Doctor Visit Updates


I have been wanting to get to this since Mama and Daddy’s visit to the doctor, but just haven’t had the courage or the time!  I’ll explain about the courage part, but you all understand about the time part!

Last Wednesday we all packed up into the van for the said visit – well, all of us except Molly!  She was sad to be at home by herself, and Mama had a really hard time leaving her, but I somehow doubt Dr. Sharpless’ office would appreciate our little doggie as we do! 

I thought Mama did pretty well getting ready, especially knowing that early mornings are simply not her friend!  Jeanne and I were pretty excited about our day together, too, so I think our fun attitudes rubbed off on Mama a little bit.

Dad was seen first, and basically they said he is still showing pneumonia in that right lung, but seems to be improving.  They put him back on a bit of an antibiotic and Musinex, and he has to go back next week for another Xray.

We waited just a bit for Mama’s appointment time, and Daddy said he would just as soon wait by himself in the lobby, so Jeanne, Mama, and I went in.  Mama has lost more weight, and is obviously weaker – almost by the day.  She was down 3 pounds since her last visit last month.  When Dr. S saw her, he began to talk with us about eventualities.  This is where the courage part comes in. 

I have known for a long time that Mama is on the downhill slide of her life.  She’s 82, she has dementia/Alzheimer’s, she has severe arthritis all over, but especially in her back, she has kidney disease…well, she’s just not in good health at all.  Knowing in my head the facts of my Mama’s health is one thing, but really hearing the truth in my heart is completely different.  I am grateful that the Lord has allowed us to receive this heart knowledge bit by bit, and this doctor visit gave Jeanne and me another bit of truth. 

Now as I tell you what is going on, let me first say that it is just “more of the same”.  There is no new diagnosis; there is no time frame; nothing like that.  Dr. Sharpless simply acknowledged and passed on the truth of Mama’s condition – which we already knew, but perhaps hadn’t received – and that truth is that Mama’s aged body is beginning the shut-down process.  She is already malnourished, and will only get worse.  She is already weak and in pain and will only get worse.  She is already demented, and will only get worse.  He also said we need to begin thinking about her care when (he did not say “if”) she becomes bedridden.  He mentioned “hospice”.

Hard words, these, to hear about your precious Mama.  Hard truths to received in this heart that is still sometimes her Mama’s little girl .  Jeanne and I sat on the porch when we got home and settled the folks in, and just talked about it all.  Parenthetically, let me say that I am so grateful for that “porch time”.  We don’t get much together time in this tag-team effort we do, so we really were happy to be together!

Daddy came out on the porch to sit with us and talk awhile.  Mama was sleeping in her exhaustion from the morning, so we were able to explain things to Dad and talk about the future, as much as we know if it.  Dr. S gave Mama a medication to help her sleep at night, thereby helping me sleep at night – YAY!!!  He also prescribed her a wheelchair, saying he is amazed she can still walk at all as weak as she often is!  The wheelchair is going to be a special blessing, perhaps not as much in the house – don’t know how that will work in Mama’s little mobile home – but perhaps she can get out a little bit with a wheel chair.  I know it will depend on how she is each day, perhaps each moment, but even taking her into her own yard would please her!

Today I can write because I did indeed receive a bit of courage from the Lord.  After  getting some sleep the last two nights, Mama seems to feel a bit better.  She actually wanted to talk yesterday, asking questions about the World Series game we were watching (oh, it was a painful game last night!!) and entering into conversations we were having.  Mama cannot speak well at all.  She can’t think of words she wants to say, she often can’t get them out of her mouth when she does think of them, and for the last couple of weeks, she hasn’t cared about anything going on around her at all!  So last night was a delight to me even though conversing with Mama is difficult at best!  She still didn’t want to go to bed by herself, but didn’t cry at all. 

Lest anyone think I am deluded enough to believe that this upswing means Mama is getting better, don’t worry.  I know she isn’t truly going to “get well”.  What this tells me, though, is what I was trying to say in the beginning of this post – this is more of the same, not some new and shocking diagnosis.  Dr. S said she may continue the slow decline, or she may move downward rapidly.  But basically, my daily life in living with Mama and Daddy has not changed much at all.  I think right now I am glad about that.  As weary as I get, and as much as I long for Mama to experience the “ultimate healing”, I am glad I get to be here with her right now.  There will be grace for the other when it comes, but right now God’s grace is abundant for living where He has me!

God bless your day!

 

 

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Doctor Visit Updates

  1. Wow – I know what a difficult time this is for all of you!  You are doing such a wonderful job of caring for your parents.  I will keep praying for you.  And I hope that you are able to get some sleep!

  2. momstranz says:

    Nina,  We are walking paths of sisterhood yet again.  Your  path is a lot more difficult, but i understand the emotional wrestling, the embracing with joy the glimpses of the past, the letting go, the accepting what is the present day reality, the trying to stay in and rejoice in the present.   The entering into heaven is sometimes  a labor of pain, and always a labor of love.  Asking  the Lord to continue to comfort you and give you rest.  

  3. pettybunch says:

    @momstranz – Definitely not more difficult; just different!  Thank you for your prayers, and for coming by!  I’ve missed you!!!!!

  4. AuntGen says:

    Just catching up on my email and xanga reading.  You and I have already talked about this “new season of life” that is not so new, but feels strangely real all of a sudden, so I guess I’ll just say I’m glad to be home and can’t wait to see you tomorrow, and to see Mama and Daddy.  I’m also anxious to hear how Mama is doing after a few days taking her new med, whether it is still having a restful effect without being “druggy”.  Love you!

Leave a Reply

