Another Special Weekend


I have meant to write several times, but I have been a little depressed this week.  Daddy isn’t doing as well as we hoped.  One day he seems stronger, the next he barely has strength enough to stay awake for a few minutes.  His breathing is extremely labored if he moves around at all – even sitting up – and his blood sugar is still too high.  Jeanne and I waffle in between hope and dread, and I am emotionally drained!

After Mama’s funeral, my older sister, Martha, and my sis-in-law, Greta, made plans to come from the Dallas area to visit Daddy this weekend.  His hospital stay caused a question mark about the timing, but since Dad got to come home, they decided to come on.

My oldest sister Bettye was going to come as well, but she hurt her back really badly and is in bed with pain meds.  Martha and Greta went first to see B, then came out to Daddy’s.  They stayed overnight last night.  We had such a good visit!  Daddy wasn’t feeling well, and Martha was really concerned.  He went to bed early, which he hasn’t been doing.  He even told them he was feeling bad, which is unusual for him, no matter how bad he feels!

This morning we all got up and began breakfast prep.  Martha’s daughter, Kim, and her family were on their way to see Daddy, too.  Daddy was a bit better this morning, and really looked forward to seeing Kim.  She is his FIRST granddaughter, and is truly special to him!

We had another day of wonderful fellowship together today.  Jeanne got to join us for awhile again today, so there were four of us sisters (we have always counted Greta as a sister – she’s been an Allen since she was 17!)  Kim and her hubby and children are simply precious, and we talked and laughed all afternoon!  Daddy truly enjoyed conversation with Motts about her childhood, and then he and Jo (Kim’s hubby) talked together about Joe’s work.  It was great to see Daddy engaged in conversation for even a little while!  He smiled and laughed a bit, too!

Everyone went home before Bill and Dannye Reigh got home from their day at church and visit to Bill’s Mom’s, so Dad and I had a quiet evening together.  I made him drink a Boost shake because he wouldn’t eat supper.  That’s another problem right now – he simply doesn’t want to eat.  Sooooo frustrating! 

The weather has also been dreary and drizzly here, too.  No wonder we are all depressed!  Tomorrow a break in the weather is promised, so I am hoping for the sun to shine clear through to my heart!  I need it bad!

I think I need to go to bed.  Precious hubby is already asleep, and since I have to go to work in the morning I’d better join him!

God bless your day!!!

 

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Another Special Weekend

  1. redladybug18 says:

    Aw poor girl, hopefully you’re feeling better with some rest.  It’s always amazing how a little thing like sunshine can = so much of my mood and how I’m feeling.  Hope you have a sunny day!

  2. grace_to_be says:

    i know it’s so draining having a parent that’s not doing well~ i pray the Lord will strengthen him and give you a bit of sunshine to brighten your spirits. enjoy your sisters being there… i’m sure your dad feels so loved by you all!hugs to you friend.

  3. ABAHM says:

    Continuing to think of you all and pray for you often.  I hope your daddy is doing better.  Love to you, Jenny

Leave a Reply

