Home is becoming a distant memory!


For Daddy, especially. 

Last night I went home from the hospital to get a decent night’s rest, expecting to go to work this morning, then pick Daddy and Jeanne up from the hospital and take them home.  I was a little hesitant to leave Dad – okay, a lot hesitant! – because he had a couple of mild “episodes” of shortness of breath and light-headedness during the afternoon that he had not experienced for over 24 hours.  His vital signs were good, though, so I went home.

Bill and I had a lovely, restful evening at home, just the two of us – oh, and Molly!  Molly was tremendously glad to be home, having spent the weekend at Missy’s.  I know she had a great time there, because she and Missy’s dog, Max, are great buds.  However, Molly still hasn’t gotten over missing Mama, and was panic-stricken when I took Daddy away, so getting home brought a little familiarity back to her.

Bill and I ate a potpie for dinner, and looked through some photos from the wedding they shot over the weekend, then sweet sleep!  I had my alarm set for going to work time, but before it went off, Jeanne called to tell me Daddy is not coming home today.  He had more episodes of shortness of breath, sweats and weakness, blood in his stool, and his blood pressure is lower than it should be.    He seems to be slightly dehydrated, thus the low blood pressure, but they don’t want to administer fluids because of the CHF.  They will start an IV steroid drip for the congestive heart failure, and I think Jeanne may have said they will discontinue the Lasix (fluid pill) until the dehydration is corrected.  I may have made that up in my mind, though!!

Daddy hasn’t felt bad much throughout this whole ordeal, but is becoming more and more forgetful, appears to be having a little trouble breathing and light-headedness, but is ok, no pain and wants to go home.  The hospital confuses his memory and he told Jeanne last night that he “can hardly remember what home looks like.”  We really, really want to get him home as soon as possible so his cloudy memory will clear up. 
 
Please continue to pray for Daddy.  In my heart I am rejecting the thought of another loss, especially of my sweet Daddy.  I don’t even know if all this illness even means we are nearing the end, but when you begin this type of problem at 90 years old, you’ve kinda begun near the end, anyway!!  It’s just that Daddy has been so vital up to now, not declining at the rate that Mama did.  And the emotions are still so raw from losing Mama that the thought of losing Daddy overwhelms me! 
 
“…when my heart is overwhelmed, lead me to the Rock that is higher than I.” 
 
Stork  Stork  Stork   
 
Changing the subject somewhat, I would like to announce that Bill and I will be welcoming grandbaby #3 into our lives this summer.  Nathanael and Emily received the surprise Christmas gift of pregnancy.  And speaking of being overwhelmed – they are justalittle!!!!  Titus will be 15-16 months old when this new little Petty (redundant?) joins their ranks.  The wonderful blessing this time is that Dannye Reigh is planning to be there for a good long while to help out.  Her Nanny-ing job will be finished at the end of this school year so she will be free to Nanny her own niece(s) and nephew(s).  She is very excited about this prospect!
 
♥                     ♥                     ♥                      ♥                    
 
I came to work because my boss said he would have a report for me to transcribe.  He doesn’t.  So I thought I would catch up with my filing and on here before I head to the hospital.  Filing is finished.  Jeanne called just now to say that Daddy is breaking out into a bad sweat in a freezing room, so is calling the nurse.  I need to get over there.  Thank you for your prayers.
 
God bless your day!
 

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Home is becoming a distant memory!

  1. ABAHM says:

    Oh praying and praying for you and your dear daddy.  My heart is there with you! Rejoice over the sweet news of another baby.  What a blessing it will be to have Danny to help!

  2. Abbiegirl says:

    Yay for Being a Grandma 3x over! Can’t wait to see Dannye, and hopefuly You and Mr. Petty for my Wedding, you’ll be getting an invitation! 

  3. Oh sweetie, bless your heart. You have had so much to deal with it and you have been so strong. Your an inspiration to me. You and your daddy is in my prayers.Congrats on the new grandbaby. Such an exciting Christmas present :)Keep us updated when you can. Much love coming your way.

  4. redladybug18 says:

    oh wow, it sounds like you’ve got your hands full.  Amidst all the sadness of all you’re going through the thought of a new grand baby I’m sure helps brighten your spirit 🙂

Leave a Reply

