Update from earlier today…


This morning Dad had a pretty major setback.  At first it seemed the breathing/cold sweats issue was the biggest problem, but after 4 episodes of Daddy passing a massive amount of blood through his colon, the focus changed.  We weren’t getting any answers or action from the nurse, so it was suggested to us by the tech that we inform the charge nurse of the situation.  As soon as I told her what was going on (there had been a 5th incident of blood), she called Daddy’s doctor.  He immediately sent a Gastrointerologist to examine Dad. 
 
First let me say WE LOVE HIM ALREADY!  He ordered bloodwork to determine how the blood loss is affecting Dad.  He also took solid foods away and has put him on clear liquids until he knows more.  
 
A colonoscopy is in order, but Dad is having so much trouble breathing that he is a terrible candidate for sedation.  Therefore, the GI doctor ordered a “bleeding scan” to see if they can find where the bleeding is coming from.  There will be several options from there. 
 
When I asked him if this is serious enough to “call in the family” he said at this point it is URGENT, but not EMERGENT because right now Dad is stable, not in pain, and his vital signs are still pretty good.  EMERGENT signs would include frequent to continual bleeding, or significant blood level issues, which would result in a move to ICU, and a lot of quick decisions at that point.  Please pray we don’t have to go there – Jeanne and I aren’t as quick on the draw as we used to be!
 
I asked what the possible cause of the bleeding is and he listed a few:  first, a bleeding vessel in relation to diverticulosis; hemorrhoidal bleeding (probably not); or some cancers, but cancers rarely bleed.  There was another possibility, but I don’t remember what he said, and he said there is usually pain involved with it and Dad has no pain.
 
It was really comforting to get some answers, and especially to hear a plan of action, up to and including an emergency status. 
 
Daddy is alert and his sweet self.  He rests when they let him, and when he is awake he even tells some stories.  Please continue praying.  I see God answering already just by sending this new doctor!
 
Daddy is back from the “bleeding scan” and handled it very well.  His blood sugar has been really high, but is down a bit tonight.  We are watching a college bowl game – I don’t care anything about it, but Dad enjoys any football, and it gives him something to think about.  He is still getting confused, but I am praying the Lord will give us ways to help him keep his grip.  Football might really help that.
 
I’d better get my bed ready for the night.  I am staying again tonight, and Jeanne will be back tomorrow. 
 
Y’all have a good night, and God bless your day!
 
 

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Update from earlier today…

  1. I’m so very, very sorry.  May your night be restful, and may your Daddy sleep well.  I hope that he can come back home and have some good days with his family.  My Mama and Daddy were both so ill in 2005, and sometimes I would wonder how I could ever handle it if God took them both home — Mama had esophageal cancer and Daddy had Leukemia.  Daddy did better while Mama fought for her life, but after Mama started getting better, he quietly folded his tent and went home to Heaven.  Now, five years later, I am grateful every day that God spared my Sweet Mama.  I pray that you can have more time to spend with your daddy.  Thinking of you tonight!

  2. Abbiegirl says:

    Love and Prayers! 

  3. pettybunch says:

    @Buckeyegirlie – Thank you for your prayers and your kind words.  It is my prayer, too, that we can have a bit more time with Daddy. 

  4. Praying for strength, rest, and for all of your decisions to be clear and for you to be full of peace!Hugs!

  5. Prayers are still with your dad & your entire family. Thank God for good doctors. Sounds like your dad is now in good hands. Please update when you get a chance. I know finding time during situations like this can sometimes be difficult. Much love to you.

  6. ABAHM says:

    Thanking the Lord for answers and help!  I will continue to pray for your dad Nina.  

  7. TerrisCorner says:

    Praying for Grandad and all of ya’ll. You know we’re here if you need anything, just let us know.Love, hugs and prayersTerri

  8. pettybunch says:

    @TerrisCorner – I wish I had brain enough to give you a call!  I love you, and I know you’re there for me!!  Daddy is so much better tonight, and I really believe we are going home tomorrow.  God is so gracious to let him get better!

Leave a Reply

