A Party is a Party…


I mentioned a couple of posts ago that I was blessed to attend Bill’s brother and sister-in-law’s 40th wedding anniversary party last weekend.  Dannye Reigh put up some photos from that beautiful day, so I stole them from her Facebook account to show them to you!

Before I get started, though, I just want to say thanks to my sister Jeanne for coming over on a Saturday to stay with the folks so I could attend this wonderful milestone event.  Curtis is Bill’s older brother by almost six years.  Bill tells stories of when Curtis and Brenda were first married, Curtis was in the service and Brenda stayed with Bill’s family until Curtis was stationed.  Bill talks about playing Spades with Brenda during that time of her waiting.  He really enjoyed that time with his new big sister!  Curtis was stationed in Germany during his stint in the Army.  Their firstborn, Kristi, was born in Germany. 

Curtis and Brenda were instrumental in two of the biggest events in my sweet hubby’s life, both of which happened at the same time!  They were attending our small church in Montgomery, and had been inviting Bill to come with them.  The first Sunday he came, I didn’t see him, which is kinda odd since our church was so small!  Every little old lady – all of whom thought themselves my “other mothers” – came to me after church and asked me had I seen the young single guy visitor that morning!  Bill and I actually met the next Sunday morning when I shared my Bible with him in Sunday School.  That evening during worship, Jesus Christ changed Bill’s life.  After church, he asked me out.  Nine months later, we were married.  And all because Brenda and Curtis took the time to invite him to church.  Praise the Lord for these special people!!

Brenda has been a blessing to me all my married life, too.  Actually, she gave us our wedding shower from the Petty family, and she was (is) always an encouragement to me.  Brenda is very straightforward, very logical.  When Pamela was born, and I was drowning in babies and housework, Brenda came over while I was gone one day and cleaned my whole house – even did my laundry!  Brenda also taught my girls how to sew.  She has been everything a sister could be to me, and I am so, so grateful!

Curtis is a pretty quiet guy, and has a really odd sense of humor.  Because of the age difference, Bill and Curtis weren’t real close growing up, but have become very close as adults.  They are both very mechanically inclined, can fix anything, and Curtis is a manufacturing genius!  He has restored a Model A Ford, and he and Brenda did everything on it except the glass.  He is now restoring, or perhaps I should say rebuilding, a 40 Ford pickup that has been passed down from their uncle to their daddy to Bill and now to Curtis.  It was in such awful shape that almost everything will have to be either replaced or manufactured.  Curtis has already done a lot of manufacturing for it, and he and Bill talk about it constantly.

Curtis and Brenda have two daughters, Kristi and Mandy.  Mandy was five years old when Bill and I got married.  She was one of our flower girls.  My three kids adore Kristi and Mandy!  They are so much fun, even still with kids of their own.

Well, here are some photos of the party.  Hope you enjoy them!

Curtis Brenda 40th 1.jpg
Congratulations, Curtis and Brenda!

Curtis Brenda 40th 2.jpg
I love that they had some things from their wedding, like these napkins!

Curtis Brenda 40th 3.jpg
Adorable cake!!

Curtis Brenda 40th 4.jpg
Yummy food!

Curtis Brenda 40th 6.jpg
Brenda with her Dad and Step-mom

Curtis Brenda 40th 7.jpg
Bill’s Aunt Annie – his mother’s sister.  The only sadness of the day was that Memaw and Pawpaw (Bill’s Mom and Dad) couldn’t be there.  They started out, but Memaw began feeling bad, so they had to stay home.  Memaw has Alzheimer’s, but that is not what prevents her from joining in at events.  She also suffers from terrible headaches, which usually puts her to bed.  We all missed them!

Curtis Brenda 40th 8.jpg
Here I am talking to Brenda’s sister Regina, and her daughter Rachel.  No clue what I’m doing with my hand!

Curtis Brenda 40th 9.jpg
 This was the cutest thing.  Mandy’s oldest daughter Haven ^ and Kristi’s daughter Logan were the servers.

Curtis Brenda 40th 11.jpg
Logan and Haven – fabulous servers of the day!

Curtis Brenda 40th 10.jpg
Curtis and Bill’s sister Carroll.  She is just over a year younger than Curtis.

Curtis Brenda 40th 12.jpg  
Beautiful Brenda

Curtis Brenda 40th 13.jpg
And the lovely Kristi!

Curtis Brenda 40th 14.jpg
I don’t know what they are working on here, but it seems that Emmalee, Mandy’s youngest, has it all figured out!  That’s Mandy, BTW, in the middle, and her hubby Robbie looking on.

Curtis Brenda 40th 15.jpg
And here’s the happy couple – Brenda and Curtis!  May you have 40 more years together!!!!!

God bless your day!!

 

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Party is a Party…

  1. redladybug18 says:

    The cake is so cute!  Props to them on getting to the big 40!  Loved reading your story about how y’all met 😉

  2. AuntGen says:

    I love the pictures and captions, and I have always loved the story of the way you met Bill and how instrumental B and C were in his coming to Christ (and to you).  Please stop thanking me for caring for Mom and Dad. 

Leave a Reply

