…to live is Christ, and to die is gain


There is much to do, but I just wanted to let you all know that my sweet Mama is finally at rest in the arms of the Lord.  We were blessed to be with her as she left this earth, and while it was one of the most difficult moments of my life, it was also a time of answered prayer, and then beautiful peace for my Mama.

We are all doing pretty well, as the Lord upholds us.  Daddy is grieving, yet he, too, “knows who holds tomorrow” and he definitely feels the Lord holding his hand.  Please continue to pray for him as he fights double pneumonia.  We are trying to keep him out of the hospital, at least until after the funeral. 

I am going to simply leave you with the obituary we wrote for Mama, and perhaps catch up in a couple of days.  I am to give a tribute at the funeral tomorrow, but don’t have all my notes together yet.  Thank you all for your prayers.

Chloe Rudine Allen, age 82, went home to be with the LORD on December 11, 2010, in Montgomery, Texas. She was born October 14, 1928 in Wichita Falls, Texas, to Rudolph and Clotile Boothe. Chloe graduated from Crane High School at age 16, and attended Hardin-Simmons University.

Chloe married Bill Allen in 1956 and they celebrated 54 years of marriage. She held jobs as a bookkeeper and substitute school teacher, but spent most of her life making a wonderful home for her husband and 4 children. She also loved and was loved by her 3 step-children.

An active member of Faith Baptist Church in Montgomery until illness kept her homebound, Chloe was known for her love of Jesus, and her Bible knowledge and teaching. Chloe taught Sunday School for most of her adult life, and dearly loved studying and teaching God’s Word.

Chloe was preceded in death by her parents, her brother Art, son Danny, step-son Billy Michael, and granddaughter-in-law, Morgan Strader.

She is survived by her husband, Bill; her brother Don Boothe and wife Johnnie; her daughters Janina Petty and husband Bill, Jeanne Davis and husband Mike; her son, David Allen and wife Karla; her grandchildren Michael Davis and wife Amy, Nathanael Petty and wife Emily, Dannye Petty, Pamela Swem and husband Will, Kenneth Allen and Melissa Allen. Also surviving her are her step-daughters Bettye Strader and husband Scooter, and Martha Martin and husband Bob; daughter-in-law, Greta Allen; grandchildren Mark, Mike, Marty, and Matt Strader, Rob Martin and wife Angie, Kim Navarro and husband Joe, Chris Allen, Allison Nelson and husband Matt, Jennifer Strunk and husband Phillip; 20 beloved great-grandchildren; and numerous nieces and nephews.

Dad and Mom 53 years! 002a.jpg

God bless your day!

 

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to …to live is Christ, and to die is gain

  1. ABAHM says:

    My love and heart felt sympathy.  Praying for you all.  Your mother was rich in family.  Beautiful picture with your daddy.  

  2. Praying for you and your family, especially your daddy. I hope the Lord helps keep him well until after services. May God bless each and every one of you. I know how difficult this is as I’ve watched my momma over the last few days. You will get through, just pray and take it one foot in front of the other. Your mom was a beautiful lady and your dad so handsome. I know he is going to miss her dearly and will need you all more than anything else to be there beside him. Take care of yourself.Angie

  3. Thinking of you, Nina.  May God give you rest and comfort and the words you need for what you want to do for your Mama tomorrow.

  4. There is a certain depth of unexplainable peace from God that we feel only when we are walking through some of our hardest times. It is my prayer that you are surrounded in that peace. Hugs to you, Mrs. P.

  5. May God pour out His grace on all of you in the days to come.  I don’t know what to say – I’m sad for you, but rejoicing with you that your precious mother is no longer suffering and is with her Lord and Savior!  I was so teary when I opened this up and read that she had died.

  6. loaine says:

    What a sweet picture of your parents!May God bless you with grace and strength in the days ahead.

  7. Abbiegirl says:

    so sorry for your loss, we love you! may God give you peace, and overwhelm you with love. 

  8. Cheryl Juarez says:

    Nina that is a beautiful picture of your parents.  I’m sure you will speak perfectly tomorrow you always speak and write so beautifully.  My love is with all your family and especially your Dad I hope he gets well quickly and is able to bear the loss of your beautiful Mother.  You and Jeanne are such a blessing to both your parents. Love you,Cheryl

  9. Bettyeboop says:

    A dear old friend called me today and said she had seen the obituary in her Courier this morning.  She wanted me to pass along her condolances.  The obituary paints a true picture of Chloe but can only outline her life, not color it in.  She was a wonderful wife, mother and homemaker.  Like I told her last week, I always admired what a great homemaker she was.  She was such a wonderful cook and quite an accomplished seamstress.  She made her wedding dress and a year later made mine.  She taught me to sew and I will always be grateful for that.  She loved fine things and even bought me my first “good” undies.  LOL  I will never forget her.  See you all in the morning. 

  10. Rickies58 says:

    Oh Nina. This picture of your mama and Daddy are so sweet!!! WOW they have alot of kids and grandkids and great grandkids!! They were very blessed!! Well one day we will see your mama again praise God!!! I’m keeping your sweet Daddy in my prayers!! Please tell him I’ll come see him when he is better. Work won’t let me go to the funeral but ya’ll are all in my heart!!! God Bless!!!

  11. redladybug18 says:

    sounds like she lived her life to please God…such a wonderful heritage!  May God give give you grace and strength as you go through many decisions in the next few days 

  12. chix0rgirl says:

    Much love to you and your family. I pray that you will remember the good times fondly this Christmas. 

  13. maryhurlbut says:

    Dearest Janina, I’ve just now caught up on all that has happened this past month. How similar your life and my sister Jenny’s has been,how wonderful we all have the sure knowledge our loved ones are with Jesus…it makes this Christmas Season even more precious. May God bless and comfort you now.

Leave a Reply

