Whatever my lot, thou hast taught me to say…


It is well, it is well with my soul!

As we prepare Mama for the night, we sing this hymn (among others) to her.  We feel it reminds us all of the peace that passes all understanding in the preparation of Mama’s home-going.

During this time, I have thought that “my lot” that I needed to accept as “well with my soul” is the death of my precious Mama.  Daily we have seen a rapid decline in Mama’s health, so daily we prepare our hearts that this is our last day with her on this earth.  Each morning Mama is still with us we begin the letting-go process all over again.

The emotional roller coaster has been so difficult, yet today I realized that the peace we have been singing to Mama needs to be in my own heart for the waiting, as well as for the ending.  When the thought came into my heart and I accepted we may be in this waiting pattern awhile longer, I felt such peace flood my soul!  Here I was preparing for Mama’s death, getting ready to lose her, and not embracing the time we have left together.

We actually don’t know how aware Mama is of her surroundings.  She seems to respond, although rarely, to talking and singing, mostly by facial changes.  Today she actually uttered, “uh huh” and “uhn uh” to Jeanne’s questions, but has not really responded since.  She seems more peaceful now, though, which is a blessing.

We have had more excitement around here.  Daddy’s anxiety attacks have actually turned out to be a relapse of pneumonia.  He is very ill, but we were able to keep him out of the hospital by promising the doctor that if he gets ANY WORSE, we will take him to the ER.  He got a shot and oral antibiotics, plus his inhalers, and we are really trying to get him well without the hospital!

Bill also went to the doctor today.  His elbow was really swollen and severely painful, so I encouraged him (actually, I didn’t give him a choice) to go to the doctor with me when I took Daddy.  The diagnosis is bursitis, and he got 2 shots and 2 prescriptions!  I said we are starting an infirmary her at the house!

I don’t know if I’ve said this already, but Nathanael and Emily arrived (with the babies in tow!) this evening.  What a blessing it is to have all three of my kids together – for the first time in a year and a half!!  It was difficult for Nathanael to go see his Mamaw, but he did, and I believe she was blessed.  I know I was.  Daddy is so glad Bo is here, and I am hoping he feels better quickly so he can fully enjoy the visit.

I’d better go to bed now.  Thank you again for all your prayers.  The Lord is holding us up during these difficult days.  Please continue to pray for Daddy, that he will gain strength and be healed.

God bless your day!

 

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Whatever my lot, thou hast taught me to say…

  1. I’m exhausted just reading this and thinking about all you have going on.and what a blessed woman your mom is to have family surrounding her, loving her up until the end!

  2. Bless your heart, I can so relate to the heartache and pain you are feeling right now. We tried to prepare as well for my pa’s passing but I will tell you that saying goodbye was one of the most painful things I have ever done in my life. I watched my momma who was so aware that his time was coming to an end fall apart. I pray for peace for you and your family. I’m sending zillions of prayers your way. God Bless You All.

  3. God bless you, dear friend!

  4. Julitx says:

    Love you, Nina! Our hearts and prayers are with you. We know some of what you are living. I am thankful God is walking with you there!

  5. ABAHM says:

    Bless you Nina.  I am continuing to pray for you and everyone there.  May the Lord give you that sweet peace as you minister to your Mama and Daddy.  I am glad your family is there with you.  My love to you! Jenny

  6. redladybug18 says:

    Glad everyone made it safely there.  Enjoy your time together with everyone!

  7. Abbiegirl says:

    Dear Mrs.Petty, this post made me cry. So glad Em, and Nate are there with the kiddos, I can’t even imagine how hard it was for Nate. We love and are praying for you all! ❤ 

  8. Bettyeboop says:

    I love you, Sister.  Please give my love to Nate and Em.  Kiss those babies for me.  I look forward to seeing Titus for the first time.  Please give Daddy my most huge hunk of love.

  9. ligsar says:

    Thanks for the update!  Lots of thoughts of you and prayers for you are happening up here!!!  So glad the entire Nate Petty bunch is able to be there.  ❤

  10. Rickies58 says:

    Nina I know exactly what you are going through and it’s not fun. I’m praying for each and everyone of you. One for your mama to be at peace now while awaiting to see the Lord. For your daddy so he will be healed and the strenghth for your mama passing. And for the Lord to put His hand on each and everyone of you during this time. Your such a blessing and I love how I see the Lord in your soul!! I know Danny awaits mama and she will be so happy soon!! Love you!!  Rickie

  11. I am glad that your children and grandbabies arrived safely! Praying regularly for you all!

  12. Bumblypick says:

    Thank you for the update……His grace and comfort is with you….so sorry for your pain and struggles….so glad it is well with your soul…..His arms around you all today!

  13. Nina, you are in one of the hardest spots of all — that of waiting for the homegoing of a beloved parent, and hating the crossing so much, but longing for them to be “Home Free” forever.  It just doesn’t get much harder than this.  You are in my thoughts and prayers, and I pray that the Grace Given to you will be a source of joy and strength and comfort and that your days will be alight with the glory of God.  Listen for the angel wings, dear friend.  They must be hovering near.

Leave a Reply

