And it was LOVELY!


My much anticipated weekend was everything I wanted it to be, although I almost messed it up by being late to the wedding!

Everything at the house Saturday morning went like clockwork.  I got myself ready (and was even pleased with the result!) in record time, Mama awoke in a very pleasant mood, and Jeanne arrived in plenty of time for me to visit with her for a moment and still leave on time.  All was well until…

I realized I didn’t know how to get there!  Bill had meant to give me directions the night before, and had given me a brief synopsis, but would call me after he’d driven it himself the next morning.  Well, he forgot, and I forgot, so I was almost to the city where the church was located and I realized I’d better call him.  About the time I dialed his number, I also realized he would be in the middle of shooting and might not be able to answer!  Which he was, but he did!  Answer, I mean.

The problem is that when my sweet hubby is in the middle of something important, every distraction stresses him out.  So he started and stopped those directions twice, and I never got the full scoop.  So, after turning the wrong direction on the road the church was on, I turned around almost in tears because it was already time for the wedding to begin, and I finally found it. 

Melissa and Bear 4

I was soooooooo relieved that when I waled in the door, the wedding party hadn’t even begun walking in.  All I missed was the opening prayer!!  (I heard it was beautiful, too!)  I was so thankful!!

Melissa and Bear 2
Visiting with the Bride’s sister-in-law

At the wedding, I got to see many old friends I haven’t seen in months or years.  One of my favorite young ladies was there – I have referred to her before as “My Most Beautiful Girl” – and we got to visit a long time!  Jennifer is now the mother of two, still the most beautiful woman I’ve ever seen, and it was a true joy to catch up with her! 

Another old friend that was there is a good friend of Dannye’s from way back.  I haven’t seen Jessica in a couple of years, and she has since married.  Her father was Bill’s biggest cheerleader of his photography, and truly what got us started in the business!  It was wonderful to catch up with Jess, too!

Melissa and Bear 3
Visiting at the wedding with a precious friend from church, Kara.  She is a blessing to me each Sunday as she seeks me out to give me a hug!

The bride was lovely, as was the entire wedding.  Melissa was positively giddy, while her precious groom wept through the entire ceremony!  They are adorable together! 

Melissa and Bear
Melissa and Bear

The Mother of the Bride, as I mentioned in my last post, is such a dear, sweet person to me.  She was absolutely stunning in her MOB regalia!  Royce and I became friends at church through our sons.  Bo and Greg were absolutely GREAT friends.  Greg is one of those guys who is loved by everyone, has an absolutely eccentric (Encarta – unconventional, especially in a whimsical way) personality, and can always be counted on for fun!

Bo and Greg played softball at church together and Royce and I were their adoring fans.  We sat out on those sidelines for hours watching our beloved sons play, and we were more faithful than the postman:  “Neither rain, nor sleet, nor dark of night…”  Royce understood my love for my boy, probably more than any other person I know!  I love and appreciate her so much!

After the wedding, Bill, Dan, and I went out to eat, then home for some quiet R & R.  We were going to watch a movie or something, but ended up just talking until bedtime.  And bedtime…. Oh, it was wonderful!  I slept all night, a delightfully deep sleep!  I definitely had to talk myself into climbing out of those warm covers into the cold dampness of the morning!  I was oh, so glad I did, though!

Sunday School was taught by one of my favorite teachers, and our Pastor brought a great message from Ephesians 6:1 – 3.  I love hearing messages on basic truths from Scripture, and hearing “Children, obey your parents…” doesn’t seem like one I’d need to take too many notes on.  I’m not a little child needing that reinforcement, nor am I a parent of little children any longer.  But the second verse is where the Lord grabbed my attention:  “Honor thy father and mother…”  Oh, how I needed that reminder, to honor Daddy and Mama even when I have to care for them as little children!  Pastor even referred to me and others who are in this circumstance, and reiterated the need to honor our folks.  I was both convicted and blessed!

After church we visited with several folks and enjoyed lunch with the Pastor’s family at our favorite Mexican Restaurant, then came back to Dan’s to rest and visit until time to go home.  We watched “Holiday Inn,” then a couple of episodes of “The Andy Griffith Show,” and it was time to go home.  I was even ready to face the week ahead!  What a wonderful rest I had, and I am so thankful that Jeanne gave me this time.  I am fully blessed!

God bless your day!

 

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to And it was LOVELY!

  1. I’m so happy that you had such a wonderful weekend, you deserve it.

  2. So, so glad for your rest and rejuvenation, Mama! Love you!

  3. AuntGen says:

    I’m so very blessed at how your weekend turned out, in spite of your mis-guided trip to the wedding!  On other occasions, your “weekend off” hasn’t been as restful as you’d have liked, so this one must be counted as a success!  Dannye and Bill seemed so excited to be having time with you all to themselves, too.  It’s good for y’all to have that family time.  Btw, I don’t think you can say I “gave” you anything.  We don’t exactly try to keep things even steven, but it was just your turn!  It needs to be your turn more often, I’d say.  The wedding pics are beautiful and seeing them and reading about your visiting with friends takes me back to simpler times.  Thank our Lord for His word and our for pastors who faithfully preach it.  I am excited to be hearing my own pastor this coming Sunday.  Love you so much!

Leave a Reply

