A little bit of this, a little bit of that…


I have some thoughts flying around in my head, none of which are of any great doctrinal import.  Maybe I can write a bit, and post a few pics from my Dannye Reigh, and not be too dull!

Mama and I have had some difficult evenings.  I don’t know if it’s me or her causing the issues.  I usually handle her rantings with a fair amount of calm, but occasionally, when she rants against Daddy, I have a harder time remaining quiet.  Friday night was a humdinger, ending with me squalling and Mama later apologizing (really unusual – she rarely remembers a fuss after it’s over!).  Last night was a bit different.  Mama was a little lost, but really congenial.  She went to bed about her usual time, but began crying not long afterwards, and didn’t stop until around midnight.  She doesn’t usually know why she’s crying, and last night was no different.  I try to comfort her, but since she doesn’t even know what is wrong, it most always means just waiting it out.  Getting her distracted sometimes works, even just for a minute.  The last time I left her, she remained quiet.  I don’t think she slept well, though, because I heard her moving around in her bed all night.

Today, she is napping heavily in her chair, which is another indication she didn’t sleep well last night.  After lunch I am going to try to keep her awake the rest of the afternoon if I can.  I’m hoping we can watch our church DVD from the last Sunday I missed.  Mama enjoys my pastor’s messages, and something different might be a good diversion.  (Is that redundant?)

Just before school started, Dannye had both the boys while their mother, a school teacher, did her inservice week.  One day Dan took them to a local park called The 7-acre Wood, and although the temps were in the mid 90s, they had a wonderful time.  She took lots of photos, so I stole some from her Facebook to show you.

Summer fun 1.bmp
Parker loves to swing

Summer Fun 2.bmp

Summer Fun 3.bmp
This is Ruge – he began 2nd grade this year.  Totally unfathomable to me! 

Summer Fun 4.jpg

Summer Fun 9.jpg

Summer Fun 5.bmp
Miniature golf – isn’t Parkey cute? 

Summer Fun 7.jpg
Ruge had a better idea of the game

Summer Fun 8.jpg

 Summer Fun 10.jpg
Parker found all kinds of interesting things to do!

Summer Fun 11.jpg
Blue suckers = blue tongues!  I asked Dan why her blue tongue wasn’t in here with the boys’, but she said she doesn’t do “ring pops”, and that’s what their sucker of choice was today!

Summer Fun 12.jpg
Parker cooling off for a minute in the shade.  “Cooling off” may be a misnomer, though.  It was probably 90 degrees in the shade!

Summer Fun 13.jpg
Then they found the zip-line!

Summer Fun 15.jpg

Summer Fun 16.jpg

Summer Fun 14.jpg
Parkey got the hang of it, but couldn’t do much without Dan’s help.  Hence, only one pic of his efforts!

Summer Fun 17.bmp
Dan Reigh said “Everybody’s got a little Captain in them!”

Summer Fun 18.bmp

Summer Fun 19.bmp
They are absolutely adorable!

Summer Fun 20.bmp

Summer Fun 21.jpg
The 7-acre Wood is also a petting zoo.  These llamas were resting under the play gym, even with kids climbing all over it!

Summer Fun 22.bmp
A refreshing drink

Summer Fun 23.jpg    
He’s just beautiful!

Yesterday I had the chance to go out with Bill and Dan for a while.  Bill’s brother and sister – in – law celebrated their 40th wedding anniversary with a party thrown by their two daughters.  We had so much fun visiting with family and old friends.  Dan and Bill took pictures, and I will do a picture post as soon as I get ahold of them!

I had recently fallen off the wagon where dieting is concerned, but am working at getting back on track.  I gained 4 of my 47 pounds back, but have since lost 2 of those.  It’s only been sightly tough to get back on track this time.  Having opportunity to go grocery shopping, and having the finances to buy the diet aid products (bars and shakes that help one not feel deprived!) have been the roadblocks this time, but things are leveling out.  I still have 25 pounds to go to reach my goal.  It doesn’t seem overly daunting (in this moment in time) but I’m praying that I can really keep it off this time.  Not really having the time to exercise is a problem, but that won’t always be the case.  What is always going to be an issue, though, is my weak flesh; therefore I am continuing to pray.

I think I will close this up now and see if I can get Mama out for a minute.  Lunch was really good – Daddy ate really well, but Mama didn’t eat a whole lot.  She wants something sweet, but they finished the cake yesterday and I’m not sure I’m up to baking (and still being good) today!  Maybe a ride over to Dan’s would interest Mama.  We’ll see!

God bless your day!

 

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A little bit of this, a little bit of that…

  1. redladybug18 says:

    cute kids!  Looks like quite a fun park!  Yeah, I’m slowly getting back on the dieting bandwagon.  I read the book “mastering your metabolism” by Jillian Michaels, and it’s really helped me to understand eating better.  She’s all into eating right and exercising which will make you lose weight.  I lost about 17 pounds awhile back but then gained about 10 back so I’m getting back on track to lose 20 more hopefully 

  2. pettybunch says:

    @redladybug18 – Go, girl!  Better do it now while you’re young!  It sure has been harder at 50 than it was at 20.  Also, at 20 I only needed to lose 10.  At 50 it is 65!

  3. I can’t believe how big those boys are! Ruly is looking at the pics and exclaiming that her friends need to come see her. 🙂 Thanks so much for sharing!! love you. 🙂

  4. AuntGen says:

    Love the pics.  I’m trying to be serious about this weight los thing!  I’m determined that we are going to be thin together this time!!!  I’m sad about this cryng thing Mom’s been doing.  “Lord, Please give us wisdom.”  Love you.

  5. It must be so hard to handle it when things get heated emotionally between your parents. I admire your fortitude to stick through those times and continue to be such a faithful caregiver to your parents. I know God will bless your faithfulness.Forty-seven pounds is such a giant accomplishment! And I totally understand what you said about finances — healthy food is expensive! The cheap, high-sodium, high-fat, high-everything food is so much easier to purchase and also usually quicker and easier to prepare! I am so not the best with healthy food, but I recently looked back on some of my photos of my teen years and wow I can tell that every wise decision I make about my eating pays off and keeps me from going back there. The whole couponing thing helps — it creates openings in the budget for more fresh ingredients. One of my favorite treats, though, is 100 calorie chocolate ice cream/fudge bars (I used to buy them at Aldi. I’m not sure what brand they’d be under at Wal-Mart). Something about having a chocolate fix on the occasion without blowing it helps me resist the naughty things a bit!

  6. pettybunch says:

    @PrincessOfSeptember – My sis does WW and LOVES having the fudgebars.  Walmart brand are the same low points, I think only 1 or 2.  Because I am on high protein/low carb diet, I can’t have them, but my diet bars give me any sweet fix I need.  My current favorite is Chocolate Mint.  I was skinny minnie until I turned 35, then peri-menopause kicked in & I blew up 30 lbs. two consecutive years!  Since then I’ve lost 65, gained it back after 5 years, now trying to get it back off for good!  I’ve really been praying for strength in this area!Thanks for the encouraging words about my folks.  I’ve been rehearsing 1 Corinthians 13 in my head today – I don’t think I’ve shown lots of true love the last couple of days!  Praying about that, too!

Leave a Reply

