Bella Notte


Oh this is the night, it’s a beautiful night
And we call it bella notte
Look at the skies, they have stars in their eyes
On this lovely bella notte.
Side by side with your loved one,
You’ll find enchantment here.
The night will weave its magic spell,
When the one you love is near!
Oh this is the night, and the heavens are right!
On this lovely bella notte!


When the kids were babies, one of our favorite pastimes was watching Lady and the Tramp.  (Dannye Reigh called it “Pframp & Lady”)  I always loved the “night out”, when Tramp takes Lady to Tony’s for spaghetti.  Each time the song “Bella Notte” began, I took one (or two) of my babies in my arms and we danced around our big living room.  I’m not a dancer, but the kids didn’t know the difference, and we loved that “beautiful night” time together.

Last night was a bit of a different “beautiful night”, because I got to have a date night with my wonderful hubby!  My initial request was to go to work with Bill on Friday, but I realized Thursday afternoon that it was not going to work out.  I simply had too much work left to do at the office which prevented my day off.  So, on to plan B.  I called Dannye Reigh and she said she would be glad to stay with the folks so Bill and I could go out. 

It takes me such a long time to get ready nowadays!  I really thought I could be ready when Bill got home so we could get a little earlier start, but it seemed to take me forever!  We finally left the house and headed toward The Woodlands.  The plan was to find a nice place to eat, then stroll along the Waterway.  We even thought about going to Market Street, but as we got closer, and even turned into the square, the traffic was so heavy we decided it would be best to get out while we could! 

We then decided to go on back to Landry’s Seafood House.  Bill brought his camera (of course) and while our evening slipped away more quickly than we could imagine, he did get a couple of shots of our evening. 

Date Night 103.jpg
When we gave our name to the hostess, I asked if the wait were any longer for the patio than inside the restaurant since it was such a lovely evening.  It wasn’t, so that was where we sat.  The restaurant was really lovely both inside and out.  Neither Bill or I had ever eaten at Landry’s, and we enjoyed it immensely!  Out in the patio area there was a lovely gazebo, and a jazz band performing.  Jazz would never be even near the top of our music choices, but they were good, and never got too loud or obnoxious. 

Date Night 027.jpg  Date Night 040.jpg
The sax player was my favorite, but I though they were all good!  The meal was leisurely, and Bill and I talked and listened to the music and even sent a video to Emily of our time there.  After dinner, it was later than we had hoped, but we went down to the Waterway for a short stroll.  It was literally right off the lawn of Landry’s, so off we went.

We got to the fountain area just in time to see the end of one of the shows – water shows, that is.  The big fountain shoots and flows to music and different colored lights – it was beautiful!  Out from it is a wall of water and colored lights, and there is another area of ground fountains and colored lights where children in bathing suits run in and out.  It’s fun, and it’s beautiful.  Bill took a few photos, and I’m just not a good model, but you can see the beautiful fountain behind me.

Date Night 052.jpg

We were sitting there on the lower wall, and Bill had his remote so we could take photos together.  A group of kids walked between us and the camera, Bill just snapping away.  The ready-light flashed them – the spotlight was on them!  They apologized, but we told them we were just goofing around and having a good time. 

Date Night 083.jpg

The fountain is changing colors, shooting to the rhythm of the music – this time it’s “Deep in the Heart of Texas”.  It suddenly got very still and muggy, and we were beginning to drip!  It was time to head back to the car.  Dan had called to say all was well.  She had the makings of a nasty cold coming on all day, and was getting so tired.  We needed to get home and relieve her.

Date Night 084.jpg

On the walk down the Waterway Bill had seen this walkway that would make a good photo location.  He wanted to snap a couple of shots so Dannye could see it, so here I am again.  I see the photo shoots that Bill and Dan do, especially the Seniors, and they all seem to know just how to pose for those shots.  Boy, not me!!

Date Night 092.jpg

As we walked back up to Landry’s to get the car, Bill spoke with the band members to get an email address so he could send them some photos.  As they introduced themselves, another member came late – he had been performing a father/daughter dance with his drillteam daughter at the football game – and I recognized him as an old highschool friend!  Well, you know what that meant…We didn’t make curfew!!

We got home later than we’d planned, but we had such a wonderful night!  Definitely at “Bella Notte!”

God bless your day!

 

 

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Bella Notte

  1. So glad that you had a night out!  You look beautiful!!!!

  2. Thank you for sharing more pictures! I loved watching y’all’s videos and showing them to the kids, and I love getting to hear about the whole evening! It sounds like a lovely, much needed respite (if shorter than we’d all wish for you!) Miss you so much!PS. Um, you look gorgeous. Enough already with the I’m-not-a-fab-model thing. You TAUGHT them all, woman. Strut your stuff! 😉

  3. aww… so glad y’all got to go out! Loved all the pictures. PS. hahaha! I love what Em said! You do look gorgeous!

  4. AuntGen says:

    You must have been channeling Lady and the Tramp to me today.  I hadn’t seen this post til just now, but I was overcome with the desire to see Lady and the Tramp, and have been singing Bella Notte all day. I’d even planned to ask Dan if I could borrow her copy so Mama and I could watch it together on my next Sunday over here.  Isn’t that funny?  You do look georgeous in these pictures, and y’all’s love for each other shines through.  ( I’m dying to know who the friend in the jazz band was.  I’m glad we will see each other this evening so you can fill me in).  

  5. Mottsngbury says:

    Ahhhh, contrare my beautiful sister……you make a wonderful “model”.  And as someone said above…….the love you two share is overwhelming & shines thru all your photos.  What a wonderful evening……..you make it sound like a “movie”………love you!

  6. Bettyeboop says:

    My precious Nina!  You are so very beautiful.  You don’t know how much your beautiful spirit shows.  It lights your eyes and your smile, making you one of the most beautiful of women.  I am so proud to have you as my sister.  I was writing to someone close to me yesterday and she was writing about how so many of the young people she talks to that profess not to believe in God use what they call “hypocrital, judgemental Christians” as one of the main reasons they feel the way they do.  I told her while I agreed that there were some Christians who “wear their armor too tightly” (her words) and that they do damage but that at the same time there are loving Christians who are holding their arms out to these same young people, wanting to welcome them to Christ.  I used you and Bill as two of the greatest examples of true Christianity I know.  You live your belief but you do not thrust.  You emit your love of Christ in every action but you don’t condemn.  I have seen what you accomplish, things you have no idea of.  People you influence with your love and patience and understanding.  God’s love and grace show through both of you every day and again, I am so very proud to have you as my sister and that you saw that same goodness in Bill a very long time ago and married him.  Thank you for bringing him into our family.  I love you both and your three beautiful children.  I know you continually take little credit for what wonderful people they are but you and Bill set the example that they followed.  I am practically gushing right now but my heart is just filled with love for you right now. 

  7. pettybunch says:

    @Bettyeboop – You are so sweet, and such an encouragement to me.  I mean this with all my heart, though – God truly gets all the credit for anything good in me or about me!!  I beg for His grace in dealing with Mama and Daddy – and He is a generous Father who loves to give good gifts!!  And you’re right – the best gift in my life is Bill Petty!!!!!  Man, oh, man!!Isn’t it sad that not only do Believers behave badly, but they get a bad rap, too, because so many non-believers don’t realize that just because a person is saved does not mean he no longer sins!  We need forgiveness, too – probably more often because we are more aware of what sin is!!!  I know I do!I love you, too!  Bill wanted to take me to NB on Friday when I thought I was going to go to work with him.  He said we could go see my sister!!  I was so sad, and sadder still that I will probably not get to go to the reunion this year unless I can find someone to stay with Mama.  Jeanne is out of pocket every weekend in October except our Glen Rose weekend when she is staying with the folks so I can meet Bill and Dan for the weekend.  Dave works on Saturdays, and I’m not sure Karla and Mama can handle a whole day of each other!!

  8. ABAHM says:

    What a lovely date night you two had, and I think you look absolutely beautiful!!  So good to have sweet times together.  

Leave a Reply

