Sunshine in the Mail


I got a card in the mail today.  It was addressed to me, Mrs. Nina Petty.  I don’t get much mail addressed directly to me here at Mama’s house, and folks don’t really send cards very often anymore!

My card was from my Tater!  It was so sweet, reminding me that my days are in God’s hands, and He has everything in control!  She also comforted me by reminding me that she and Will pray for me daily.  What a tremendous blessing to know that your children pray for you!

Pam and Will

Mama is not doing well lately.  She has had some symptoms that seem to come and go, her feet are swelling quite a bit, and she is very weak, especially in the evenings.  We have an appointment with her doctor tomorrow.  I so hope there is some clear diagnosis, and not just “the same getting worse”.  Mama is really having issues with fears and tears, sometimes anger.  She asks for her mama and daddy often, almost nightly.  She seems to know they are both deceased, but wants her Mama badly.  It makes me want to cry sometimes.

Tonight I talked with her about Jesus’ care for her, and that even when she can’t remember things, He never forgets about her.  I asked her if she wanted me to pray with her.  Jeanne had told me that she often prays with Mama when she is staying here overnight, and Mama was really glad for me to pray with her, too.  So far, it seems to have truly calmed her. 

Daddy also has a doctor’s appointment tomorrow.  His X-rays show he still has pneumonia in one of his lungs.  Last week he finished all his antibiotics, so rather than give him another antibiotic prescription, she gave him an additional inhaler to aid in clearing his lungs.  He does seem to be coughing more productive, but we are still concerned.  The day promises to be a long one, but hopefully we will get some answers.

I had better get off.  The appointments are rather early, especially considering we have to get both Mama and Daddy ready to go.  Jeanne gets to go with me, though – that’s cause for celebration!  We don’t ever get to do things together, so even an outing to the doctor’s office with the folks will be fun!

God bless your day!

 

 

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Sunshine in the Mail

  1. Mommy2Drew says:

    Bless your efforts and love towards your Mama & Daddy!! My Grandmama lived with us for about a year before she died and I know that burden can be extremely difficult. Especially when it seems like you take on the parenting role! I will be sincerely praying strength for you! Your crown in Heaven will probably be too heavy to wear, you just might have to pull it in a wagon!! 🙂

  2. What a precious gift! I know you love getting letters, especially ones from your kids! So, so glad you get to see them in a few weeks. :)Many blessings on your outing tomorrow! May it be calm and orderly and enjoyable for all. 🙂 Love you!

  3. ABAHM says:

    So very sweet to have children that pray for you!  I do too, and I know what a gift from above that it is!  And the Lord used you to pray for your mom and give her peace.  How wonderous is that!  We found that the Lord worked miracles at time with calming Grandpa.  Continuing to lift you all up.

  4. Nina, may God be with you today as you go.  May you find assistance, answers and compassion where ever you are.  May your Mama be full of peace, but enough “herself” that the professionals will know how to best help.  May you have the inner resources you need as well.  It is not a simple or easy path that you are walking.  Take heart in knowing that Jesus knows.  He cares.  He wants to walk with you. 

  5. Bless your heart, caring for parents is by no means an easy thing. My grandpa asks for his mother alot, strange cycle of life isn’t it? Hopefully you will get some answers, being at the mercy of doctors is a terrible feeling. Praying that the inhaler will heal your dads lungs. I’m sure this crazy weather isn’t helping him any. Glad you have some help today though.Keep us updated as to what you find out. My prayers are with you and your family.

  6. AuntGen says:

    I love your card from PK, and the encouragement she (and Will) offered.  Her sentiments are so right and we will be clinging to them more and more as we move through this season of our lives and into the next.  I want to comment on the visit with Dr. S. but would rather wait til you write about it specifically.  I enjoyed our day together so much, especially our time on the porch together, just rocking and talking.  Thank you for hanging with me so long. I love you and pray you have some good rest tonight.

  7. How sweet to receive mail from your girl! I know that had to brighten your day.I’m so sorry you have to see your mother suffer so. How heartbreaking that must be. I have such a huge respect for you and your family for making it possible for them to be taken care of by family members. I know that is a giant emotional and probably even financial sacrifice, but God sees every second that you labor to honor your parents!

Leave a Reply

