45 Minutes….All to myself!


For those of you White Christmas buffs, no explanation is needed for my title.  For those of you who are still wondering – go watch the movie!  You should have seen it by now!!!

Seriously, I am really blessed and excited that Jeanne is giving me a bit of respite this weekend.  Bill and Dannye Reigh are shooting the wedding of a precious friend, whose mother is one of the dearest people I know, and not only do I get to go to the wedding… I get to spend the weekend with Bill and Dan at Dan’s house!  I can’t wait!

Dan  

I am also excited to get to go to church tomorrow.  I haven’t been since September, and I really miss my sweet church family.  My Daddy said, “And your pastor!”  So true, Daddy!  Even though we’ve had a few DVDs of my own church, and watched Ed Young a couple of times, I miss hearing my own pastor in person! 

The only sad part of this equation is that Jeanne has to miss church.  Even though she wasn’t caring for Mama and Daddy these weeks, she was out of pocket and not able to go to church but a couple of times.  I don’t know about you, but we MISS going to church.  We will go back to our every other Sunday routine now that she is home from the deer lease pretty much for the year.  One more trip in December is all that is planned at this time.

Just a quick update of Mama and Daddy before I go get myself ready for the wedding:  Daddy had a couple of “episodes” this week of cold sweats and a bit of shortness of breath, but no other symptoms, and it didn’t last very long either time.  If we had to count on telephone communication with the doctor for our lives, we might as well give up!  “Press 1 or say ‘dying’.”  I mean, really, can’t someone just answer the phone???????

Mama has good moments and bad moments.  Going to bed is horrendous since by evening she is so weak and confused she can barely function.  We’ve made little headway on our hospice info search, but have started the ball rolling and will continue to do so Monday.  We did finally find a good, informative website, and got the names of a couple of organizations near us.  Jeanne and I are heavy hearted, and our dearest friends (each other) are unavailable since we are a tag-team.  Any time we have a moment together, Mama or Daddy call us, so having opportunity to actually share our hearts along with the workload is almost non-existent. 

Well, I’d better get busy before Mama wakes up.  I’m so glad she is a late sleeper – I can get a shower before I need to get her ready for the day!  I’m so excited for my day away, and for the wedding of precious Melissa, and to sleep in the wonderful “Cabin” with my little family gathered ’round!

me

I pray your weekend is full of joy and wonder!

God bless your day!

 

 

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 45 Minutes….All to myself!

  1. AuntGen says:

    I’m so happy you are having this time away from the every day grind.  I know Daddy doesn’t understand, but we need these times of respite. You need this time of celebrating with friends, too and knowing that you can enjoy as long as you have the energy –  No curfew, no turning into a pumpkin.  By the way, you looked beautiful in your “dress up clothes”.    

  2. Bettyeboop says:

    I am so happy to know you are having a sleepover with Dan and Bill.  I hope you all hare having a wonderful evening of family closeness right now.  I love you and Jeanne both so much for your faithful attention to Dad and Chloe.  If it is not raining this Tuesday we would love to come out for Family Day.  Will it be on as usually scheduled?  It will probably be Scooter, Marty and I.  I have not spoken to the guys but I will tomorrow.  I know Marty has been wanting to come out, too, and I know Scooter never really wants to go anywhere but won’t make a fuss anyway.  LOL  God willing, we will see you all then.  BUT not if it is raining.  Okay?  Let me know Family Day is a go.I love you, Sis.

  3. Mottsngbury says:

    What a fun time you have planned. You & Jeanne are more than a tag team, ya know – you give each other the strength & understanding that you both so desperately need ………..  I love you both so much. Have fun.

  4. ABAHM says:

    Sounds like a blessed time away!  I look forward to hearing about it.

Leave a Reply

