A Special Family Day


Tuesday was Family Day, as is every Tuesday at Mama and Daddy’s.  This day was even more special because my eldest sister Bettye and her hubby Scooter came for a visit!  Bettye lives relatively near – Texas “near”, not normal folks’ thoughts of “near” – but she and her hubby are out of town almost 6 months out of the year, so we don’t get to see them as often as one might think!  And, to make this visit even more special, Bettye’s birthday is later this month, so we had a small celebration! 

B's Birthday 1_renamed_28963
Dannye Reigh was just realizing that she was in these pictures!

B's Birthday 2_renamed_31663
My sweet sister, Bettye

What fun we always have when we get together!  We are all “talkers” – well, not Scooter.  He doesn’t talk much at all.  Anyway, we all seem to have a whole bunch to say, and we’ve learned over the years to just cut in where we can, because there is rarely a pause in conversation!  And we laugh!  Oh, how we laugh!  It was so very good to have that time together.  I think we all needed it!

B's Birthday 3_renamed_20537
Me and my sweet Molly

Mama and Daddy especially enjoyed B’s visit.  Right now, Mama really enjoys being “petted”.  She loves to be touched and hugged and kissed.  She puts her little arms up and either hugs you or places her hands on the sides of your face and says, “I love you!”  Bettye loved on her a lot while she was there, and Mama just loved every minute of it!  Mama is Bettye’s step-mother, and Bettye is only 12 years younger than Mama.  She never lived in our home with us, but Mama loves B so much.  (And vice-versa!)

Daddy hasn’t stopped talking about the visit yet!  He says over and over again, “I’m so glad Bettye is feeling as good as she is!”  He was so blessed that she and Scooter came out.  He loves his oldest daughter, and has always had such a pride in her – Bettye is very much like Daddy in that she is amazingly intelligent!  I promise, both of them could be on Jeopardy! and WIN!!  Truly the smartest people I know!  (Side-note:  My Emily is like that, too – she knows or wants to learn about EVERYTHING!!)  Anyway, Daddy couldn’t say enough about the visit, and it really encouraged all of us.

We were all a little worried about Mama’s night after all the company left, but she had a great evening, and went to sleep without any medication!  Now, last night was a different story – one of her most terrible evenings, and I had to calm her with her meds – but we won’t dwell on that!  Mama remembered Bettye and Scooter, and she talked (as well as she can) about their visit the rest of the night.  It was truly a good day!

Well, I’d better get off here.  It’s just about time for me to head home! 

God bless your day!

 

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Special Family Day

  1. This made me smile. So glad you all had a great family day. Even more glad that your momma and daddy were happy 🙂

  2. AuntGen says:

    It was a great day, wasn’t it?  Mama had such a good time and I am glad we had the chance to celebrate B’s birthday, too.  She has been basking in Daddy’s hugs since she left, I think.   I’m sorry Mama had such a bad night the next night, but glad Dr. S advised you on how to deal with that in the future.  I am also looking forward to our sister day with B!  Love you.

  3. Bettyeboop says:

    I am looking forward to Sister Day, too.  I am sorry I was so dense.  I am so used to telling people no, they don’t have to help clean before the Christmas party, that I was doing my best job of it. ha  This time it was so true since Marty has done such a good job of helping me get the house pretty much the way it ought to be and helping me keep it there.  But when I finally “got it” I was excited that you all want to just come visit a while.  LOL  Hey, with Daddy and David out of the equation, I think we will each get to talk a little more.  ha  Like we ever let them stop us.  Scooter gets frustrated listening to me because the segues throw him.  ha  I told him that is how I learned to talk.  We begin a conversation, go out on a tangeant and eventually (usually) find some way to segue back to the finish line of the original story.  It keeps us sharp.  LOL  It was a positively wonderful day, one that will live in my memory until the next time.  Pray for beautiful weather for the party.  It will be so nice if we can sprawl out into the back yard, which will be my new beautified back yard.  ha ha  Hopefully he will be through with it by then.  He will but I don’t think it will be ready by Thanksgiving.  Marty has discovered he can’t throw slabs of flagstone around for as long as a time as he thought he could.  I love you, Neener!  And you, too, Jeanne.  All of you Montgomery folk!  See you very soon.

Leave a Reply

