Hospice Care


I will probably never get down all the details about our meeting today, but I just wanted you all to know that we have entered into hospice care with Mama. 

The initial meeting with the administrator of Heart to Heart Hospice care was wonderful.  As we knew they would be, they were compassionate and caring, as well as being helpful and informative.  They let us talk and talk about our lives, our daily routine, Mama’s needs, and our own needs.  We began the ball rolling, and were told that a nurse would be calling us for an appointment to evaluate Mama’s status. 

Last night Mama was up about 4 or 5 times (I lost count), so when Jeanne got here I was able to get a bit of extra sleep. After the first meeting I needed to get out to the grocery store, so Jeanne and I got a list together and off I went.  I didn’t get 5 miles down the road before the nurse called me, ready to head out to the house.  She was coming from Houston, so I hoped I’d have enough time to get the shopping done and be back before she arrived.  Of course, it took longer than I thought, but she was still there when I got home so I could be there for most of her evaluation time.

This part was more difficult than I anticipated.  It is one thing to see and even know that your Mama is approaching the end of her life.  It is another thing entirely to have ones from the medical field confirm that probability.  Her assessment of Mama was difficult to receive.  She was so sweet, though, and reminded me that if my Mama knows the Lord, she will be with Him when she passes away.  It is comforting to hear that from those who will be working with Mama.

One of the first things they are doing is bringing a hospital bed.  What a blessing that will be!  They may even be able to adjust meds to enable Mama to sleep better at night.  There will be an aide coming in three days a week in the beginning, moving to 5 days as the need arises. 

The help we are getting won’t really benefit me as much as I wish it would at first.  I will still have to get up with Mama at night, which really makes it difficult for me to go to work the next day.  If they can adjust her meds to help her sleep, though, I will get more sleep.  The good thing about the aid, though, is that Mama will be monitored by professionals, and we can call on them 24 hours a day if we need them.

They do have a form of respite care which entails transporting Mama to a nursing facility for up to 5 days.  At this time, we would probably not use that aspect of hospice unless a real need arises.  As long as Mama is even this aware of her surroundings, she would be too frightened to go somewhere without either Jeanne or me.  There could come a time when she is no longer aware, and we would be more open to it.

I’d better go to sleep now.  Mama is asleep, and I need to take advantage of this while I can!  I know there is much more to tell, but my brain is fuzzy.  I’ll fill in the spaces when I can!  I want to thank you all for your prayers.

God bless your day!

 

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Hospice Care

  1. I’m so sorry you’re going through this, but I do hope the help makes things a little easier for you. Hugs and prayers.

  2. ABAHM says:

    Continuing to pray for you all.  I am so blessed to hear of the kindness and faith of the caregivers.  I always hear what wonderful people work in that field.  I hope things will smooth out a bit with the extra measures.  My love to you.

  3. leasejw says:

    I will continue to keep your family in my prayers.  What a special blessing to know that those who will be helping care for your mom will be compassionate and truly able to offer the support you need.  I’m hoping with you that you’ll be able to sleep better at night.

  4. This just HAS to be hard for you,but I’m glad you’re able to recognize what you need to do.Isn’t the circle of life interesting?I often think when my children are grown, I’ll be footloose and fancy-free….but what a myth!We just found out yesterday that my Father-in-law, who is almost 80, is possibly going to be having open heart surgery. A scary thoughtfor us….wondering wht the outcome may be.

  5. Mommy2Drew says:

    Praying peace over all of you…..

  6. I am glad to hear that the meetings with the Hospice people went well and that you will have some help in caring for your mother.  You have been so faithful!  And you should always remember that you are doing everything you can to provide the best care possible.  Praying for you too, dear friend!

  7. So sorry, y’all. I’m glad that you have help now, though the reality of the need for that help is hard to accept. Praying rest and joy for all of you!

  8. Mottsngbury says:

    I’m so glad we were able to talk to you today. And I loved my visit w/Daddy.  He’s a sweetheart & I just wonder how much of this he really understands.  Stay strong, my sweet sister…..  My prayers are w/you all.  I surely hope I get to see you at Bettye’s, but totally understand if it doesn’t work out. I love you!  Motts

  9. pettybunch says:

    @Mottsngbury – Jeanne and I talked to him tonight, and he knows what’s going on.  He is profoundly sad, but says the Lord knows what He’s doing.  None of us feel like we know what to do, but trusting the wise words of a godly lady, we’re just going to “do the next thing.”  I love you, and thank you for your prayers.

  10. Bettyeboop says:

    I kind of feel on the outside looking in.  I should have called but wanted to wait and let you get all your thoughts processed and in writing.  I know that tends to help you sometimes.  I know Hospice is a mixed blessing.  Thank God for them but so sad they are necessary.  Personally, I think they answer the call of the Higher Power.  I remember years ago talking to my Aunt Mamie (mom’s brother’s wife).  She was the first person I ever knew who worked in Hospice.  It was a new word then and a new function.  I remember thinking how special she was to be able to do that night after night.  She chose to be a night nurse because the need was the strongest.  Some people felt my Aunt Mamie was sort of cold and distant but I don’t know why but I always felt very close to her and never found her cold, or distant.  She just wansn’t as touchy-feely as the rest of us.  But she always saw need and responded to it.  My closest encounter with Hospice was during dear cousin Barry’s last months.  I met several of his caregivers and the precious little nun who was the chaplain at the Hospice in New Braunfels.  I know this is what Chloe needs and that it will help you and Gen, too.  Martha said neither of you are going to be at my party.  I don’t know if I even want to have it then.  You may not know it, Nina, but the party is always in your honor.  I know what it means to you and I don’t even like to think of your not being here.  I am being nothing but selfish right now, I know, but I can’t help it.  I’ll get over it, just not tonight.

  11. pettybunch says:

    @Bettyeboop – I was mistaken about Jeanne not being there – she is able to come.  She wants to figure out a way for both of us to go, and there may still be a way.  Our hospice has volunteers that can come, or I am going to check with some ladies at church. Don’t give up yet!I love you, and I will call you as soon as all this admission stuff is finished.  Tomorrow is the nurses aide visit, then I’ll be out and about.  I can call then.

  12. You are always in my thoughts and prayers, your whole family is. I can tell you firsthand that Hospice was a great choice for us. They do offer a ton of support and the 24 hour help is much needed at times. I hope this will help ease some of the stress for you all. Thank you for the kind comment you left on my post. I truly feel as if I’ve known you forever and I check your blog basically everyday to check in on your momma. You have been such a blessing at this very time in my life. Thank you for being my Xanga friend 🙂

Leave a Reply

