How about the 2nd floor this time?

Well, here we are, back in the hospital again!  Our first visit here this year found us on the first floor.  Our second visit, we were on the fourth floor.  This time, we are on the second floor.  I told Daddy that I’m not so sure I want to try for the third floor, so he doesn’t have to get sick again just to round out our stays! 

We took Daddy to his doctor Tuesday, and were supposed to get results from his labs this morning.  This would tell us if we needed to go to the hospital for another transfusion or not.  The doctor visit was a bit discouraging because there was basically NOTHING to do for Daddy at this time.  I was so very sad, and really had a difficult night.  Then we got word this morning that his labs were stable, basically meaning that there truly was NOTHING to be done for Daddy at this time.  I was hoping for another transfusion because he feels so much better after having one.  But it seemed not to be at this time.

When the physical therapist got there, Daddy’s blood pressure was pretty low, so the therapist just did some mild leg movements with him.  Then the home health nurse came by, and his blood pressure was even lower – dangerously low.  AND his heart rate was very high – in the 130s!  The nurse called her supervisor who had her call Dr. S, who had her call 911.  The ambulance came and on the way to the hospital the EMS attendant gave Daddy some IV fluids which brought his BP up enough that when he got to the hospital they were able to begin dealing with the high heart rate.  Daddy’s heart is in A-Fib, whatever that means, but they have been able to get it down and much more stable with medication.  He is resting as comfortably as possible with people coming in and out every 30 minutes and poking him with needles, sticking thermometers in his mouth, taking his blood pressure, and asking 40 million questions.

So, here we are.  Room 278.  And I should tell you about this room.  Oh, my goodness – what a place!  I thought our room on the fourth floor was nice – this one makes that one look like a tenement apartment!  First, this room is huge!  We have a couch that makes a single-ish sized bed, a recliner, a small table with 3 chairs, and there’s still almost room for dancing in the middle of the floor!  There’s a nice sized bathroom with a walk-in handicap shower, too. 

Now, as I’ve discussed before, there is also the Nourishment Room to be taken into account.  The first floor Nourishment Room was almost a restaurant, it was so well-stocked.  The fourth floor Nourishment Room was definitely mis-named, because if you were counting on it for nourishment, you were in a bad way!  The second floor Nourishment Room is just about in the middle of the two previous ones.  There aren’t any sugar free popsicles or icecream, although there is SF jello and pudding, cheese, milk, applesauce, and fruit cups.  There is a big variety of soups and soft drinks, as well as crackers, cereals, and hot chocolate.  One big bonus Jeanne will love is the coffee machine.  I don’t know anything about coffee, but this thing makes several kinds, including espresso.  BUT….. there are NO GRAHAM CRACKERS!  I’m hoping they restock on Thursdays, and tomorrow will bring in a new load of them.  We’ll see, though….

I’m thinking I’d better go to bed now.  There seems to be a break in the flow of nurses and techs coming in right now.  Please be praying for Daddy.  He is doing pretty well right now as far as his anxiety level, but until I see his regular doctor, I won’t know how he’s really doing.  I’m frightened, yet thankful that we are here rather than home wondering if we should be doing something.

I hope your night is restful!

God bless your day!

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to How about the 2nd floor this time?

  1. Sorry to hear that your dad (and you!) is back in the hospital!  Praying right now for him!

  2. grace_to_be says:

    aw. so sorry you’re there once again. if i were closer i’d run some ice cream up to ya! :)thinking of you and praying your dad will stabilize and be able to come home again soon. 

  3. pettybunch says:

    @grace2be – Oh, man, icecream would be great about right now!  I’m thinking we’re gonna do okay, so hoping for a short stay!

  4. Bettyeboop says:

    Matt and Marty are on their way up to see you all this morning.  They may be there by now.  I was so glad Matt was able to work it out so they could go this morning.  He must be going into work late today.  Mikey and Hay are planning to come tonight IF he gets off on time and gets home at a decent hour.  He never knows.  I am so sore today I could barely get out of bed.  ha  I have a dr appt  this afternoon and more physical therapy tomorrow.  Hope I am not so sore for that!  Tell Daddy I will call later.  Loved being able to see him last night.

  5. pettybunch says:

    @Bettyeboop – We had such a good visit with Matt and Marty – so glad we all got to be here at the same time! Dad just loved listening to us!  I hope Mike and Haleigh get to come tonight, but we sure understand how that goes!!  I’m sorry you are so sore.  I hope you can work out those kinks and get yourself going good again!  Gen went home, Bill and Dave aren’t able to come up tonight, so it’s just me and Daddy!  And if he doesn’t eat his supper, I’M going to eat it!!!!!

  6. Bless your heart, another night in the hospital. I know you must be worn to a frazzle. I’m so sorry your dad is still not doing well. He’s been through so much & he must be exhausted too. I hope the doctor has better news for you when you meet with him. For now, try to rest & try to get your dad to rest as much as possible. I know hospitals are NOT a place to go if you need rest. Keep us updated and know my thoughts and prayers are with you, your dad and the rest of your family.

  7. redladybug18 says:

    I hope your dad gets to feeling better and your time there is short 

  8. Bettyeboop says:

    I am so sorry I did not call you. I have had a rough day. Already so sore, went to see Dr. K and was on my poor feet so much. By the tim I got home I put on jammies and collapsed in my chair. Mikey called and they found their oldest cat (20+) dead in her carrier.ikey said she appeared to have crawled in and passed. Poor Hay found her and simply lost it. I think she was crying for more than Cali. Bless her heart. Kami is their other cat and he is 19+ so they have another time to go through this. Dr visit was pretty good. Sodium level “awful”, whatever that means, sugar just a bit high, hemoglobin little low. Took me off rest of my bp meds and took blood and I go back next week. He said maybe he can approve me for surgery then. We’ll see. Love you.

Leave a Reply

