Still Here in Room 420…


Yep, here we are.  Dr. S came by this morning and wasn’t fully satisfied with the way things went over the weekend.  Something I failed to pick up – there is a possibility I was told, but I don’t know how I could have missed it – is that Daddy ran a low-grade fever Saturday.  His temp was normal today, and I think it was yesterday, but again, I may have missed something somewhere.  At any rate, his white count is on it’s way down, and Dr. S wants to look at the labs one more time in the morning to make certain he is truly on the mend.  I do believe we will go home tomorrow, as long as nothing else comes up.  Daddy feels pretty good, and although he has lost some strength, he is tremendously better than he has been since Christmas.  He will get home PT for three weeks, too – good news for his continued recovery.

We had a very special blessing tonight.  Our nurse tonight is Carla, a beautiful lady with ebony skin and a truckload of love for Jesus!  She came in while Dave’s pastor was visiting Daddy and commented that several of her other patients talked with her about the Lord, as well.  The coolest thing followed… She began singing “Jesus Loves [You]” right to Daddy!  Oh, my goodness!  It was beautiful, filled with soul, and brought tears to all of our eyes!!!  I can’t even tell you how beautiful it was.  I hope she comes back later and sings the whole song!

Bill came tonight and brought my medicine to me.  I have hypothyroid, so I have to take medication.  A number of years ago, Bill had both of us change to porcine thyroid, or the name brand Armor Thyroid.  It made a great difference in the way I felt, but because it’s natural, it becomes quite obvious that I’m low!  Since I had hoped to be home today, I thought I could make it until we got home to take my meds.  Well, that didn’t happen, so my sweet hubby came back out – in the nasty, cold, rainy weather – and brought my medicine to me.  He stayed with us for quite a while, and it was really nice.  I’m ready to go home with my Lovey!!

Please continue to pray for Daddy, specifically that we can go home tomorrow.  He was pretty discouraged today when he realized we weren’t getting out today.  I don’t want him to get too down.  He has been encouraged a great deal by the prayers of the many who have called, come by, and sent notes via the computer.  The prayers of the saints are what stands between Daddy and despair.  Thank you all!

God bless your day!

 

 

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Still Here in Room 420…

  1. Bettyeboop says:

    Oh i wish i could have been there when she sang. What a blessing. God has a way of sending us gift in surprise packages. Isn’t He wonderful? I was in my cbair a couple of hours this morning and about four hours this eve. I actually saw TV. It feels so good when my back goes flat in tbe bed. Even reclining puts so much pressure on my lower back. No word from doc today. Give Daddy my deepest love. I pray he has a restful nigjt. Love you so much, Sis.

  2. Abbiegirl says:

    Love and prayers! your always in my Thoughts =)

  3. maryhurlbut says:

    Prayers for God’s best in your Daddy’s life

  4. Oh goodness, I haven’t been on for awhile and didn’t realize your dad was back in the hospital. I’m so sorry to hear but so glad he seems to be imporving. Prayers, Prayers and More Prayers are coming your way!Keep us updated when you can

  5. All of this is hard — right now.  But you keep seeing the good, and thanking God, and the day will come when you would give almost anything to have one more night to sleep with your daddy close by, and be able to do something for him.  When I read your blog, I keep thinking about how this is the way people live who can say good-bye with a quiet spirit because they have done what they could.  The horrible emptiness and sadness at the passing is penance done for love, and it is far better than penance done for regret — and it is worth every single minute.  I hope you can return home today — that your Daddy can be back where things are familiar and comfortable and where you can be with your husband.  I think of you often, Pettybunch.  Keep the faith.  It will be worth it all.

  6. loaine says:

    I hope you are going home today! I know time can get really long in the hospital.May God bless you for being such a loving caregiver!

  7. I am hoping and praying that he can go home today!  Jan 25th – my father, who died 7 years ago, would be 95 today!

Leave a Reply

