A Quiet Day


Today is a quiet one here at the house.  It’s Sunday, and my day to stay home with Mama and Daddy so Jeanne can go to church.  We were blessed to have church at home via DVD of the last Sundays I missed.  I so love having those available, especially from my own church.  It’s truly not that I don’t enjoy other preachers.  I really love Chuck Swindoll, Adrian Rogers, Charles Stanley, and others, and listen to them often.  On Sunday mornings, however, when I am longing to be with my church family, I find that listening to my own pastor gives me the feeling of being there.  Sometimes the cameraman zooms out and I can see loved ones in the congregation, and it really brings me joy!  They also include the special music and the piano music of what we call “Prayerful Meditation”, which is a time of preparing our hearts for the Word after the busyness of a Sunday morning.  I love that!  

Another blessing of listening to my pastor is that I am receiving the same “feeding” as my church, so I am receiving the same instruction, the same correction, and the same encouragement the Lord is speaking through our pastor to our congregation.  I strongly feel a sense of fellowship even though I am only there a couple of times a month. 

Daddy is a little subdued as he braces himself for Aunt Blanche’s funeral tomorrow.  He will say one minute, “I just can’t make this real” then, “I really dread this!”  He really loved his sister-in-law, and as I said before, she was a very special lady!

Mama is having a difficult time, but in a different way.  I don’t think she can fully absorb the situation, although she understands that Aunt Blanche has passed away, and knows who she is.  She doesn’t seem to feel the loss, though.  I also want to ask for prayers for her and Dannye Reigh tomorrow as Jeanne, Dave, Bill and I take Daddy to the funeral.  Mama occasionally expresses anxiety that we are leaving her, although she doesn’t want to go herself.  Please pray that she and Dannye, Missy and Parker (pictured below) will have a fun day together. 

Beautiful Parker

Dannye is very good with her, and Mama used to really dote on Dan before her mind got this foggy.  I have to say, it is really difficult to have a cheery disposition when someone is crying and moaning all day long.  Mama loves babies, and enjoys Parker when she lets herself.  One thing about dementia, though:  it really causes one to be self-absorbed, and it can be difficult to look outside of oneself.  Again, we would all appreciate the prayers.

I am going to leave you with a few photos my two “on-site” photographers took for me.  The first was a Labor Day hummingbird that I really wanted to capture with the camera, but just couldn’t.  Bill told me it was really hard, and under the porch on a cloudy day didn’t really provide enough light to get a good pic.  I begged, so he did it anyway!  They aren’t great images, but I’m glad to have them anyway!

011a.jpg

013a.jpg

021a.jpg

025a.jpg

 

The next set is of a wonderful moth I found in my bathroom.  He was quite large, and seemed more yellow to me than in these photos.  He looked dead, but he was still barely alive.  I tried to take a shot of him, but couldn’t get the camera to focus on him.  Dannye Reigh came over and got a couple of pictures of him for me, although she had to use my camera without a good flash.  When Bill got home, he took the moth outside and got a couple of shots of him before he began flopping around and eventually flew away!!  Bill said he must have been “hibernating” in our cold house, so when he got outside and warmed up, he was able to fly away!  (Disclaimer:  we are not scientists.  It was just a guess!)  I was so glad! 

I don’t have those pictures since they are on Bill’s camera, and I think they might be better because of the lighting.  But here are the ones from in the house, when we thought he was near death!

033a.jpg

034a.jpg

I pray your Sunday is blessed, as mine has been.

God bless your day!

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A Quiet Day

  1. ABAHM says:

    I am so glad you have the blessing of DVD with your church.  That is a blessing.  I know the Lord blesses too!  Our missionaries said it is obviously the Lord when a new believer grows over there.  They often are illiterate, and have to miss fellowship because of work, but will come back after a few weeks and have grown in the Lord.  Isn’t that so amazing, and so how our God works!I will be praying for the Lord’s comfort for you all, and for Danny and your mamma to have a good day, along with missy and parker too.

  2. Praying for you and your family in the challenges of the days ahead.  May you experience the sweet, sweet comfort of a Heavenly Father who has promised to never leave you, never forsake you.  

  3. pettybunch says:

    @ABAHM – ,@Buckeyegirlie – Thank you for your prayers.  Mama is really struggling, but I was able to get her to bed peacefully.

  4. AuntGen says:

    I think Daddy did well today, though it was really hard for him.  Seeing Tony helped and hurt.  I’m glad Dan and Mom had a good day as well.  God is so good!  I love the pics of your hummers and your moth.  I’m glad Bill relented and took them for you, and your camera did fine for the moth pics.  Love you!

  5. Mama, we’re praying for all of you and wishing we could be there with y’all! I’m so glad that Dannye & Mamaw had a good day. We were able to chat this morning for a bit while I was driving to my grandparents, and determined to pray over each other’s days. šŸ™‚ I hope the videos of the kids brought you and your van-mates a smile! Love you. šŸ™‚

  6. Bettyeboop says:

    I have decided it is not a bad thing to say that today was a great day. No one does funerals like Allen’s do. I loved looking around the church and seeing so many of our family gathered in one place by love. What joy shall fill my soul. I loved being in the cemetery where so many ancestors and loved ones were interred. Reading the tombstones and feeling the connection. And most of all I loved being able to relax back at the church and visit with Daddy and my cousins, even though they will be teasing me for years for almost wrecking the fellowship hall with my power chair. So embarrassing. LOL

  7. pettybunch says:

    @Bettyeboop – A great day, indeed, even though we grieve the loss of our sweet Aunt Blanche.  We are so blessed by the family God has placed us in!  It was so good to see you yesterday!

Leave a Reply

