A Beautiful Weekend


I am not much for cool weather.  I am one of the few that really like Texas, specifically humid, south-central Texas summers.  The only thing that has been vexing this year is that while we have had little to no rain this summer, the humidity has been heavy.  I’m talking, you need gills to breathe out there! 

Even so, I have often wished I had a bit of time to put on my bathing suit and lay out in a very private location and soak up the sun!  Daddy and Mama can’t handle the heat, even though they are both often cold inside with the air conditioning.  There’s not anyplace here to really “lay out”, especially not privately, and leaving Mama alone can often lead to more confusion for her.  So, I’ve been in all summer, and I’m certain this pasty white of my skin is not at all attractive, but it’s what I’ve got!  BTW, I think there is a BIG difference between pasty white, stuck indoors skin and simply being “fair complexioned”.  A BIG difference!

Anyway, back to our beautiful weekend.  I never heard the words “cool front” on the weather forecast, but I think we had one come in.  This morning at 7:00 it was 65 degrees.  I don’t know this from experience – I was asleep at 7:00.  I looked it up on Weather Underground.  I did know from experience that at 10:00 this morning it was 76 degrees, which is still much cooler than it has been!  And, while I really do like 85 – 90 degree days, I have to admit the coolness this morning was invigorating!  I still haven’t been able to get out in it, but I have stepped out a few times, and the air conditioner hasn’t had to work near as hard as usual!

Jeanne is gone for the weekend to get their deer lease ready for archery season.  She and her hubby absolutely love deer season, and will be at the lease every weekend in October, as well as many other weekends this fall.  Me, I don’t care much for hunting, although my feelings have changed dramatically since high school when I was almost an activist against it!  The problem arose when I discovered that I really like venison.  Oh, well, I have really strong principles in other areas of my life that aren’t influenced by food!

I’m not sure what Mama, Daddy, and I will be doing on this beautiful weekend.  I wish a grand idea would just pop into my head, but that’s not really likely.  Bill and Dannye are going to visit Bill’s folks tomorrow.  I want to do something on Monday, and I think it’s going to work out for my brother Dave to smoke a brisket for me.  My sis-in-law’s birthday is Monday – she’s a real Labor Day baby – and they are going to celebrate that evening since she has to work during the day.  Dave and Missy may come on over here for a bit earlier in the day, though.  I’m hoping the dry coolness will hang around through Monday at least so we can sit outside for a bit.

Bo and Emily are having Labor Day company, too.  Their dear friends, Nate and Rhea, are visiting them from our neck of the woods.  They are so very excited to have homefolk come and visit.  Em sent me a video of her freshly cleaned and decorated house – so cute – and said she wished we were coming, too.  She doesn’t know how much I wish it, as well!  Titus is growing by leaps and bounds, and I feel like I’ll never catch up with him!  Arulai talks to me on the phone often, but I’d love to “reach out and touch” her in person!!

Pam and Will are both having to work this weekend.  Because PCC’s fall semester begins next week, and because they are both working in admission type stuff (not Will’s regular job, but he’s doing it until his bus route begins next week), it is their busiest time at work.  I’m glad now that my Labor Day hopes of visiting them didn’t pan out – I’d have not seen them all weekend!!

Well, I just saw Bill pull into the driveway, so I’m gonna get off here.  This photo below is one I took late last week.  I pass this house everyday on my way to and from work, and on this day I happened to be passing at sunset.  I’ve always wanted this picture!  I’m not very good with the camera, but I thought it turned out okay!

 023a (1504 x 1000)  

God bless your day!

 

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Beautiful Weekend

  1. Thank you for your comment on my post.  It sounds to me, Nina, like you have your heart and hands more than a little bit full.  I pray that God will give you what you need — I saw a few posts back that you’ve hardly been outside and that has to be difficult.  My “immediate fix” answer would be to pray that God would send someone to give you a break. — But I care for mentally retarded adults and there are some situations where it is easier to just stay home and keep watch than it is to fix the emotional upheaval that is left in the “wake of the break.”  You can’t go wrong, Nina, when you partner with God in the decisions you make and in the gift of love you offer your parents every day.  It is a divine appointment in that God surely has you here for such a time as this, but I know it is hard, and my heart goes out to you.  Again, may you experience God’s grace and may your days be filled with unexpected joy.

  2. redladybug18 says:

    yeah, I’m loving this “cooler” weather.  You know you’re a true Texan (or maybe it’s just been a hot summer) when we think 90’s for the high, is cool 🙂

  3. pettybunch says:

    @Buckeyegirlie – You are right in that my plate is full, but I wanted to also say that I am blessed to be able to “tag-team” with my sweet sister, Jeanne.  I have a little part time job Monday – Friday, 8 – noon.  I call it my “sanity job” – gives me a bit of a break.  I also do all of the finances, grocery shopping, doctor visits, etc. for my folks, which gets me out.  When I said I haven’t been out I was referring to being out in the sun, which I simply don’t have time to do!  Jeanne stays with my folks Monday – Friday during my work hours and into the afternoon, and also comes every other Sunday (when it isn’t deer season) to allow me to go to church.  I am so thankful for her!!Also, you are so right about the emotional upheaval not being worth it for some time off.  If Jeanne is available, there is no problem.  But if someone else graciously offers, I really have to think about it!!I am so looking forward to getting to know you more through your blog.  Already you have greatly blessed me!

  4. AuntGen says:

    I’m home, and wondering how your LD was.  It’s too late to call, but I can’t wait to see you tomorrow. Love you.

Leave a Reply

