A Couple of Moments Off…


It’s quiet here, perhaps just for a few moments.  Daddy is gently snoring in his recliner – I get tickled because every once in awhile he snorts and wakes himself up, re-situates, and goes back to sleep.  Mama is also asleep, but looks terribly uncomfortable.  It does no good to adjust her position, because she will simply wake up and begin her evening worries.  I am going to let her sleep while she can.  It’s rare, and she won’t sleep long.

Bill is going to Dannye’s this evening for chores after they do some grocery shopping.  Tomorrow evening they will head to Fairfield for our annual Allen Family Reunion.  We’ve seen our family more often this year than normal with the three funerals and Daddy’s 90th birthday party.  I’m thankful we had a joyous occasion to gather for – almost everyone got to come to Dad’s party, and the few we didn’t see, we caught up with at one or more of the funerals.  I am hoping to take Mama and Daddy to the reunion on Saturday, but it will all depend on how they are doing.  Daddy has experienced a few bouts with shortness of breath lately, and of course it’s a “wait and see” thing with Mama. I think we’d all like to go, so we will “wait and see”. 

I’ve been wanting to tell you all about a couple of fun days I’ve had lately.  One day last week I got off work early on a day that Bill was off and working at our house (aka Dannye’s house, aka the Cabin).  I went over there – didn’t tell a soul except Emily that I was going – and spent the afternoon with Bill at our own house!  He was working in the yard, and it was still summertime hot, but I was able to do a few things in the yard, too.  I can’t begin to tell you how much fun that was for me.  I don’t think Bill had quite as much fun as I – he had to work hard, and got overheated – but I know we both enjoyed the day together!  Our house and yard are really getting run down and overgrown from neglect, and it’s sad to see that happen.  I’m thankful the Cabin is in good shape, but it also needs attention because it isn’t finished yet!!!

The next really nice event was similar to the first, in that it involved being with my hubby; but it also involved Dannye and church!  We went to church together last Sunday, then spent the rest of the afternoon at Dannye’s house.  When we go there after church, we don’t work – we rest and talk and dream.  This time we talked about plans for the finishing touches on the Cabin.  Dan has her dreams, I have mine, and sometimes they are the same!  The Cabin dream began as Nathanael and Emily’s.  Their fingerprints are all over that beautiful building – everytime I see the stairway, I still envision Emily planing, sanding, and staining each step with such care!  And the kitchen was Nathanael’s surprise project during one of Em’s visits up north.  Those things are just a small bit of the kids’ fingerprints since they (with Bill, Dan, and many others) built the Cabin from the ground up! 

Although there is sadness in the close of that chapter as the kids (Bo and Em will forever be “the kids” I think!) have moved on, now there are Dan’s own fingerprints there, and she is attempting to make it her own.  I love going over there on Sunday afternoons: love the dreaming, the planning, love seeing Dan’s touches here and there; but most of all I love the restfulness of being with my own immediate family, sharing things only those most intimate with you care about.  I miss that most of all in living with my folks:  intimate conversation.  So my Sundays off are really special to me – and to Bill and Dannye!  I am so thankful to have that opportunity now every other Sunday. 

This month will be a bit different in that regard, because Jeanne will be out of town every weekend except the 3rd weekend.  She and her hubby go to the deer lease each weekend in October for archery season, and it’s a really nice time for them.  Jeanne will stay home on the 3rd weekend so I can join Bill and Dannye on our annual trip to Glen Rose.  They are going at some point the week before, and I will go up on Friday.  We are all so, so, so excited, especially this year, as it is a strong possibility that Bo and Emily might come down!  I’ve said I am trying not to get my hopes up, but I’ll admit it’s too late!!!  We are continuing to pray for the way to be paved for them to come, and for grace to accept it if they can’t.

Well, I have written this in 4 phases, and right now my sweet but exhausted hubby is asleep in Mama’s chair – she’s been in bed since 9:00 – needing to go get his shower and head for bed!  I’d better go help him.

God bless your day!

 

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to A Couple of Moments Off…

  1. redladybug18 says:

    I didn’t realize you guys had the cabin now.  I remember reading long ago post from Emily’s blog of them starting the build it.  So glad you were able to get some fun time off!

  2. billseye says:

    Have I told you lately, that I love you? You are so wonderful, and I can’t live without you!  :^}me

  3. pettybunch says:

    @redladybug18 – The Cabin was/is a family owned entity – it belongs to all of us!

  4. pettybunch says:

    @billseye – You can tell me as often as you want to – and I love you, too!

  5. ABAHM says:

    Loved reading about your simple times with your hubby and daughter and how much they mean.  I totally understand and know that they fill you inside.  Such a blessing to have quiet time together when you are free to putter and think.  Lord bless you and strengthen you dear friend as you serve your parents.  My love, Jenny

  6. maryhurlbut says:

    Hello dear friend… odd even though it’s been awhile since I’ve been by and we’ve never met, I think of you fondly as I read about your life and family. I too am so grateful for simple times with family. Just this week Spence and I took a mini vacation…we went to the beach twice and even out to dinner at our favorite chinese restaurant! It had been over a year since we had done either together. God Bless and keep you, Maryp.s. Are there photos of the Cabin?

  7. pettybunch says:

    @maryhurlbut – We have photos of the cabin, and I’ve even posted some on Xanga, but they aren’t recent enough to tell much about the later work.  I plan to weed through the old ones and also take some new pics to post soon!Thank you for your words of friendship.  I am blessed by your blog, and by your comments on mine.  I am also so blessed that you introduced me to Jenny.  God is good!

  8. maryhurlbut says:

    @pettybunch – I KNEW you and Jenny would like each other

Leave a Reply

