Waking up is hard to do…


It’s Sunday morning – for another half hour!  I’ve been awake for about an hour, but not fully, and not wanting to be.  All is quiet in Mama’s room, so I am taking advantage of the peace and just listening.  The birds have been singing – such a sweet sound.  We’ve had gusts of wind here and there, causing me to hope the trees stay intact!  And every once in awhile, I hear my hubby banging around in his shop.  I think that’s the sweetest sound of all, and possibly the most rare these days!  I asked him and Dannye not to go to church this morning.  I really hated to, but there is an awful stomach virus going through our church family like wildfire, and I just cannot take a chance on it coming home to Mama or Daddy!  So many folks have written about it going through their family members one by one.  It seems to have a short “lifespan” but is apparently quite violent.  I can’t even imagine Mama having to deal with something like that!

The sweet deal I get out of this is a bit of time with Bill here at the house, and later Dan is coming over to watch a movie with me.  This movie is one for which I’ve been searching for YEARS, and my Dannye Reigh, who is a TCM expert, searched their website, found when the movie is playing, submitted my email, and the website reminds me when the movie is playing!  Is that cool, or what?

The movie is “Room For One More” with Cary Grant.  When I was a young girl, my grandmother (Mama’s mother) watched that movie with me every New Year’s Eve.  I don’t remember why it showed on that day, nor how many years there actually were in my memory of “every year,”  but I remember seeing it with Nana more than once!  We loved that movie!  We loved staying up late together on New Year’s Eve, too!  Such a wonderful memory, and now I get to share with my Dannye Reigh this movie I’ve been telling her about all these years!  She loves old movies, and she especially loves Cary Grant.  I am really looking forward to it!

Keith and Karen 2

Last night I was blessed once again by my sister, Jeanne.  She came over for a few hours so I could go to our dear friend Keith’s engagement party.  Keith’s family lives near (again, Texas-near) to Mama and Daddy’s, so I could go for a couple of hours and actually get to visit with some folks.  Keith’s mother, Nancy, was entirely too busy to visit, but I did get a hug in!  I also saw many old friends that I rarely see anymore.  Many of us were homeschoolers together, so now that our kids are grown, we don’t have the same events and such to draw us together.  Some of the old friends I saw were actually the grown-up children (as Keith is) of these homeschool families. 

Lindsey Maternity 281   

One of the young ladies is expecting her first child any day, many of the others are on their second, third, or even sixth children!  It was so much fun to visit around for a bit!  A nice little outing to just clear the mind and emotions for awhile!

Mama was in a really good mood when I got home, and bedtime wasn’t too hard.  She is really having a hard time walking, but wasn’t crying very much at all.  She went to bed like a dream – and that truly NEVER happens!  I did have to get up with her twice, but only to help her in the bathroom, and she went right back to bed.  The power went out in the middle of the night – or early morning, perhaps – and I worried awhile about Mama getting cold, but our temps last night were very mild, and the electricity wasn’t off very long.

Well, I need to get up and get ready for the day.  I bet Daddy is up, and I just haven’t heard him.  The intercom is in Mama’s room, so I only hear Dad if he’s especially noisy!  I’m ready to eat “Brunch” and watch my church video with Mama.  I pray you are all enjoying a day of worship of our Lord Jesus Christ, and resting in Him!

God bless your day!

 

About Petty Bunch

The Petty Bunch is what we have called our family since Bill and I (Janina) began our family back in the early 1980s. We have gone down many roads together - homeschooling our kiddoes, enjoying the freedom of entrepreneurship many years, working at "real jobs" other years. Through it all, we have been loved with God's everlasting love, and have found that underneath are His everlasting arms! We are blessed to have been married for over 39 years, and have 3 incredible adult children, a wonderful daughter-in-law, an amazing son-in-law, and TEN grandchildren: five precious granddaughters, and 5 handsome grandsons - so far. We are empty nesters, still enjoy the life of an entrepreneur and the freedom it gives us to continue enjoying our kids and now, their kids!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Waking up is hard to do…

  1. May you have a blessed day as well. Glad your momma is having a few good days and especially glad you were able to take a few hours out to enjoy yourself.

  2. AuntGen says:

    I only hated that you had to keep you visit with friends so short.  They surely hated to see you leave the party so early, and Mama really was having a good evening. She even seemed to enjoy the Christmas movie we were watching on Hallmark.  I love your title, by the way.  Cracked me up.  I love you and am always thankful when you are able to have a restful night and respite from CG responsibilities.  We make a pretty good team. God is so good to us!

  3. pettybunch says:

    @AuntGen – Indeed He is!!  If I had done a month of “I am Thankful For…” more than half of it would be how thankful I am that we are in this together!  We are so blessed, and I don’t ever want to take that for granted!Leaving early was fine – the wind was wreaking havoc on my eyes!  And better leaving them wanting me to stay than staying and them wanting me to leave!! I knew you’d catch my title – have you been singing it all day?I love you!!

  4. AuntGen says:

    @pettybunch – Down-doobydoodowndown; cummacumma-down-doobydoodowndown; cummacumma-down-doobydoodowndown; breakin’ up is hard to-oo-oo do!

  5. Bettyeboop says:

    I got it,too, sister!  I got it, too.  ha  You two are the greatest sisters in the world.  Your connection to one another is so very special and I love to observe all the ways you express your absolutely unabridged love for one another. 

  6. pettybunch says:

    @Bettyeboop – I knew you’d get it, too!  The connection Jeanne and I have is comparable to that of twins, I think.  Mama always said we were twins, but Jeanne just took 10 months longer to gestate!

Leave a comment