Blessings For Thanksgiving


My heart is filled with thankfulness
To Him who bore my pain;
Who plumbed the depths of my disgrace
And gave me life again;
Who crushed my curse of sinfulness
And clothed me in His light
And wrote His law of righteousness
With pow’r upon my heart.

My heart is filled with thankfulness
To Him who walks beside;
Who floods my weaknesses with strength
And causes fears to fly;
Whose ev’ry promise is enough
For ev’ry step I take,
Sustaining me with arms of love
And crowning me with grace.

My heart is filled with thankfulness
To him who reigns above,
Whose wisdom is my perfect peace,
Whose ev’ry thought is love.
For ev’ry day I have on earth
Is given by the King;
So I will give my life, my all,
To love and follow him.

I am hoping the above video works, and that it blesses you all as you listen.  This song ministers to me every time I hear it.  It reminds me of all Jesus has done for me, and that no matter how hard this life can be at times, my heart can be full of thankfulness because Jesus really is and does all those things for, with, and through me.  He really did give me life by crushing the curse of suinfulness and clothing me in His light.  He really does walk beside me, floods my weaknesses with His strength (a great need in my life right now!), and causes my fears to fly!  His promises truly are enough for every step I take!  And then, I am reminded that His wisdom surely is my perfect peace, His thoughts toward me are love, and each day I have here on earth is indeed given by Him.  I can’t even begin to express how this lifts my heart!

Today, I am again in need of this reminder.  Mama had an especially bad night last night.  She has talked about dying the last couple of nights, and last night she was weeping for her children because she thought she wasn’t “going to make it,” and she was leaving her children alone.  I believe I was able to comfort her with thoughts of heaven, promises of seeing each other again, and that our lives and deaths are in the hands of the Lord.  It was a hard thing to talk to her about, though.  I found myself wanting to cry right along with her!

She is becoming so weak now that I had to get up with her several times because she couldn’t handle her bathroom duties even with the bedside potty right there.  Her state of mind was better, but she was too weak to take care of everything.  I was thankful that her mind was at ease, though.  It is so much easier to handle her when she is in a pleasant, contented mood.  Praying with her truly does wonders  She still, in her weakness, believes all God has promised.  She told me last night it is hard for her to remember those promises, so I would tell her a promise, refer to the verse it was from, and she would smile through her tears and say, “I know that!”  I love those times with her.  She certainly has spent many moments reminding ME of those promises in the past!  My Mama loves the Scripture, and it still has power in her life!

Bill, Dannye, and I are leaving early in the morning to go to Pamela’s and Will’s for Thanksgiving.  Jeanne will be staying with Mama and Daddy until Sunday, so we will have 4 days together.  I am struggling to keep my mind on the joy of our visit, and the blessing of my daughter and her precious husband; I will admit, though, I am concerned about Mama, and about Jeanne being here alone with them.  I know that my brother David is near, and even though he has to work, he is close enough that Jeanne can call on him at any time if there is a need.  Actually, Karla, David’s wife, will be even closer, and she is definitely a stalwart help in the time of need!  I am talking myself into a peaceful trip!

Pam and Will 2

Pamela and Will are also having their good friends Matt, Chris, and Emily for Thanksgiving Dinner, but one guest I am especially eager to see is my nephew Kenny.  He is Dave’s and Karla’s son, and is in his second year at PCC.  He is such a sweetie-boy (okay, I know, he’s a man!) and he will join us for Thanksgiving dinner at least, and I hope several more times during our visit.  This will truly be a time of thankfulness!

And now, for a brief bullet list of other things for which I am thankful:

  • My husband, without whom I would be unable to handle any of these circumstances!!!  He loves me through all my weariness, anxiety, anger, frustration, and busyness.  And he loves my folks, too – a true blessing!
  • My sister, Jeanne, who is truly simply an extension of myself, especially in these circumstances!  She is definitely part of that threefold cord spoken of in Ecclesiastes: 

    Two are better than one; because they have a good reward for their labour.

    For if they fall, the one will lift up his fellow: but woe to him that is alone when he falleth; for he hath not another to help him up.

    Again, if two lie together, then they have heat: but how can one be warm alone?

    And if one prevail against him, two shall withstand him; and a threefold cord is not quickly broken.

  • My Dannye Reigh, who makes it possible to have fun and laughter in my life, sometimes by giving me a break, and sometimes by doing things with me!  We did get to watch our movie together, and she loved it as I knew she would, and we had so much fun!  Thank you, Dan!
  • My precious daughter-of-my-heart, Emily, who is my friend and lets me talk her ear off after days and days of being at home with the folks by myself!  Emily is faithful to send pics and videos of our grandbabies to us, and it always brightens my day.  You can almost count on it – most every morning around 8:00 I get a text from Emily, usually a video of the kids.  I call it my “morning cup of joy”!
  • My son, Nathanael, who honors the Lord as he provides for his own family by working so hard, and every moment not spent working is spent with that precious little family!
  • My grandbabies, the joy of my life!
  • My brother and family, who help when they can, and always encourage.
  • My older siblings, who encourage and sometimes even reproach when I need to let go of some things, but won’t!
  • My church family, who send words of encouragement through Bill and Dan, and are faithful to pray for me.
  • My Mama and Daddy, who have allowed me to help them in their time of need, and put up with my quirks and my spurts of frustration, who forgive me and encourage me daily with their love.  Even still, my Mama and Daddy live Jesus in front of me, and I am forever grateful for their example!

There is truly so much more to be thankful for, but there isn’t enough cyber space to list it all!  The Lord is good, and His mercy endures forever!

God bless your day, and your Thanksgiving!

 

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Blessings For Thanksgiving

  1. AuntGen says:

    This song has really ministered to me as I struggle with the sinful attitude of ungratefulness.  I love you and am glad you posted this.

  2. An I am thankful for YOU! πŸ™‚ Ruly and I were reading through our family Thanksgiving book today. It was so funn! The wanted to know why the “Een-dins” didn’t have enough clothes on, and why the “Pwil-gwims” had to ride in “a jyucky boat” instead of a plane, and why they thought crabs and fish were food. Hahahahaha. πŸ™‚ Thanks for the speakerphone broadcast-conversation tonight! It was lovely to chat with y’all. Perhaps next year we’ll be out of retail and able to ALL be together! (I will make my OWN stuffing, by the way, if such be the case…*wink*)

  3. Bettyeboop says:

    I, too, am so thankful for you, and for Jeanne.  I am so very thankful for your good sense in marrying such a fine man.  What a blessing Bill Petty is.  A little flaky around the edges (LOL) but a dear, caring, generous, loving man.  I think about Bill often as I think about our family.  I have received so many blessings at his hands and more simply because he was there.  Mikey will always be thankful for his being there to help support him during Morgan’s last day on this earth.  He literally turned his car around when he heard what was happening and did not wait to be asked for help.  He was simply there and we love him so for it.  I am thankful every day for being blessed with the most wonderful family in the world, every one of them. 

Leave a Reply

