So much to say…


but I’ll try to spare you!   

This past week and a half has been absolutely crazy for me.  I’m so tired, and I’m just not one to be able to nap during the day.  Oh, I can sleep – but I end up sleeping for hours, and feel absolutely AWFUL when I wake up.  My Mom-in-Law used to come in from work and get her 10 minute power nap every afternoon, and wake up refreshed and ready for the evening.  Me, I’d be out of sorts for two days if I tried that!!

As most of you know, I have a part time job working four hours a day as secretary for a fire investigator.  Last week, my boss was out on a 5-day investigation, so I had the office all to myself.  Usually, this means days of ease for me, but not so this time.  We have been unusually busy this year, and even more specifically this summer.  I had so much to do during my usual four hours, then also had to stay late some days to wait on new assignments or other communications that had to be taken at the office.  I also forwarded the office phone to my cell for afterhours, and was getting calls up into the evenings.  I told Billy (my boss) that I knew he did alot after I go home for the day, but I have a new appreciation for all that goes on in the afternoon! 

This week, I will be covered up doing all the work that comes after the investigations are completed.  This means downloading photos, burning CDs, printing contact sheets, copying videos, transcribing dictations, preparing invoices, and on and on.  We have the big job plus quite a few regular jobs to report on, so there doesn’t look to be any ease in the week ahead!  The week of Labor Day looks hopeful – Billy is going to Colorado for vacation!  I still have to go to work, but only to answer the phones and take care of any catch up work still not done.  Hopefully, that won’t be much!

**side note**

I just had the most hilarious conversation with Arulai.  She called, I think to tell me she was going to the lake with her Mama, Daddy, and Titus.  I told her she should get her Daddy to take her fishing.  Oh, boy, was that a mistake!  It didn’t matter what else we said, or suggested, she was not letting go of the fishing idea.  To my knowledge, Arulai has never been fishing in her life!  I don’t think she even knew what it means to go fishing!  Nathanael and Emily told her, and she was ready to go!  I laughed and laughed at her expressions of serious intent of going fishing today, and also apologized to Bo and Em for starting this!  I hope she gets over it, because Bo said he is NOT taking Arulai fishing!  I told him I’d have to talk to her Granddaddy (Emily’s dad), get him to take her.  Of course, I don’t know if he likes to fish, either.  Maybe I’d better let this idea just die away…

**end side note**

The extra hours at work probably wouldn’t be too much for me in a normal situation, but Mama never seems to sleep.  There was one day that she slept alot during the day, and none that night.  Most of the time, though, she doesn’t sleep day or night!  Some nights when she’s awake, she doesn’t necessarily need me, but I hear her moving and moaning all night long.  Other nights, it’s up and down because she’s hot, then cold; lonely, or scared; or just plain confused!  That doesn’t happen as often as it used to, thankfully, although last night she got me up  just before midnight and didn’t know what she wanted.  I’ve gotten bolder in my fatigue – I told her she HAD to get in bed and stay there, and I really needed to get some sleep!  Surprisingly enough, she did!

Mama is ready to go to bed now, but I’m trying to put her off until 8:30.  I don’t necessarily mind her going to bed this early, but I am watching the Astros – we are winning right now – and I know she won’t stay in the bed if I stay up to see the end of the game.  She often can’t remember what’s going on in the other room, and gets up every couple of minutes.  So it is really nice when I can get her to stay up a little longer.  She’s beginning to fret now, though, so I’d better get off here.  So much for sparing you my overabundance of words!!!!!!!!!!!

God bless your day!

 

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to So much to say…

  1. billseye says:

    Maybe Papa needs to take her fishin’. Or, to the tractor pulls!

  2. redladybug18 says:

    that sounds like quite the interesting job~ As for your mom, if I was you, I probably would have lost patience long ago.  You’re amazing to do this!

  3. AuntGen says:

    I’m not glad for the fatigue, but am thankful that it has made you bolder toward Mom.  She is usually pretty compliant, so maybe this will help you for now and the immediate future.  Love you…

  4. ABAHM says:

    Lord bless you dear friend.  I don’t know how, but if you could get Mama out and about during the day it might help.  As you know, Grandpa wore us out something awful, and used to get up multiple times a night.  Now he sleeps through the night as he wears himself out during the day.  I know a lot of that is having so much to look at, and a big facility to walk around all day.  They say he walks around to all the kitchens and eats all day.  We say that is livin the dream, as he loves to eat, and is now thin as a rail, so can eat all day.  Getting Grandpa out wasn’t so easy when he lived here, but we did try to take him for walks ( mainly David did!) 

  5. pettybunch says:

    @ABAHM – I wish Mama could walk some.  She can barely walk from her chair to the bathroom, and that’s just a few feet!  I am on the lookout for a decent wheelchair so we can take her out more, though!

  6. ABAHM says:

    @pettybunch – I think that is a great idea!  I was thinking it even as I read your reply.  I had a boy that did not take naps as a child, but the stroller would help wear him out…just looking at things!

  7. She prattled on about that fishing pole for hours, it seemed! There was no mental connection between fishing and the lake, though, which was pretty funny. 😉

  8. Bettyeboop says:

    Tell Nate Aunt B said to take his daughter fishing!  Get her a little Minnie Mouse fishing pole.  Think of the photo ops!

  9. Mottsngbury says:

    Would Chloe’s doctor prescribe a sleeping med for her……….I’m all for that to be able to let BOTH of you get some rest!  I can’t see that it would hurt her any!!  And yes, the wheelchair would be wonderful to take her for “strolls” as it gets cooler!!  Daddy could “push” her & they’d both get some excersice & he could hold on to her w/c to steady himself………..Love you, my sis!

  10. pettybunch says:

    @Bettyeboop – I found an adorable little Princess pole and tackle box!  That’s what brought it up in the first place.  Bo lost interest in fishing along about 10 – 12 years old, so I wasn’t surprised when he wasn’t all about my idea!!  We’ll make that part of her Texas experience!!@Mottsngbury – Dr. S did prescribe a sleeping pill, only if necessary, but one of the major side effects is increased dementia.  I don’t know if I’m that tired! 

Leave a Reply

