Just Catching Up


My nephew Michael – Nathanael’s older brother-from-another-mother – celebrated his 30th birthday last month.  It was a really hot day in July, but I took Mama and Daddy over there anyway.  Michael had just finished his new front deck, and it was gorgeous.  Amy and Dannye had decorated it so nicely, and Mike was grilling the fajitas.  Bill brought a big ol’ fan for a little bit of air, so Mama and Daddy sat on the porch near it and enjoyed the food and fellowship for over an hour!  It was really good to get Mama out.  Amy slipped them a piece of birthday cheesecake so we could go on home, since they were going to enjoy some other festivities before Michael blew out the candles. 

I don’t have any photos from while we were there, since Dan wasn’t shooting at that point, but I did get hers from later in the evening.  I hope you enjoy them.

Michael is 30 (11).jpg
The aforementioned deck – isn’t it nice?

Michael is 30 (1).jpg
I misspoke – Dan did take one pic while I was there.  Me and my sibs!  Jeanne, Dave, and yours truly.

Michael is 30 (2).jpg
The birthday boy, Michael (Jeanne’s one and only) and his beautiful Amy

Michael is 30 (3).jpg
Our sweet Missy

  Michael is 30 (8).jpg
Dannye says, “Doesn’t this just make you want to whistle the Andy Griffith Show theme?”

Michael is 30 (4).jpg
These are some of Amy’s brothers with their Dad fishing in the tank.

Michael is 30 (5).jpg
The big “kids” did some skeet shooting.

Michael is 30 (6).jpg
Michael threw his own skeet! 

Michael is 30 (7).jpg
Good shot!

Michael is 30 (9).jpg
Dave’s turn.

Michael is 30 (10).jpg
Bill shot in his own way!

Michael is 30 (12).jpg
Happy Birthday to Michael !!!!!

Michael is 30 (13).jpg
Amy’s sister Mary, and her niece Elana.  I think they must be best buds!

Michael is 30 (14).jpg
Elana was born 2 weeks before Arulai.

Michael is 30 (15).jpg
The last event of the evening was fireworks.  I wasn’t there, but it sure looks beautiful here!

******************************************************

I have been really sick the past couple of days, so Jeanne blessed me by staying over last night.  I’m afraid Mama and Daddy would have had to fend for themselves if she hadn’t – I haven’t been that sick in AWHILE!  Some kind of stomach bug.  Anyway, I had to go to work this morning, or figure out how to go over the weekend.  I felt quite a bit better this morning – seriously, I’d have had to die to get better yesterday!  Anyway, I was hoping I would continue to improve, and I have.  My stomach is still not just right, but I am basically back to par otherwise.  I still haven’t had the opportunity to really thank Jeanne and Dannye Reigh for stepping up.  Dan came for a bit yesterday evening so Jeanne could go home and get supper for her hubby.  They both tried to stay far, far away from me – and I sure didn’t blame them! 

 My sweet hubby took good care of me during the night watch both nights, and then had the unpleasant task of working on the septic system all day Thursday!  Nasty!!!  But he’s such a trooper, and none of us know what we would do without him.

Dan and Bill had a photo shoot Wednesday night, and I can’t wait to show you their photos.  I think I won’t even tell you what the subject was until I can get some of her pics.  I will say this – it was right up Dannye’s alley, and she had so much fun.

I got to talk to my Tater tonight.  She was shopping and found something “Nonnie just needs to get for Arulai” so she had to call me to tell me where to find it.  I think it sounds like a great Christmas gift idea…

Pamela (my Tater, for those of you who can’t keep up with all my kids’ nicknames) and her hubby Will are really “blessed with work” right now.  Added to school (Will) and their jobs, they are also very involved with their church.  Pamela told me tonight that just this weekend she has a Ladies Luau on Saturday, then their bus ministry, Nursing Home ministry, and some sort of kids ministry on Sunday.  Makes me tired just hearing about it!  They really love their church, and she was saying how much they are going to miss it when they move back to Michigan after Will graduates.  That will be next May.  I know it will be hard to leave those they have really built relationships with these 3 years, but I also know that the Lord has something wonderful for them where ever He leads them!

Dannye began her work year today.  Because she works for a school teacher, she works the same days a teacher does.  The kids haven’t gone back yet, but inservice for teachers has begun.  Dannye loves her kids so much, and has missed them this summer.  Right now she has both boys, but when school starts, Ruge will go into 2nd grade, and she will just have Parker.  She has a couple of possibilities for another child to join her little brood, so hopefully something will come about there.  She had a little girl with them last year, but Olivia will go to preschool this year.  Dannye would be perfectly content with just her and Parker, but the second child income would be a blessing, I know.

I think Bill is out shooting some meteor showers tonight.  He wanted to this morning, but had to hustle on to work.  I am really thinking it’s bedtime, and Mama and Daddy have already gone.  Mama won’t stay there until I’m gone, though.  She just thinks she’s gonna miss something!  She did miss the Astros come-from-behind win, and is missing the Texas Rangers tying their game at 9 in the 8th inning.  I’m hoping to finish with the Rangers on the winning side.  I do love my baseball!

I hope all this randomness has neither bored or confused you!  I just wanted to talk, and sometimes this is the only outlet.  You poor readers!!!!  But I am so grateful to have this outlet, and grateful for those of you who continue on encouraging me!

God bless your day!

 

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Just Catching Up

  1. Neither bored nor confused—far from it! Thanks for such an in-depth sharing of life down there. We are seriously homesick for y’all right now and it’s SO fun to read about what’s going on! Glad you’re feeling better, and wish you could come for tea with me this afternoon! Ruly and Sophie were awake at 6AM—-6! AM!—and we’re trying to keep ourselves entertained. Goodness sakes. These kids have the energy of entire football teams, I think! Maybe even NFL teams!love you. 🙂

  2. Your nephew certainly doesn’t look thirty! 🙂 He appears to be a great skeet-shooter, though! Wow. Pretty sure I’d be downright scary trying to do that. Hahaha.I definitely understand the need to just spill on xanga for a bit. And it’s hard when you’re sick… and boring, too! 🙂 Feel better soon! I hope you’re staying cool down in Texas!

  3. It was so wonderful to get to throw my man that party! I am still thanking God because He truely provided for it! Such fun it was!

Leave a Reply

