“In every job that must be done…


…there is an element of fun.  You find the fun, and SNAP!  the job’s a game!”

I generally approach life with a Mary Poppins mentality:  even the most unpleasant task can be bearable – yea, even fun – if you have the proper frame of mind!

I will admit that tonight, though, Mary Poppins is having a difficult time getting through the fatigue and trials of life!  Daddy was still not released from the hospital, and may well not get to go home tomorrow, either.  His blood counts (H & H – hemoglobin and hematocrit) came back low this morning, just a point above the number calling for a transfusion.  That in itself wasn’t too bad, as it has been explained to us that the bloodwork is usually 8 – 10 hours behind the actual problem; therefore, Dad may be on the upswing going by how long it has been since he’s had a bleeding episode.

The event that is trying to hide the element of fun in this “job” is that Daddy is coughing and wheezing again.  In the words of my precious granddaughter, “My heart is so fwusterwated!”  The cough has settled some tonight, but every once in awhile I hear gurgling throughout his chest and throat.  He isn’t feeling as well as he did yesterday, which was a wonderful day!  So sad to have such a bump in the road today. 

I am here alone with Daddy, and miss my hubby so much!  I did get to spend the night at home with Bill on Monday night, but that seems like ages ago.  He and Dan shot a wedding last weekend, so I didn’t see them from Friday to Sunday, then spent Monday night with Bill, saw him for a few minutes this morning and this evening…but it sure wasn’t enough time!

We have another wedding this weekend.  Bill and Dan are the photographers, but it is also the wedding of a dear, precious friend of ours.  Because the rehearsal dinner is just up the road from the house, if Daddy gets to go home I might be able to be there; if not, Jeanne is going to stay with Dad on Saturday so I can go to the wedding and reception.  I am so excited about that!

Well, the nurse just took Dad’s vitals, gave him his meds, and said we have until about midnight before they are coming back.  I think I will try to get some sleep.  It would be so nice if it really happens!  Maybe Mary Poppins will be able to shine through again with a decent night’s sleep!

God bless your day!

 

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to “In every job that must be done…

  1. grace_to_be says:

    so sorry for what you’re going through, friend. i know things like this would take the Mary Poppins out of anyone!!! sitting in a hospital and watching someone you love suffer is so so hard!!! i pray he’s better soon and you can go home.get some rest! with those nurses coming in every few hours it’s hard to get any real sleep.love.hugs.prayers.amber.

  2. Sometimes, there is just no fun to be found. And Mama? That’s okay. Truly. Sometimes there really isn’t much of a silver lining, and no flowers can grow in the rain because it’s too COLD! (Or something. Ya know. It worked in my head.) ;)Love you. Wish we could be there and bring some fun children to brighten up this long, long week!

  3. ABAHM says:

    Oh my, praying for you Nina, and your dear Daddy.  I am off to be myself, so sadly lacking in any zippidy do dah…but I know the Lord can lift you up, hold, and guide you! 

  4. redladybug18 says:

    I feel for ya and understand it’s so hard waiting for those results.  When my dad was in the hospital this spring with blood clots they wouldn’t release him until his Coumadin levels were at a certain point even though he felt fine.  It’s amazing how tired sitting in a hospital can make you. Hope he’s levels are better soon!

  5. AuntGen says:

    I didn’t know you posted this! I’m so glad Dad made it home yesterday, even if it was almost evening before they let him go!  It was really hard to stay here yesterday and leave you by yourself all day.  And, you know, Poppins would have had a much easier time coming through if you hadn’t been so set on staying nights with Daddy yourself.  It all worked out well, but some hubby time might have been had if you had been able to let me Daddy-sit more than that one night. (I know, I know.  You did it for a reason!) I love you and am glad we have him home so we can work on getting him as close to back to normal as possible. Even a new normal would be nice.

Leave a Reply

