Bigger room…

but fewer amenities!

Daddy is back in the hospital.  This time we all feel more hopeful…As Jeanne says, he is starting at a better place.  We took him to his doctor yesterday, and he just wasn’t “better” enough.   Dr. S suspected, and tests later indicated, low hemoglobin, heart & kidney failure, wheezing in lungs.  Dr. S asked if we wanted to go back to the hospital for another “tune-up” – 2 units of blood, which should help on all fronts – and since Daddy had told us previously that he DID NOT want to go back to the hospital, we deferred the question to him.  I can’t tell you how thankful Jeanne and I both were to hear Daddy say that he does indeed want to get better, and was willing to go back to the hospital.

There were no available beds at that time, so we were sent home until one became available.  After many hours – thankfully spent at home in our comfy chairs rather than a hospital waiting room – we were told to head to the ER.  We dreaded it, but off we went.  Knowing we were going to be arriving at the hospital around supper time, we stopped at Sonic for a bite.  Jeanne and I were excited that Daddy actually felt hungry, and ate almost half his burger and several tater tots.

When we finally got to the ER, they had a room ready for Daddy, so we were able to get settled before too long.  Daddy has been feeling well for the most part, but each time his blood sugar spikes, he sinks !  It has taken all day today to findblood in Daddy’s type, so he is just now getting the first unit of blood.  The nurse promises he will feel MUCH better when this one is done.  As I said, he has felt well most of the day, but it would be wonderful if he could consistently feel well.  We are all praying this will be so.

Now, about my lead-in to this blog…

You see, over the last number of years, we have become professional hospital-ers.  We know where to park, we know what to bring with us, and we know how to make any hospital visit a PARTAY! 

Last visit, I stayed with Daddy every night but one.  That means packing a bag with everything from jammies to snacks, and don’t forget the CASH – and I’m talking small bills or silver for the many trips to the vending machines.  Hospital cafeterias are horribly expensive, and vending machines aren’t cheap, and sooooo not good for any reasonable diet!

Now for the best thing when staying at the hospital with a loved one:

THE NOURISHMENT ROOM!!!

Yep, the free-to-patients-and-their-caregivers room full of goodies!  This is where things get tricky.  During some stays, you are blessed with a well-stocked Nourishment Room.  This means not only traditional fare like coffee, crackers, jello, and popsicles; in the BETTER Nourishment Rooms you will find graham crackers, peanut butter, hot chocolate, several flavors of soup, juices, icecream, applesauce, puddings, and during last visit, the NR had TV dinners, free for the taking!!  BTW, Jeanne and I found a new comfort food – Kozy Shack Vanilla Pudding!  Yummy!!!!

This hospital visit, Daddy is in a beautiful mid to large sized room – about twice the size of his last room!  I sleep in a chair that pulls out into a bed just wider than my hips, but at least there is enough room for the nurses and techs to get on either side of Daddy’s bed without disturbing me!  The last bathroom didn’t even have the sink inside, so I had to brush my teeth and put on my makeup out in the middle of the room!  This new room has a nice bathroom with everything behind closed doors!  Nice!

But the Nourishment Room on this wing – oh, the shame of it!!  No grahams, no peanut butter, no pudding…  About all we can find is milk, popsicles, a couple of cups of icecream, and soft drinks!  Such a sad story!!!  Not having any Kozy Shack pudding is probably a good thing for my diet, but I really miss the grahams and peanut butter.  The TV dinners were nice, too, because they were Healthy Choice and not bad at all.  Having to eat at the cafeteria is really tough on our pocketbook! 

Of course, right now, Daddy is hardly eating anything, so I get his leftovers.  He is on a heart-healthy diet, so that is nice, too.  Today they sent up stir-fry chicken, and it was really good!  The only thing I’ve seen that is NOT good from the cafeteria is the scrambled eggs – hard as little rocks!!!!  Bleh!!!!!

Well, Dad just finished his first unit of blood, and is getting prepared for the second.  His blood sugar is very high and insulin hasn’t made a dent all day, so please pray for Dr. S to have wisdom in this matter.  Dad is resting better tonight, so I need to get my bed made and join him.  This time I brought an egg crate pad to put on top of the bed, and it is definitely an improvement.  The nighttime nurse visits are many, but I don’t have to do anything for most of them except answer an occasional question.  Especially since I can’t seem to make these folks understand that Daddy is hard of hearing and legally blind.  They insist on using their quiet voices, and showing him things he can’t see!  That, my friends, is why I stay!!!

I have to leave you with a couple of photos.  The man I love and miss so much right now!

Thanksgiving3 2010  

Thanksgiving4 2010

We clean up pretty good, don’t we?

God bless your day!

 

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Bigger room…

  1. ABAHM says:

    Bless you dear heart.  So good to hear more about your staying at the hospital.  I am praying that this tune up goes well and speedily.  I know that even the difficult times become a blessing with God’s hand over you.  HUGS, Jenny

  2. AuntGen says:

    You do indeed. Love you, and am so thankful to have you with Daddy right now. I’ll see y’all tomorrow!

  3. Bettyeboop says:

    I love you so much, dear sister. I find such comfort in your writing.

  4. pettybunch says:

    @ABAHM – I had my meltdown the night before Daddy went back to the hospital.  Bill prayed with me – he said, “I wish I could fix it – let’s pray.” I said, “Well, I doubt that will fix it, but it will give me strength to go one more day!” Actually, I guess we were both right – the Lord gave me strength, and although the situation is the same, I feel like it is “fixed”!  God is so faithful!

  5. I had to chuckle a little about the food and the nourishment room – I don’t think our hospital has nourishment rooms!  Now, the vending machines and the cafeteria I know all about!  You are good about staying with your father – I didn’t do that either!  You could put up last signs telling the nurses and other staff that your father is hard of hearing and blind, in case you are not in the room.  Isn’t it usually the case that when one is not in the room is the very time the consulting doctor you have been waiting for forever finally arrives?    Praying for your father and all of you today.

  6. AuntGen says:

    @piecedtreasures – Just a note about the signs to indicate Daddy’s limitations…we’ve tried it and the nurses and techs are so accustomed to signs being posted on doors and such that they don’t even seem to see them. They are sweet and helpful, but they are so absorbed in “doing their jobs” that anything out of the ordinary is usually overlooked. We appreciate the staff so much and try to help any way we can.

  7. I’m so sorry you’re going through so many in-and-out of the hospital events with your father. 😦 I know that has to be so hard to watch.Your references to “making a hospital stay a partay” made me smile. My grandpa was in the hospital for months in a semi-comatose state and my granny never left his side — and we all sort of did exactly that. Their room was always stocked with sugary snacks and soda — like you said, not great for the diet! They did buy them all from Wal-Mart in packages, though, so that helped with the budgetary aspect. You know it’s really too bad that they don’t offer vending machine gift cards. It sounds cheesy but I know it’d be a blessing to the families caring for a hospitalized loved one to be able to receive such a gift!My prayers are with you all!

  8. Y’all always look lovely! AJ saw your picture and starting begging, BEGGING to see you. Made my mama-heart cry! She loves you two so very much.Sounds like a nourishment room is something I need HERE! πŸ™‚ So sorry the selection is nil this time around. 😦 Hopefully you’ll get to go home very shortly and have your own food again. There is such comfort in selecting the things you REALLY like.Love you all—tell Granddad that we love him and we’re praying he feels better very, very soon!

  9. redladybug18 says:

    y’all look so cute!  Glad your dad’s doing much better!

Leave a Reply

