Catch 22


I had hoped to post during the holiday weekend, even just a quick picture post, but never had the time!  So we are now on the way home from Pensacola, and I am finally making time to get on Xanga.  I’ve actually been putting it off for almost 300 miles because I don’t even know where to begin!  So, as the Mad Hatter says, I’m going to start at the beginning, and when I get to the end, I’ll stop!

Several months ago (don’t worry, I’m not going to give a detailed account of the last several months!) I made a declaration to the family that I was going to go to my little girl’s house for Thanksgiving this year if it hairlips the government!  I wasn’t thinking about how it would put Jeanne out.  To be honest, I wasn’t thinking about anyone but myself and my need to see my baby!

Well, my sweet sister changed her annual plans to stay home with Mama so I could go to Florida with Bill and Dannye Reigh for a Thanksgiving visit with Pamela and Will.  Of course, at the time, we had no idea that Mama’s health would be failing so quickly.  She has been declining for years, but it has been rather slowly.  So as I was preparing to leave last week, Mama is talking about her last days on this earth!  What a difficult time I had going ahead with my plans!  Wednesday morning as I was checking on her at about 4:30, she was lying in her bed awake, and it was all I could do to go ahead and get in the car!

I did get in the car, though, and we headed out for 4+ days of R&R at Pam and Will’s in Florida.  Little did I know what was ahead for Jeanne and Dave, and for Bill’s family while we were out of pocket.

Before I talk about the rough spots going on at the home front, I want to tell you about our visit.  Pamela works until 2:45 daily, so we planned to get to her house at the same time she did.  We beat her there by about 10 minutes, and while we were waiting in their yard Will came by driving his schoolbus!  He stopped when he saw us and opened the house for us.  We still wanted to watch for Pamela, so we stood outside waiting.  When she came there was lots of hugging and kissing going around!  It was so good to see my Baby Girl!!.  Will rode up on his bicycle amidst the hugging and received his share of Petty love, and then the unloading and Thanksgiving prep began! 

I left home exhausted and hoping for 500 miles or so of sleep.  I slept for possibly 100 miles, so arrived at Pamela’s pretty doggone weary.  I stayed up as long as I could, but even while awake I was little to no help!  Thursday morning was some better, and we actually had Thanksgiving Dinner really close to the time we set! 

DSC_0038 (1504 x 1000)
On my way back to the kitchen to transfer more food to the dining room

DSC_0062a
Pam and Will’s budgie, Steele.  It will take weeks to get him over the shock of all us guests!

Other guests at our Thanksgiving Feast were Kenny, my nephew who attends PCC; Matt, Will’s best friend; and Chris and his lovely wife Emily, dear friends of Pamela and Will’s.

DSC_0103 a sm
Dan, Kenny, and yours truly!

DSC_0096a cr  DSC_0097a cr

     DSC_0119a sm  DSC_0123a sm
The guys played washers until dinner

Lots of laughter, lots of thanksgiving and praise to our Lord, and LOTS of food!  We had turkey and dressing, sweet potato casserole, green bean casserole, an amazing warm cranberry sauce that Matt made, mashed potatoes, gravy, and my sister’s/sister-in-law’s recipe for Hot Rich Rolls.  Our desserts included Spectacular Pumpkin Pie, German Chocolate Cake, Lemon Pie, chocolate truffles, and Cheesecake-filled pumpkin cupcakes.  It was all good, and my diet suffered greatly!  I’m not going to “fall on my sword” over it, though.  I am drawing a squiggly line on the calendar tonight and getting right back on tomorrow!  That will be difficult, too, because Jeanne and Karla had loads of leftovers, and I know how wonderful their meal was!

Friday morning  we girls were supposed to go shopping at 4, but in the night I received a phone call from Jeanne about Mama around 1 a.m. and after talking with her for awhile, I just wasn’t able to go with them.  Dan and Pamela went, though, and had a grand time!  Pamela even had to be at work at 8!  She got off at 2:45, so the three of us went back out among the Black Friday shoppers and found more bargains!  My biggest hope of the day was to get my grandbabies their Christmas outfits.  Emily graciously allows me to do this, and I have a blast searching for the perfect outfits!  I try to allow for the bitter Minnesota winters, but admit that Arulai’s is always a dress, although I do add either tights or leggings with it.  The dress I found is so adorable, and I was able to coordinate Titus pretty well with her.  Em said if I ship it pretty quickly, they can wear them for their family Christmas photos.  Believe me, they are going out tomorrow!

Friday night was a very special time – Fine Arts.  PCC has a Fine Arts production regularly, and the students and guests dress up in formal attire for the event.  This one was a play, Our Town by Thornton Wilder.  It was a little wierd, but I truly enjoyed it.  None of the rest of our party liked it much at all.  (Emily, I think you might have been right there with me, but not sure.  It was a bit melancholy, and had an odd ending.)  Whether the play was good or bad, we all were beautiful in our formal clothing, and had fun simply being together.  We took pictures, but those are on Dan’s camera, so I don’t know when I’ll see them!

Saturday meant a bit more shopping, then the trimming of Pam and Will’s tree!  That was so much fun!  Pamela’s tree is gorgeous done up in red and white, mostly candy cane striped ornaments. 

DSC_1004sm
Dannye, Will, and Pamela, dressed appropriately for the job at hand!  My girls had socks to match their Santa hats!

DSC_1010sm
They’re at it again!

DSC_1012 (1504 x 1000)
Steele wasn’t real sure what he thought about the Christmas Tree!

Will fixed his train to circle the tree, and did a marvelous job decorating it and making certain it could run without interference from shifting gifts, etc.  I hope to get some pics of their finished tree soon – it was truly beautiful!  We listened to Christmas music and then watched Miracle on 34th Street with Maureen O’Hara.  It’s my favorite version.  I don’t have anything against the other versions.  I just love this one.  Kenny came back for awhile then, too.  I love my Kenny-Dan! 

This morning we went to worship at Pam and Will’s church.  They had a visiting missionary preacher, and he brought a touching, convicting message.  God is at work in that little church.  We had to be all packed up when we left for church because we needed to get on the road immediately after the service, and we did pretty well.  Saying goodbye to my Baby Girl was made a bit easier knowing she and Will are coming to Texas for Christmas, and we’ll have them for about 10 days! 

We have gone through much traffic, especially in Louisiana, but it seems fairly clear now.  This is the boring part of the trip, not much to see, and just miles of I-10 stretched out before us!

So about that phone call in the middle of the night Thursday/Friday.  Jeanne called to let me know that Mama had a pretty bad fall and was not doing well.  She had had a bad day, and wasn’t able to walk at all.  When she was trying to get to the potty (just a step) she fell and scraped her leg really badly.  Jeanne was helping her, but Mama was a dead weight and got her feet tangled up.  It was a wonder she and Jeanne weren’t both badly hurt, but it seemed that other than Mama’s wounded leg, they weren’t seriously injured.  Mama began to go downhill after that, though, and Jeanne was scared to death!  When she called me we decided to see how Mama was in the morning, and call her doctor then.  Neither of us thought she would rally after that, but she did, albeit not very strongly.  She has not been well since, but has been some better.  I don’t know what the week ahead holds for me, but I am praying we will all be ready.  I do know God’s grace is always sufficient for what His hand brings our way.

To add to our worries about Mama, Bill received a message that his Mom had to be taken to the ER Thursday evening with chest pains.  I won’t go into all the details, but after several tests, it is decided that Mrs. Petty, who also has Alzheimer’s Disease, has gallstones and will require surgery tomorrow (Monday).  Memaw also has pancreatitis.  My sweet hubby has a difficult week ahead of him, as well!  We are so thankful that it wasn’t her heart causing the scare, and pray she can somewhat understand what’s going on.  My mom-in-law is the sweetest person I’ve ever known, and it is too painful to see her hurting or frightened.

Well, we’re getting fairly close to Texas, and I’m getting off here.  I pray your Thanksgiving was a blessing, and that the upcoming days are filled with joy!

God bless your day!

 

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Catch 22

  1. leasejw says:

    I’m glad you had a good thanksgiving with your family!  Sorry to hear about your mom and mom-in-law.  Praying for extra strength for you this week.

  2. ABAHM says:

    Sounds like your visit for thanksgiving was so good.  It is a blessing when we get to see our kids that we love so much!  You are looking younger and more beautiful, amazing with the care of your folks and all, I know being with your kids just brings out that beaming smile . Happy looking bunch of Christmas elves there!I am so sorry to read of Mama having so many difficulties and hurting her leg.  I will be praying for you all this week.  I read you last post too and loved the comfort you could give her with the Word, and her dear care about you all.  Praying for Bill and his mom too.  This is not easy, seeing our loved parents aging, is it?  It is good to be able to rest in Him and know their days are in His hands.  Bob has been visiting his dad a lot, as some days he seems to be fading away, so Bob is wanting to be with him a often.  Other days Grandpa seems pretty strong.  Let us know how your mama is doing. Love, Jenny

  3. AuntGen says:

    I have to admit this has been the hardest 5 days I’ve had so far, caring for Mama.  I’m so sorry I called and caused you to miss out on your black Friday plans.  I’m really sorry I worried you over things I could have handled myself, at least til a decent hour!  I’m not sure how we’ll be able to keep this up as Mama loses strength, but I am sure God will help us and give us wisdom.  I love the pics of your Florida holiday, and can’t wait to see the ones on Dan’s camera. The pictures of Steele make me miss my Peepers and the ones of the washer pitching make me miss Kenny.  I’m also looking forward to seeing shots of Pam and Will’s fully decorated tree…  Can’t wait til you make it home!

  4. pettybunch says:

    @AuntGen – Don’t you worry one second about calling me at all hours.  I am glad you did, and I got a bit of needed rest, too!  Guess what?  Steele may be coming to visit his Gen for Christmas!  They are really considering bringing him, and Pamela can’t wait for you to meet him!I love you, and I know we will really need each other in what we are facing in the near future. 

  5. I’m going to start with the good of your story! I’m so very glad you were able to have a great Thanksgiving with family. I can only imagine you were ecstatic to see your girl. Sometimes it does good to step away and take a few days for yourself. We all need a break and you definitely deserved one.Now for the not so good. I’m sorry to hear your momma struggled while you were gone. I know it must have been very scary for you. My mom’s biggest fear is she will not be there if/when something happens to my pa. I’m sure this was stuck in the back of your mind. Glad to hear she is doing some better. I will pray for you and your week ahead. Please keep me updated on your mom’s condition. I really feel as if I know a part of her just reading your blogs. I think of you and her often. I suppose it is because I relate your life a bit to my own mother’s.Sorry to hear about your MIL as well. It is so scary for them when they have to endure something such as surgery and don’t understand. When my grandpa had his hip replacement the look of terror in his eyes during recovery is an image embedded in my mind. I will pray for your MIL and for your husband & his family. May God be with both of you through this tough week.I cant wait for you to see my decorations. I’m so proud of them this year. I’m going to get those pictures posted sometime today if it kills me.Much love to you 🙂

  6. Dannye_Reigh says:

    I know I never comment, but I just had to agree with you about our fabulous time and tell you how extreemely wonderful it was that we all got to go this year together!!!  I love you loads, and I just don’t know how anyone can survive without a family like ours! Praise be to God!!!

  7. AuntGen says:

    @ABAHM – Jenny, I just want to thank you for mentioning how lovely and young Nina is looking lately.  With the stress of Mama’s care intensifying, a few people have commented about how it is aging her, but I just don’t see it.  Losing weight has given her some much needed strength and energy and a healthy youthful appearence.  God is gracious and kind, and His timing is impeccable.

  8. *deep sigh* I’m so sorry for everything you’re all going through right now, Mama. It’s so hard to know that the only thing we can do is pray, though I know how effective that is—I just want so badly to be of some kind of physical HELP!And I’m so, SO glad that y’all had such a lovely time with Pam & Will. We sure missed you guys!! AH, for the days when retail doesn’t tie us down for the holidays!!! 🙂 ((hug)) Love you!

  9. pettybunch says:

    @sunshinejoy717 – As I know you do, I praise the Lord for Bo’s job, but as you said, the demands of retail work are really burdensome!  I can’t wait to see what God has in store for y’alls future!!!!!  I hope it includes holidays with family!!!!!!!We missed y’all this weekend, soooo much!  I know Will would have enjoyed Bo’s company – Bill is in Loner mode!  Prayer is so needed right now – as we talked about earlier, we both need wisdom so badly right now!

  10. redladybug18 says:

    Well I’m glad you were able to take a few days off and have a break but I’m sure it was hard not being there while everything broke loose at home.  I think that would be so hard to see your mom slowly fading.  Blessings on your week and may God give you grace as you walk through his tough time!

  11. Abbiegirl says:

    Thanks for the Comment Mrs. Petty! I was so glad I caught the one’s with Grandma and Keenan, they are so precious ❤ you, I hope things with your parents get better. ❤

Leave a Reply

