Just Lingering


I’m just touching base to let you all know that Mama is continuing to decline somewhat rapidly.  Her care is somewhat simplified because she no longers gets out of the bed.  She is almost completely unresponsive, sleeping nearly all the time.  She has only had a couple of strawfuls of liquid since Sunday. 

We have been trying to minister to Mama through prayer, Scripture reading, and singing hymns at her bedside.  She loves all of it, but we get the most response from the singing.  She even tries to sing with us, although she can scarcely move her lips and the sound of her voice is little more than a gentle breeze blowing.  She weeps when we sing of Jesus, and especially of heaven.  At first we thought the tears were from fear, but just tonight realized she is weeping in the joy of her salvation and the soon homegoing she will experience.  It is heart wrenching, yet I don’t think any of us would miss this for anything.

Pamela is here.  Her Mamaw played a very special role in her life, as Pamela lived with Mama and Daddy for almost a year because of a mold issue we had in our home affecting her allergies so severely.  Pamela has traveled the entire continental United States with her grandparents, driving most of the miles, and keeping Mama and Daddy young with her vibrancy.  It is good for her to be here, both for Mama, and for me.

Dannye Reigh is here most days, or at least evenings.  My heart aches for Nathanael and Emily, the miles seem endless between us, but we are all so thankful they were here in October.  They will be traveling here for the funeral, and I know the waiting is hard and draining. 

Tonight was especially difficult for Daddy.  After a day full of visitors, Mama almost completely unresponsive, and the hospice nurse basically preparing us for the imminent, Daddy had what we are fairly certain is an anxiety attack.  He couldn’t breathe and began sweating profusely, so we called 911 (against his wishes, but he gave in because I think he was scared!).  He had calmed by the time they came – some of the nicest men I’ve ever met – and although they are required to tell us he needed to go into the hospital, they were sympathetic to our situation and Daddy’s desire to stay home.  Daddy had a second attack as he prepared for bed, but I gave him a low dose of Valium and he is now resting quietly.  He told me before he turned off his light that he felt much better, and I checked him just before I came to bed.

I am going to go to sleep now because it appears we may have a rough night with Mama.  She is a bit agitated tonight, so we have given her some meds and hope for some rest.  Jeanne and Pamela are sleeping near her, and in the morning I am going to make them both get some sleep if they don’t get a good amount tonight. 

It appears Mama won’t be with us even a week longer, perhaps not a day longer.  Please pray the Lord will have mercy on her, and won’t require any more suffering.  It is a hard thing to pray, but I think it is harder to see her like this. 

“And then one day, I’ll cross that river.  I’ll fight life’s final war with pain.  And then as death gives way to victory, I’ll see the lights of Glory and I’ll know He Lives!!

Because He lives, I can face tomorrow.  Because He lives, all fear is gone.  Because I know He holds the future, and life is worth the living just because He lives!”

God bless your day!

 

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Just Lingering

  1. ABAHM says:

    Oh my dear one.  I am praying and weeping with you.  I am so so glad that you know that your mama will be with Jesus.  May He pour out His grace on you all.  Love you! Jenny

  2. Praying for you.  You know, it was just a year ago that my mother died – it was Dec 30th.  So, I can really relate to what you are going through.  May God pour out His Spirit on all of you and give you strength and comfort in the days to come.

  3. Bumblypick says:

    May the Lord hold you all close as your mother’s homegoing approaches…..

  4. Bettyeboop says:

    It was so wonderful spending a few hours with you all yesterday. Adam was all happy because he got to ride the horse. : ). It is so sad knowing the state Chloe is in. I pray she will soon be in the arms of the Lord. I rejojce that she will soon see BM and Dan. What a day of rejoicing that will be. When we all see Jesus, we’ll sing and shout the victory.

  5. Bless you, bless you, bless you!I admire your strength in being there for your parents!I know this HAS to be draining….not only watching your mom pass on,but being there for your dad….and then dealing with your own loss as well.Praise God she’s a believer and can anticipate some exciting events in the near future!

  6. loaine says:

    Thinking & praying for you all.May you feel His strength & presence surrounding you!

  7. Mommy2Drew says:

    Although I cannot hear your voice, your words seem so peaceful. I pray that the Lord continues to wrap you in His embrace during this time. Thinking of ya’ll………..

  8. Abbiegirl says:

         Dearest Mrs. Petty, Please know, we were praying for you and Nate’s grandparents at our Prayer group last night.. I’m so sorry this is all happening so suddenly, I know what it’s like to have a grandparent die, and it’s always hard and painful. know your loved, and we’re praying for you. We pray em and Nate can get there soon.     Love and Parayers

  9. Cheryl Juarez says:

    Nina I am sitting here crying at the thought of what you and your family are going through I remember how kind your parents were when I nearly lived with you all through my teens.  I am soo glad you and Jeanne and your wonderful children are able to be with them around the clock.  I love that you are singing to her, that has to ease all the pain and panic she might be feeling.  Hug your Dad warmly for me this has to be so hard for him.  All my love to all of you.

  10. MegletTX says:

    Praying for you all Mrs. Petty!  I know all too well the emotions going on right now as we only recently went through this with my Granny.  Praying for God’s mercy on her that she will be freed from her suffering very soon!  And for grace and peace for the rest of you as well.  Love you!!

  11. Jackie Miner says:

    Nina and Jeanne, please know that my prayers are for all of you right now. I have the sweetest memories of your family and being in your home as a teenager. Your mom and dad always made me feel so welcomed. It touched my life in a profound way. I saw what a family could really be like and how Christ could be the center of it. I still think of all of you whenever I hear “The Old Rougged Cross”. If there is any joy in this situation, let it come from the knowledge that she will not only be free of pain, tears, sorrow and suffering, but she will be Jesus and reunited with her son. If there is anything I can do,please call me. 281-989-4877. That’s my cell. I am only a phone call away!Love you all,Jackie

  12. Tears running as I read this. I’m so, so sorry that you are in this place, but I also know the comfort of the presence of God lingering near in what feels like our darkest hour. I am so grateful to hear that your mother knows that peace. My grandfather lingered in such a state for a long while and we were all gathered around when he breathed his final breaths — it is so right for you to want relief for her. You have been so faithful to honor her with your love and care. I’m praying that the Lord is near to you all during this difficult time.Sending hugs from Oklahoma.

  13. Words from me, of all people, are so not necessary at this point. 🙂 We’ve used our quota and then some most days this week, haven’t we? 🙂 You know we’re praying. We love y’all and we’re anxious to be with you.

  14. redladybug18 says:

    how sad to have to go through this….it’s made me think though about my parents and eventually I might have to deal with something similar some day.  How hard it must be wondering when the last breath will come.  Praying for  peace for you

  15. pettybunch says:

    @ABAHM – @piecedtreasures – @Bumblypick – @totallycherished – @loaine – @Mommy2Drew – @Abbiegirl – @PrincessOfSeptember – @redladybug18 – Thank you, sweet friends, for your love and prayers.  The Lord carries us daily on the wings of y’alls prayers, I know!!  It is a blessing to have y’all take the time to come by, and especially to pray.

  16. pettybunch says:

    @Cheryl Juarez – @Jackie Miner – It is so wonderful to hear from dear, longtime friends!!!!!  Yes, our time right now is sad, but we are confident that Mama is going to be with Jesus very soon, and we can be joyful even through our tears.Thank you so much for getting in touch with me.  I am thankful for my precious friends.  You are a blessing!

  17. Thinking of you often, praying throughout the days. I hope you are enveloped in His peace.

Leave a Reply

