At Home Sick – Again!


We have been having the most amazing weather – beautiful, crisp mornings; lovely, warm afternoons.  I have loved everything about it… except these allergies!  I’ve had the sneezing/sniffles all week, but now my throat is sore, my glands are swollen, and my eyes are watering like crazy.  I’m at home in bed today, hoping I can get to feeling better by the time Jeanne has to leave for the weekend!

Last weekend was a great time for Mama, Daddy, and me.  We were indeed able to go to our Family Reunion and all had such a good time!  I wasn’t absolutely sure Mama would be up for the trip, and I knew for certain that Saturday morning she would not WANT to go anywhere – she’s definitely not a morning person!  But with some sweet, gentle prodding (really, I was sweet!) she got up and we were out the door only 30 minutes later than we planned to be!

DSC_7273
Cousin Steve greeting Daddy

DSC_7281
Tony seemed especially touched to see Daddy.  His mother, my Aunt Blanche, passed away this summer.

 DSC_7287
Daddy with my cousin Tom

DSC_7291
Daddy’s oldest great granddaughter, Jessica

 All the family was so excited to see Daddy and Mama.  The loss of my aunt was still so fresh, so the gathering of our elder family members was extra precious!  As I’ve said before, Daddy is the only of the five Brothers living, and now we’ve lost one of the wives.  One of my uncles was divorced many years ago – I don’t even remember my Aunt Dottie – and he never remarried, so there are only 3 wives still living.  Aunt Jeri is 89, Mama will be 82 next week, and Aunt Jackie is probably in her late 70s, perhaps right at 80, though I’m not sure because she looks so young!  She was also born on Leap Day, so I’m not certain anyone really knows how old she is!!

DSC_7321
Cousin Jim with his Mom, my Aunt Jackie

The trip to Fairfield was pretty nice.  Missy, my niece, came along with us.  Daddy was a bit introspective, partially dreading the reunion with yet another loved one missing.  Mama wasn’t talkative, and Missy was sleeping most of the way.  Sometimes listening to the radio is helpful, sometimes the noise aggravates Mama, but I thought I’d try it.  Pamela and Will gave Bill a CD for Christmas last year of Michael Card’s Celtic Hymns.  It is one of my favorites right now, and Mama didn’t seem to mind it at all.  We had a lovely drive!

We arrived just in time for breakfast – the Allens favorite meal of the day!  I think Daddy was afraid we’d be too late to eat, but we got there as they were putting the food on the buffet line.  Oooohhhhhhh, those Allens know how to cook breakfast!  We have bacon, sausage, scrambled eggs, homemade biscuits, both plain and cheese, and wonderful gravy!  That’s my favorite – the gravy!  I didn’t eat any, though – I was a good girl on my diet. 

After breakfast we just sat around visiting.  Aunts Jeri and Jackie sat with Mama and Daddy, which was a really blessing.  Mama can’t speak very well, but they were so understanding, and didn’t leave her frustrated.  Aunt Jeri is quite a talker, so she just filled in the gaps when Mama couldn’t get there!

DSC_7324
Daddy and Aunt Jeri visiting

DSC_7316 
My nephew Mark, and his daughter Jessica

DSC_7350
Another nephew’s daughter Jaycee, with cousin Nikki (my cousin’s granddaughter – how would you say her relationship to me?)

DSC_7412
Our family loves the card game of “Pitch”.  Here several of my cousins are enjoying a good laugh – seems to be at Judy’s expense!

At around 1:00 the whole group moved to the front of the house for our annual family photo, then we had to head home.  I had told Mama we’d leave around 2:00, and we actually made it into the car very shortly after that. 

DSC_7329
Time for goodbyes!

DSC_7332

DSC_7334

DSC_7339  

We made a stop at Dairy Queen for a late lunch and a Blizzard – again, I was a good girl and didn’t have one! – and headed to the house.  We actually got home before dark, and Mama only had a short moment of confusion when we drove up to the house.  She did really well the rest of the weekend, and only had problems late Sunday evening. 

Monday, Daddy had an appointment with the doctor because of the shortness of breath he’d experienced last week.  I almost canceled it since he’d not complained about it all weekend, but he also had fluid on his ears and we wanted to have that seen about.  Dave and Missy stayed with Mama while Daddy and I went to town.  The doctor went ahead and ordered a chest X-ray and some blood work because it had been quite awhile since his last labs.  Daddy had not been complaining about feeling bad, actually seemed to be doing pretty well, but the next day the doctor’s office called and said he has pneumonia!!  We were all so surprised!  He’s on an antibiotic now, and has to go back in two weeks for a recheck. 

Well, I’d better get off and get a nap before Jeanne has to go home.  Please pray that I will get better quickly!

God bless your day!

 

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to At Home Sick – Again!

  1. redladybug18 says:

    that’s great that everything worked out this weekend and all the family was able to get together!  Good for you staying on your diet and  hope you get better soon!

  2. AuntGen says:

    The picture of Mama and Jan is causing me to have a bit of a break-down for some reason.  I’m sitting here with tears running down my face, and I’m not sure exactly why.  I’m sorry that you’ve had to tend to Mama by yourself so much lately.  I’m really enjoying the time with Mike and am thankful that we have been able to have a somewhat “normal” deer season this year.  You and David and Missy have been so sweet to make that possible.  I’m also excited that you will be able to join your family at Glen Rose this weekend, and thank the Lord that you are feeling so much better.  That shot seems to have done the trick!  (Maybe you will remember this next time you are offered relief from someone coming toward you with a hypodermic needle!)  Love you more than words can express! 

  3. Bettyeboop says:

    Nicole is your first cousin, twice removed, Tony being your first cousin, his daughter, Quincey being your first cousin’s child she is once removed and her child is twice removed.  Quincey and Dannye are second cousins because they are children of first cousins.  Dannye and Quincey’s children are second cousins, once removed. I loved that group of pictures.  They are some of my favorites from this year (that I have seen–snicker, snicker).  And there are always a couple of favorites to me and the one of Tony and Granddad is one of them this year.  It just shows so many emotions all at once.  Aunt Blanche had only been buried like two weeks.  It had to really hit Tony when he saw Daddy.  He is so sensitive.  I will remember my whole life watching everyone pass by B.M.’s coffin at his funeral and Tony’s knees buckling when he looked at him.  Jan had to grab him and help him away.  I will NEVER be able to erase that from my memory.  But I remember thinking, “He truly loved my brother.” and that made me feel good.  Weird, the things we remember.  My other favorite picture from this year is the close up of just the upper half of Jessi’s face. I love that photo so much.  She drives me crazy because she doesn’t like it.  But like Steven said, “I have only seen maybe five pictures of her, at the most, that she liked”.  I was so glad you got to come to the reunion, but hate that you had to leave so quickly.  You went to heroic lengths to bring Daddy and Chloe with you and I am so grateful for that.  I hate you had to miss the memorial service.  It was so very special.  Linda told about Barry;’s incredible dream shortly before he died and how the Sister explained its meaning.  And Mark amazed me by getting up and speaking about the family and about Morgan.  Several people told me afterward that it was our best service.  Bill’s message was so good and Allen Jackson led the singing again.  LOL Well, this was another of my long comments.  ha  I love you, Sis.

Leave a Reply

