Home Again, Home Again, Jiggity Jig!


These were Daddy’s words as we pulled into the driveway yesterday afternoon.  It has been a mixed bag since then.  Although he seems to feel pretty good, it is as though depression hit him as he got to the house.  Jeanne puts it like this:  “Daddy just seems to give in to how he feels here at home, whereas in the hospital he was trying harder. I have seen the same thing with other older people. Their whole goal is to go home, and once there, they stop fighting. Daddy isn’t despondant, or visibly sad. He just wants to sleep a lot and wants us to do everything for him. No fight.”

Today the home health supervisor came to admit Dad into a physical therapy program.  The doctor ordered five days a week, but it may only work out for three days.  The program will last for nine weeks.  I really believe this will do as much for Dad’s outlook as it will for his body.  That’s what I’m praying for!

During the holidays, and all that went on in our lives during that time, I got off my diet and gained about 10 pounds of the 50 I had lost.  I got back on and quickly lost 5 pounds.  Well, this second hospital visit did a number on that five!!  I’ll admit that I am tempted to throw in the towel, but I just can’t go back to the way I was!  So, tomorrow I am getting back on track and get this last 20 pounds off.  I know it will be difficult to stick to it right now, because my emotions are all over the place; but again, I am determined!  (Big talk or not, I could sure use some prayer in this regard!)

Emily has been sending me precious photos and videos of my grandbabies.  I miss them so much, and lately it’s even worse than usual.  I had hoped to get up there for a visit this month, or early February, but Daddy’s illnesses have kept me home.  Arulai has been asking for Nonnie alot, and I don’t know if she can understand the circumstances, but she has been sending love, prayers and good wishes for Granddad to get better. 

If our situation doesn’t change pretty soon, I don’t know how we can go up before the new baby comes.  My projected plans for the year included 3 (possibly 4) trips – Minnesota in January, move Pam and Will from Florida to Michigan in May, back to Minnesota for the birth of Grandbaby #3, and perhaps a little getaway for our 30th wedding anniversary stuck in there somewhere. 

Bill asked me where I thought we’d get the money for all this.  I told him that the Lord wants to give me the desires of my heart, and there you have it!   Seriously, it may not be His design for us to do all this going this year, but I trust that He loves me and wants my best.  If not visits to my kids and grandkids, then something else wonderful is in His plan.  I know this for sure!

Well, I want to thank you all for listening to my ramblings.  I feel so much better now than when I began this blog.  There’s just something uplifting about writing out the truth of God’s love for “even me”!

I am so glad that our Father in Heav’n
Tells of His love in the Book He has giv’n;
Wonderful things in the Bible I see,
This is the dearest, that Jesus loves me.

Though I forget Him, and wander away,
Still He doth love me wherever I stray;
Back to His dear loving arms I do flee,
When I remember that Jesus loves me.

Oh, if there’s only one song I can sing,
When in His beauty I see the great King,
This shall my song through eternity be,
“Oh, what a wonder that Jesus loves me!”

Jesus loves me, and I know I love Him;
Love brought Him down my poor soul to redeem;
Yes, it was love made Him die on the tree;
Oh, I am certain that Jesus loves me!

If one should ask of me, how can I tell?
Glory to Jesus, I know very well!
God’s Holy Spirit with mine doth agree,
Constantly witnessing Jesus loves me.

In this assurance I find sweetest rest,
Trusting in Jesus, I know I am blessed;
Satan, dismayed, from my soul now doth flee,
When I just tell him that Jesus loves me.

I am so glad that Jesus loves me,
Jesus loves me, Jesus loves me.
I am so glad that Jesus loves me,
Jesus loves even me.

God bless your day!

 

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Home Again, Home Again, Jiggity Jig!

  1. Bettyeboop says:

    And I love you, too, sweet sister. I am so happy to hear about the nine weeks of rehab. That should do him wonders. I sent you an email about my doctor visit and it came back. Please ask Gen to forward hers. Okay?I love you.

  2. I agree with the fact that once they go home, they give up fighting!!!  The doctor told us, when my mother had been doing so great in rehab and then went home only to stay in bed and want to be taken care of, that the best day they have is the day they leave the rehab center, or, in your case, hospital.  I also agree that therapy will do as much for his spirits as it will for his body!  Don’t do what I did – I gained 55 pounds in those years of taking care of my parents!  You can do better because you are so much more motivated!  Hope your trips all work out – you deserve it!  I’ll tell God that, ok?  

  3. Abbiegirl says:

    Glad your back home! Hope to see you, and hope Em has the baby before the Wedding, so y’all Can BE There!

  4. Very glad your dad is back home. Hopefully he will be able to fight this depression off. Maybe the physical therapy will help. I don’t know how you do it. I’d be wore too a frazzle & then to diet too! Wishing you the very best on the diet btw!Keep us posted & don’t forget to take a little time to care for yourself. Your well being is so important to your dad and family right now.

Leave a Reply

