Beginning 2011…


…at the hospital with Daddy!

Daddy 2008

We knew Daddy wasn’t getting better like he should be.  He was extremely out of breath with the least bit of exertion, and the coughing was horrendous!  We had him to the doctor on Monday, and he was prescribed more antibiotic, another round of steroids, and this time a nebulizer for daily breathing treatments. 

Through a comedy of errors (that weren’t too funny) we still didn’t have the nebulizer by Thursday.  I called the company, who evidently closed early-ish on Thursday, and got a branch in Oklahoma.  She was horrified that we were still waiting, and proceded to call the Conroe office to try to get some action.  To no avail, though!  They were not coming out after hours (it was 5 p.m. by this time) and were closed Friday for the New Year holiday.  And, yes, they are closed weekends. 

The OK lady called me back to tell me the bad news, and while I knew all of this wasn’t her fault, I wanted so badly to tell her that my 90 year old Daddy was going to have to suffer all weekend, and perhaps get worse, because the company wanted to close early and have a long holiday weekend!  I didn’t tell her, though.  I was almost crying when I got off the phone with her – she knew how bad this was and already felt bad.  No sense in making her feel worse.

Well, Friday when Daddy got up, he had his normal morning coughing spell, and just as I had known was coming, he told me he coughed up blood.  I began trying to call his doctor (whose office was closed for the holiday).  By lunch he was coughing up more blood, so I called the urgent care center, who told me to take him straight to the ER.  Knowing they would keep him in the hospital, I went ahead and packed a bag for both Dad and me and off we went. 

The triage nurse took him right back, and after an X-ray and some waiting, Daddy was admitted.  The diagnosis is an enlarged, weakened heart, and congestive heart failure.  That sounds so bad, and looks worse written in black and white.  In actuality, the doctors and nurses all seem surprised he is just now having these issues at 90 years old!  Daddy doesn’t feel bad and is in very good spirits.  His biggest complaint is severe shortness of breath.  They’ve got him on high dose steroids, Lasix (a fluid reducer), and breathing treatments.  The steroids have cause his blood sugar to spike, so he is also getting insulin shots.  Oh, he is also on oxygen.  I don’t know if that will continue after we are home or not.  Which, by the way, the doctor is talking about Monday or Tuesday. 

The only sad note to my New Year weekend, other than Daddy having to go to the hospital, is that I had already made arrangements with Dave to stay with Daddy for the weekend so I could go with Bill and Dan to shoot an out of town wedding for a friend.  I was so disappointed, but I think Bill was even more sad!  They are having a good time, though, and even on phone video the celebration looks lovely!

Back at the hospital… there is a relatively comfortable chair-bed for me, and Dad and I are having a nice, restful time here this weekend.  My brother Dave, Missy, my sis Bettye, and her hubby Scooter have all been here today.  Dave stayed with Dad so I could do a bit of shopping I needed to get done today – that was really nice.  Jeanne comes home tomorrow – she and her hubby are out of town celebrating their wedding anniversary this weekend.  Daddy is beginning to talk about going home, although he insists he wants to do what’s best.  He is already becoming a bit more forgetful than usual, so I hope we don’t have to stay very long.

I’ve heard/read several times in the past few days that many hope 2011 holds better things than 2010.  I’ve thought alot about that since our family has experienced much loss this past year.  When I reflect on the past year of my life, however, I can’t help but see the many wonderful blessings mingled with the sorrows.  The greatest blessing of 2010 most definitely has to be the birth of our precious grandson, Titus.

Em and Titus  Bo and Titus Nonnie and Ty.jpg   MN Trip (11).jpg

What a precious little dolly he is!  I love 2010 for that alone! 

Glen Rose 16

I also think about the wonderful trip I took to Minnesota by myself last January;

Nina's Minnesoata Trip 635.jpg

Valentine’s Day at a wonderful Bed and Breakfast;

valentine day 2010 020

my 50th birthday was celebrated with my Florida kids;

Florida april 10 037.jpg  Florida april 10 015.jpg

my precious Daddy turned 90;

Grandads party 110.jpg   

a family trip to Minnesota;

MN Trip (36).jpg  

and so much more. (Besides all that, I lost 50 pounds last year!!) And that doesn’t include the spiritual blessings and growth that has transpired during the year!  Growth and wonderful blessings that have come much more often from the hard things of the year than the happy happenings! 

All in all, I see the goodness of God throughout every minute of 2010!  The precious lesson in this time of reflection is that sitting in this hospital room on January 1, 2010 is no longer frightening.  I can rest on the knowledge that my Lord will lead – and protect – us in 2011 just as He did in 2010.  Our God is so very good!

God bless your day – and your New Year!!!!!

 

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Beginning 2011…

  1. AuntGen says:

    Loved the post and the perspective. Can’t wait to see Daddy tomorrow. Love you!

  2. billseye says:

      I love you ! ! !

  3. ABAHM says:

    Praising God for you friend and the knowledge of His hand on your life and those you love.  I will be praying for your daddy.  What a blessing for you to be there with him and see him cared for.  

  4. redladybug18 says:

    So sorry about your dad.  I can understand how hard it was to have to stay back with him.    Congrats on losing all that weight!  I bet you feel so much better.  I kinda got off that bandwagon but I’m back on it with a plan and a vision 🙂  Hopefully by the end of the this year I’ll be able to say I’ve met my goal and stayed at it.

  5. Thanks for your wisdom and perspective, Mama. You’re absolutely right—2010 was a blessed, joyous year, even amidst the struggle and the loss that so many of us experienced. Thank you for reminding me! Love you.

Leave a Reply

