Glen Rose 2010


I’m hesitant to begin this post because Mama is REALLY needy tonight!  I’m going to try it, though, because I really want to show you a few photos from our weekend.  So, here we go…

Last week, Bill and Dannye Reigh left for Glen Rose on Monday night.  Missy and I joined them on Thursday evening.  I tried and tried to get it together so we wouldn’t be late, but we ended up pulling in at 9:00 that night.  The good part was that Bo, Emily and the kids had gotten in earlier in the afternoon, so I was greeted by my precious Arulai running to me shouting, “Nonnie!”  It doesn’t get any better than that!

I tell every year about our Glen Rose tradition, so I will be really brief this time.  Our homeschool group began going on this camp out the third weekend in October in 1988.  Our express purpose was to teach our children the truth of Creation by touring the Creation Evidences Museum and hearing the teaching of the curator of the museum, Dr. Carl Baugh.  We have watched the museum grow, have learned more scientific evidences of our Creator through creation, and have grown to love and respect Dr. Baugh more each year!

In the meantime, we have built great friendships during our 3+ day campout!  What began as a few families has definitely grown, and now that Bill and I are no longer homeschooling, we simply enjoy the tradition, learning more from Dr. Baugh, and making new friends.  We also love the thought of our kids bringing their children there, building friendships and their faith! 

I want to tell you about my weekend in detail, but I’ll be honest with ya – there’s not much detail coming to mind!  I want to always be sure to thank Jeanne for stepping in to care for the folks so I could be away.  She always “poo-poos” my thanks, but I never want to take for granted the sacrifice she makes in order to give me time off.  I also never want to forget how blessed we are that there are 3 of us kids living close to Dad and Mama, and we all help in one way or another!  That, I believe, is a rarity!

Anyway, after the first night’s sleep, I enjoyed holding Titus as much as he would let me.  And as Emily has told me, he is a snuggler, and enjoyed being in my arms as much as I enjoyed having him there!  That Baby’s smile never ends!!!!!!!  He is the sweetest thing, and doesn’t get riled unless you take too long getting his bottle ready!  He definitely loves his dinner!

Arulai is not a snuggler, but she makes up for it by being a conversationalist!  She loves to talk, and she doesn’t want to just jabber – she wants you to talk back to her!  She has an amazing vocabulary, and an even more amazing imagination!  Seriously, I stood there with my mouth hanging open half the time in awe of this little life God has given our family for a time!

I hungered more than anything for some good long talks with Bo and Em, but there simply wasn’t time.  The babies weren’t especially needy, but they are children, and children have needs!  Add to that the 25 other people that wanted to see Bo and Em – and vice versa – we had to settle for snatches of conversation here and there.  It is okay, though – there is just much joy in seeing them, eating with them, watching them have some fun in their play.  I am thankful!

Well, I have been at this for almost two hours between typing and getting up for Mama, so let me leave you with some photos!

Glen Rose 1
Sunset on the Brazos River, which flows right beside our campground

Glen Rose 1_renamed_1579
Dannye Reigh greeting Arulai and Titus

Glen Rose 2
Daddy’s Boy!

Glen Rose 3
Nonnie (me) and our Cuddle Boy – notice my sweatshirt and Ty’s shirtless self!  A picture of Texas and Minnesota on this cool morning!

Glen Rose 4
Arulai LOVED the rocks and the water!

Glen Rose 5
My sweet kids!  Emily is so cute!

Glen Rose 6
Fishy Face!

Glen Rose 7
Just a little explanation of the significance of this photo:  When my kids were young, we didn’t allow them to have much, if any, sugar.  I didn’t keep sugary snacks in the house, used fruit and more naturally sweetened foods for treats and desserts, and we definitely didn’t eat sugary cereals!  Except……at Glen Rose!  Every year in preparation for Glen Rose, my kids got to pick from the small box pack of the sugariest cereals available! 

When Dannye was preparing for this trip, she simply had to buy a small box pack of sugary cereal to share with Arulai (who doesn’t get sugary cereals at home, either)!  Arulai loves breakfast, and she truly enjoyed the special cereals!

Glen Rose 8
Handsome boys!

Glen Rose 9
Missy found this really large caterpillar, and Arulai was enamored by it!

Glen Rose 10
Emily’s best friend Rachel came over from the Dallas area to get a little visit with Em and Bo.  She brought Arulai this cutie little tutu outfit!  She knows this little girl!

Glen Rose 11
Such a little Dolly!

Glen Rose 12
My sister Martha came over from Granbury to meet Titus and see the kids, too.  What fun to see her and her granddaughter, K-K! 

Glen Rose 13
This pretty much expresses her personality!

Glen Rose 14
Before we left Glen Rose on Sunday, we went down to the river for some posed photos.  Arulai and Titus were tired by this time, and had been so good for the “REAL” shots, so I insisted that these would be loosey-goosey.    Bill used a remote trigger here, and kept clicking away hoping for a decent one.  Everyone looks pretty good, but Arulai has her hand in her mouth.  Oh, well, I bet there are enough other photos of her that you know just how pretty she is!

I will try to write again soon about the last two days of the kids’ visit, but I need to close now.  Mama just won’t settle down as long as I’m in here.  I want to watch the Rangers’ game to the end, but may have to hope this 7 – 3 lead holds up for 2 more innings if I want Mama to stay in bed!  I am working hard on keeping my joy intact, and while I miss the kids so much already, I am truly thankful they got to come down for even a short visit!

God bless your day!

 

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Glen Rose 2010

  1. AuntGen says:

    I’m glad you posted.  I enjoyed the photos and your brief explanation.  Even though I’ve known about your tradition for years, there’s always something new to learn (or be reminded of).  Love you so much…

  2. ABAHM says:

    Aww, I know how that time just flew by.  so glad you had the time to BE with your sweet loved ones and snuggle, talk, eat, and enjoy!

  3. What a terrific place that looks like and those babies are absolutely the cutest. So glad you enjoyed yourself & thanks so very much for sharing these with us.

  4. So glad to see you got some time with your grandbabies! I enjoyed the photos, and I know you surely enjoyed their visit immensely.The Creation Evidences Museum sounds like a wonderful educational experience. I would love to go sometime.My honey has been keeping up with the rangers and all of my Texas friends keep spamming facebook with updates regarding the games. 🙂 I have to admit, I’ve lost track of how many they’ve won or lost… 😉

  5. pettybunch says:

    @PrincessOfSeptember – Last night’s victory made it Texas 3 games over Yankees 1!  One more win and they are in the World Series!  I’m not sure what I’ll do then, though – I’m not sure I can bring myself to cheer for an American League team to beat a Nathional League team!  I’ve always been against the AL!  But the Texas girl in me might just win out over the National League “convictions” I have!  Oh, wait – does that make them “preferences”???????

  6. Bettyeboop says:

    I love the photo of the family.  Its so relaxed and comfortable looking. Those are usually the best ones.  I would love to visit that museum myself sometime.  I have heard you talk about it and Dr. Baugh.  Martha told me how much she enjoyed her visit and how incredibly precious Titus is.  She fell in love.  She said Arulai is so precocious.  She loved how she offered her a cup of tea and then told her she really did not drink it because you couldn’t drink sand.  LOLWhat kind of pain were you in that you took a hypo and felt better?  I know how you are about shots so am very impressed.  What was the problem?Love you.

  7. pettybunch says:

    @Bettyeboop – Allergies gone bad!  Quickly moving into bronchitis, so I chose a shot so I’d be well enough to hold my grandbaby!  Yep, be proud!Arulai is SOOOO precocious!  I love every minute of it! 

  8. redladybug18 says:

    Family times are always so much fun!  yay for you getting a break from life and just taking time to enjoy a few days.  Love the first and last pictures!

  9. Even with Ruly’s hand in her mouth, that last picture is just wonderful. My eyes just well up with tears thinking about y’all and how much we loved spending time with you (fragmented and interrupted though it was!) Thanks for posting, as always. Love you!

  10. Mottsngbury says:

    I had a great time seeing you & yours. I’ve always told you that “grandbabies” are the BEST – even as they grow older!!  My Ryan is 19, Madi, 17 & Joseph is 16, but they’re still babies to me!  Katye (10) still lets me hold & rock her. And, yes, I sing my Big Mama’s “Bye-o Baby” to her………  Your two babies are precious & I hate for you that you don’t get to see them very often. But at least when you do, it’s days at a time. I just have fleeting moments w/my local ones now. Everyone’s soooo busy.  –  including me! Love you, my sweet sister!!

Leave a Reply

