There was this deer…


On the way home yesterday, less than a mile from Mama’s house, I came upon the most beautiful sight:

Fawns 009a (1032 x 688).jpg

These three precious fawns were right in the road in front of me.  I was a little ways off, so I stopped and grabbed my camera to snap a shot or two before they ran off.  It appears they are triplets, although I didn’t see even one doe.  I’m sure she was watching from the woods, which are to the left of the pic, where two of the youngsters are looking. 

Fawns 010a (1504 x 1000).jpg

A friend on a “Mule” came up from the left, so the babies went bounding off before I could get very close.  I was hoping to get better shots, if that is even possible when I’m holding the camera!  But I was tickled to get these!

Fawns 011a (1504 x 1000).jpg

As Jeanne was driving home today, she saw the same three (we’re pretty sure it was) and called me to let me know they were hanging around. 

Just so you know, this road we are on is way in the boonies, and dead ends a little past Mama and Daddy’s house.  It’s probably not 3 miles long.  There is certainly more traffic on it than there was when my folks first moved out here 26+ years ago, but still not a high traffic area!

I am working on getting more photos from my day to day life, but find myself viewing so many things speeding by outside my window!  I cross our beautiful area lake, Lake Conroe, everyday on my way to work.  I go to work that way simply to see the sun sparkling on the water as I cross the mile long bridge.  I don’t always come home that way because of errands and stuff, but my mornings are almost sacred!  During the winter months I have seen eagles and ospreys around the lake.  Year around I see many egrets, herons, ducks, gulls, even pelicans on the lake.  I see deer and other wildlife, things that I guess should be old hat to me, but I am ever amazed at the creativity of my Lord every time I see them.  One of my favorite sightings is the beautiful Kingfishers waiting on the line to dive down for their dinner!  I’ve also seen Osprey swoop down and come up with fish from the lake.  One of these days I am going to not only find the time to photograph these things, but learn how to do so adequately enough to show them to you!

In the meantime, though, here are some of Dan’s pics from yesterday’s family day:

family day
Lunch Time!

family day2
Parker’s famiy didn’t end up moving to Louisiana, which certainly made my Dannye Reigh happy!

family day3
I rarely make it home in time for lunch, but they try to save me some!

family day4
Dan and Parkey having a popsicle!

Famliy Day
Dan’s beauty parlor is often open for business on Family Day.  Here, she’s giving Amy a trim.  I didn’t get to see Amy yesterday because I was so late and she leaves a little earlier than the others.  I’m always sad when I miss Amy!

Well, I’m off to take care of some Petty Family Photography business.  Dad and Mama are napping, and if I’m real quiet, I might get one, too!

God bless your day!

 

 

 

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to There was this deer…

  1. ABAHM says:

    So sweet.  Such a thrill to see those dainty fawns.  Your drive in sounds magical.  Beautiful smiling faces!!

  2. Those fawns are adorable!!! I’m so glad you got to see them! I, like you, never tire of His creation. I miss you yesterday! Maybe one of these days we will get to spend some time together! : )

  3. Kunkel_Daze says:

    Cool pics. My view of those deer is a little different from other folks’. I see them and think, “yummy!”Kunk

  4. Oh, how beautiful! Seeing your pictures aggravates that durn ache in my heart to come see y’all. Please hug everyone for me!

  5. redladybug18 says:

    aw such cute deer!  About a month ago I happened to look out my window and noticed the neighbors dog chasing something in our front yard…ran out there to find that it was a baby deer so cute and sweet.  After talking to the neighbors they decided to take it in and raise it until it was old enough since it was getting near night time and we didn’t want to coyotes eating it and didn’t know where the mother was.  Somehow it got sick and died about a week later though 😦

  6. Hutch5 says:

    those little fawns are sweet~ and suddenly.. i’m craving a popsicle!!! 😉

  7. pettybunch says:

    @Hutch5 – Bill and I eat a popsicle in bed every night!  It’s so funny, but I buy the sugar free kind, and boy are they good!  Try the Tropical flavors (Popsicle brand) – red is my favorite, orange is Bill’s!

  8. @sunshinejoy717 – Give yourself a hug from me Em! I cannot wait ’til y’all are able to visit! ( Totally not trying to nag. I know y’all will come as soon as you can!) Love, Amy

Leave a Reply

