while I was at work and Jeanne took Daddy to the doctor, and she stayed for supper – another blessing to my day.

The Astros were playing the Braves, and for awhile it was touch and go, but we were at least holding our own.

So far, so good…

Then, right about the fourth inning, Daddy noticed the air conditioner didn’t seem to be blowing cool air.  Dannye and I did some checking, and sure enough, the outside unit fan wasn’t working.  No a/c.  In August.  In southeast Texas.

It was right about 95 degrees outside at the time – cooling down for the evening.  I’m talking, the sun was down and it was still 95 degrees!  

Now, folks, I am rarely too warm.  I like just enough air conditioning to give me air to breath.    Bill used to tell people that I have to lay out on a rock in the sun to get warm!  My Mama is even more so cold-blooded.  But it was HOT in this house this evening!  Dan put the fan on Mama, I turned the a/c off, but kept the unit on “fan only” so the air would circulate.  And the Astros began scoring runs like they were trying to make up for this entire miserable season, so I was plenty distracted. 

But Mama – poor, miserable Mama.  I told Jeanne, you’d have thought we’d all been cast into the fiery furnace – seven times hotter!  She whined, she cried, she stomped, she demanded.  I kept telling her it was not THAT hot, and if she’d stop fretting, she would cool off some. 

I had already called Bill to find out what to do, and he was on his way home.  I felt so bad, but really didn’t know what else to do.  I tried the air again, just to make Mama think I was trying to do SOMETHING, and it began working – for a few minutes.  While it was working, I got Mama in bed – hoping she won’t notice the heat rising.  

I’m sitting here now, almost midnight, waiting for my very tired husband to check a window unit he has out back so he can put it in if it works.  At least it will help a little in the night.  I love and admire my husband more than any human being on this earth!  He is incredible!

I almost had to laugh as the “make me a servant” song, still stuck in my head, began it’s rounds again.  The Lord knows my self-centered heart, even if I don’t – or won’t admit what I do know.  But I’ve been forced to examine the ugliness and admit it – right here on Xanga.

And so the Potter continues to work.  And I’m so grateful that He does, even though it sometimes hurts.

And I hate to sweat.

But I really, really, really want to be like Jesus.

God bless your day!


  

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Living Murphy’s Law…

  1. Oh, my. . . I do hope you got that A/C working.  Praying for you right now!

  2. AuntGen says:

    I admire your husband, too and am so thankful for his willingness to serve our parents, even when they don’t know or appreciate all he does.  God is so faithful to work on us, and He never stops that glory to glory transformation that He’s promised to accomplish in us.  I, too have been reflecting on that whole quick fix attitude in myself and giving my (our) circumstances over to Him again.  He is to be trusted and as we yield it all to Him, He’ll lead and provide. I love you so much Nina, and am so glad we had those few minutes to talk.

  3. chix0rgirl says:

    You poor dears! You’re all so sweet to your parents. It warms my heart. (Although you probably don’t need more warm right now!) Love. 🙂 

  4. redladybug18 says:

    I know how it is without a/c.  The other day our auto shutoff accidentally went off b/c the cat got in the closet and so one whole afternoon even though upstairs one was still working it got quite hot down stairs 🙂

  5. Bettyeboop says:

    When we came home when Morgan passed we noticed how warm the house was.  Marty said it had been that way for quite some time.  It seemed to get hotter every day we were there.  He had been putting a box fan by him every night and keeping half way comfortable in the evenings and it did help.  I am afraid I was a lot like Chloe.  I couldn’t keep my mouth shut about the heat.  I can’t abide heat and just get sick.  I am used to a very cold trailer as Bill will attest to.  We called our old friend who always does our air and heat and his son checked it out and blew out some copper lines and cleaned the filthy coils.  Gave it a shot of freeon and praise the Lord, we had wonderful air again.  He fixed it the afternoon before the funeral and we were gone the whole next day but it was so nice to come home to a cool house.  Yes, your husband is a gift from God.  I treasure him as a brother and as a friend.  I love you, sister and wish you did not berate yourself like you do.  You are one of the truly best people I know.  (Next to your husband.) LOL   LOL

Leave a Reply

