A Good Weekend


As my pulse indicated Friday, Daddy is finally at home and doing pretty well.  He is weak and runs out of “wind” easily – I mean just walking from chair to bed usually ends up needing a rest stop – and is very uneasy about being alone, but we have high hopes of his getting stronger.  Jeanne and I try to encourage him that it will take time, be patient, but patience is not his strongest character quality. 

This is best observed in watching Daddy walk using his walker.  He barrels on ahead, leaving us all behind!  We have begun telling him that he will conserve much more energy and breath if he will slow down a bit and not get in such a hurry!  He also tends to go so fast that rather than carefully going through tight places, he bulldozes through, running into whatever is in his way!  I’m thinking either the furniture or the walker won’t be long for this world if we don’t move something!

Tonight, as Daddy went from chair to bathroom to kitchen table, I noticed he wasn’t nearly as breathless – almost faint – as he has been the past couple of days.  I was encouraged, and hope that he was encouraged as well when I pointed this out. 

This was my weekend “off”, and we had a wedding to fill the day Saturday.  We have been looking forward to this wedding for a long time, and we were definitely not disappointed!  The groom, Keith, is a dear friend whom we’ve known all his life.  We only met the beautiful bride, Karen,  this year and what a beautiful, funny, joyous young woman she is!  There is a mischievious twinkle in her eye, and you never know what’s coming up next!  She is so much fun!

I want to show you a few photos of the wedding, but they are not ready yet.  I do have Karen’s bridals, though.

001
Karen’s gorgeous dress was her Grandmother’s, and also worn by her Grandmother’s sister and Karen’s own Mother.  It was exquisite!

008

006

077

097

080

010

031

030
The back of the dress is such fun – just like Karen!

072

073

070 

Dannye gave me a teaser for the wedding pics:

098
Mr. and Mrs. Keith Herzog!

099

After the wedding, I was able to pack a little bag and go spend the night with Dannye and Bill at our house.  We had a good evening, and decided that if the bad weather that was predicted did indeed come through, we would stay home from church this morning.  We are all still recovering from the exhaustion of the past months, weeks, and days, and as much as I wanted to see my church family, I was also eager for a lazy, easy day at home!  The weather did come through, and we did enjoy a wonderful day just sitting in front of the fire in our lounging jammies and watching a little TV. 

I got home at 4:00 this afternoon to find Jeanne cooking some yummy potato soup for our supper, and Daddy was in his chair watching the football game.  Jeanne had to go home, and Daddy and I continued my lazy day theme until bedtime!  I am ready for a good night’s sleep to prepare for the work week ahead.  I am actually excited for it! 

Since my New Year was spent at the hospital with Daddy, I feel that tomorrow is my REAL New Year.  I am going back to Quick Weight Loss to get back on track with my diet.  I have gained about 7 or 8 pounds back from the 50 I lost and I absolutely will not keep it on!  I am praying I can get going easily, and that the 8 pound and more will be gone soon.  So here is my New Year’s resolution:  to get to my goal weight and keep it off all year!  There are many more things I may resolve to do, but this is uppermost on my mind because I can lose this ground so quickly!

I am off to dreamland now.  I need to get up early in the morning for work, and it is always hard for me to do!

God bless your day!

 

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A Good Weekend

  1. Thank you for the well wishes on my last post. I am felling MUCH better this morning. Between Biofreeze and Motrin I think I might make it šŸ™‚ If it flares up again, off to the doc I will go. Your wreck sounds about as scary as mine. I was hit by a tractor trailer head on. Oh my did it ever hurt!So glad your dad “seems” to be doing some better. It’s always hard to see them ill. Hopefully he will regain his strength quickly. I had to giggle when you were talking about him bulldozing through the house. When my grandpa was so sick he had full time oxygen. We would walk directly behind him moving his line so he wouldn’t trip or get hung up. He wouldn’t slow down or pay attention for nothing. Before Christmas he got tangled in their rotating Christmas tree. and it pulled so hard on his ears it bruised the. Bless his heart, we sure do miss him.The wedding pics are beautiful. She was a gorgeous bride and oh my that dress was nothing short of amazing! Hope you have a fabulous week ahead. Love and prayersAngie

  2. pettybunch says:

    @fortheloveofblogging – No, I don’t think my wreck was NEAR as bad as yours!!  I can’t imagine the fright of having a tractor-trailer heading right at me!!!!!Daddy is on oxygen, too, and we have to do the same thing for him!  I know you miss your Grandpa – I sure miss Mama!  Have a blessed day, girl. Glad your pain is some better!

  3. ABAHM says:

    Glad to hear you had a good weekend and that your daddy is improving.  He sounds like a character, and I know you are glad he is!So fun to see the bride and hear the legacy of that dress!  Hope you are all rested up now.

  4. VallejoGirl says:

    What a beautiful bride!  A very nice looking couple indeed!

  5. maryhurlbut says:

    I’m surprised Jenny didn’t mention how much this reminds me of our mom’s wedding dress. Jenny wore it when she was home coming queen in highschool….my mom removed the sleeves to make it look more like a formal 

Leave a Reply

