The Magic of Ordinary Days Again, Please!


So now Christmas is over.  Many people experience the “after-Christmas Blues”, but I am not certain I am one of those people.  We had a wonderful Christmas, and although we missed Mama at every turn, we all have been touched deeply with the comfort of 1 Thessalonians 4:13 – 18:

13 But I do not want you to be ignorant, brethren, concerning those who have fallen asleep, lest you sorrow as others who have no hope. 14 For if we believe that Jesus died and rose again, even so God will bring with Him those who sleep in Jesus.
15 For this we say to you by the word of the Lord, that we who are alive and remain until the coming of the Lord will by no means precede those who are asleep. 16 For the Lord Himself will descend from heaven with a shout, with the voice of an archangel, and with the trumpet of God. And the dead in Christ will rise first. 17 Then we who are alive and remain shall be caught up together with them in the clouds to meet the Lord in the air. And thus we shall always be with the Lord. 18 Therefore comfort one another with these words.

Amy, patriotic, flag 007
Me and Mama at Christmas in July this past summer

We indeed comforted one another with those words all day long, and everyday since Mama passed away.  There were tears here and there, memories shared, hugs given and returned.  Mostly, though, we tried to enjoy Christmas as Mama had always enjoyed Christmas, and I believe we accomplished that.

  Christmas at Bettye's 1  
Daddy and me at my sister’s Christmas party

Christmas 2010 011
Tater and her Daddy, Christmas Eve

Christmas 2010 012
Bill’s favorite – Turtles!

Christmas 2010 013
Dan got Pam some spats!

Christmas 2010 015
My beautiful sister-in-law, Karla, Christmas Day

Christmas 2010 016
Missy got a beautiful blue guitar!

Christmas 2010 014
My beautiful sister Jeanne, and her precious daughter-in-law Amy

As I wrote a couple of blogs ago about Bo and Emily heading back to their home in Minnesota, today I have to write about my Tater and Will returning to their home.  It was difficult to see them go – Pamela has been here for almost a month, and Will for over a week. 

Christmas 2010 027
Pam and Will, Christmas at Bill’s brother’s home

I told Bill that it seemed so normal for them to be here, for Will to hang Christmas lights, build a gate for Daddy’s porch, fix a hole in Daddy’s bedroom floor, and race remote controls with Bill. 

Christmas 2010 006

Christmas 2010 007

Christmas 2010 008

Christmas 2010 009

For Pamela to bake, care for Mama until she was gone, and then for her Granddad; to giggle with her sister and charm her Daddy with her big blue eyes!

Christmas 2010 003

Christmas 2010 030

Christmas 2010 028

Christmas 2010 029

Christmas 2010 002

Christmas 2010 010  

And Will and Dannye Reigh pester each other like true brothers and sisters (although they don’t kick-box each other like she and Bo do, for which I am eternally grateful!  Emily and I are always having to tell them to take their “karate” matches outside!)

We even got to share Christmas with Bill’s family – Pam, Will, Dan, Bill and I all went to church together and then drove over to Bill’s brother and sister-in-law’s home. 

 Christmas 2010 025
Great-niece Emie

Christmas 2010 020
Niece Kristi with her new pup Greta

Christmas 2010 021
Isn’t she absolutely beautiful?

Christmas 2010 017
Niece Mandy and her daughter Emie

Christmas 2010 022
My precious Tater

Christmas 2010 023

What a fun time we all had, doing a “Chinese gift exchange” and eating yummy Mexican food!  Bill’s Mom has dementia like my Mama did, but she isn’t physically impaired like Mama.  Memaw was having an especially good day, and it was so wonderful to hear her sing “It’s Beginning to Look A Lot Like Christmas!” like she has every year since I can remember!

Christmas 2010 018
Bill’s folks, Pawpaw and Memaw

Christmas 2010 019
Our precious Memaw

Anyway, Pamela and Will left about 5:30 this morning to head east.  Will’s folks were on the way down from Michigan, and will probably beat Pam and Will to their house this afternoon.  I know they are looking forward to getting back to their own routines, as well as seeing Will’s family.  I told Pamela I am simply pretending they went shopping or something!

Christmas 2010 027
Our youngest kids!

Christmas 2010 026
And here we are!

In all honesty, though, I am greatly looking forward to some plain old routine, ordinary days, as well.  I don’t know how soon they will come, with the business aspect of Mama’s death still to deal with, work to catch up on, and trying to help Daddy get well from this lingering pneumonia.  I’m not sure I will know when the ordinary days come – perhaps I will look up one day and realize that life has gone forward, and all is well again!  I know it happened just that way after Bo and Em moved to Minnesota – the almost unbearable grief I knew at that time began to ease bit by bit, day by day, until one day my heart was no longer breaking.

Petty Families pic
Us with the other part of the family!  One day we’ll all be together at the same time – I just know it!!

And now, in the midst of grieving for my Mama and saying goodbye to my faraway kids and grandbabies once again, I am anticipating the magic of ordinary days again.  The “magic” that comes is the sweet, calming voice of the Lord speaking peace to my heart.  And already I hear Him speaking!  Isn’t God good??

God bless your day!

 

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Magic of Ordinary Days Again, Please!

  1. ABAHM says:

    Good indeed!! Loved seeing all the pictures and warm times with family.  Blessings to you, I will continue to lift you up.  We experience that edge of heaven experience with Dad as he passed from this life into God’s arms, so we know that hope just as you do for your mama! 

  2. billseye says:

    I LOVE YOU !!!  ;^}

  3. AuntGen says:

    I love the pictures and reading your thoughts and perspectives on life.  And I love you!

  4. Bettyeboop says:

    Well, I love all of you. Life seems to have returned to normal here. I don’t have a single chore or appt for this week. And my knee is blown out. Ain’t it the way? The knee did seem a little better today. I’ve been off it since Sunday except for potty runs. I’m using my walker for that and it helps a great deal. I am so happy you got to see all your babies during the holidays even if Bub’s visit did have to be a little early. Everyone take care and I well see you as soon as possible.

  5. pettybunch says:

    @Bettyeboop – I am so sorry your knee is so bad!  I have been praying since Gen got your news yesterday.  I hope you get to come out soon, or that Gen and I can come to visit you!  Dad is still not well, but we are having a heck of a time getting the nebulizer Dr. S ordered.  Hopefully it will be delivered tomorrow and Dad can get the breathing treatments going.  I love you so much!

Leave a Reply

