Update on Dad, and Pics by Dannye Reigh


I’m really beat tonight, so this will be a pretty quick update. 

This morning both Dr. S, Daddy’s PCP, and a cardiologist, Dr. P came in for a visit. Enzyme tests showed damage to Dad’s heart, possibly indicating a mild heart attack, so cardiologist is working with meds to try to prevent further damage. Daddy’s heart rate has indeed gone down to a much better rate, and has become pretty stable.  The cardiologist basically said that there are some treatments indicated by Dad’s condition that we can do, and some things that are too risky, given the other issues Daddy has.  Dr. S concurred, and said they are pretty much going to observe Daddy for a couple of days and tweak his meds as needed.  They have begun giving him Digoxin, and so far there hasn’t been much “tweaking” necessary. 

Daddy hasn’t really slept much since we got here yesterday, so I am thankful he was able to nap a bit this afternoon/evening. We had a pretty quiet, calm day with the exception of an anxious moment when he wasn’t feeling right, but couldn’t tell what was wrong. All monitors said all was/is well, though, and after about 15 – 20 minutes, he fell asleep and seemed fine.

Daddy’s favorite phrase nowadays is, “In a minute!”  He’s especially bad about that when it’s time to eat.  When the evening meal came, Daddy was REALLY not ready to eat, so it was about 7:30 when I finally made him sit up and eat.  For the past several weeks, he has experience a lot of reflux, so I told Daddy that he had to sit in the recliner here in the room for a little bit to let his dinner settle.  BTW, he ate really well!  So,  Daddy sat in the room recliner for about an hour!  It was really encouraging.  He’s back in bed now, but he’s doing well, and seemed to enjoyed sitting up for awhile.  It really has been a good day, although I am beat to the socks!  As soon as I hit “Save Changes” I am crawling into the very nice couch bed to try to sleep between nurse visits!

BUT FIRST……….

I may have mentioned it before, but at the end of this school year, Dannye’s nanny-ing job will be finished.  She has been working for the same family for nearly 8 years keeping 2 precious boys.  The oldest will be 8 this year, and the “baby” just turned 5.  Our baby Parker will be starting school in the fall.  The boys’ Mama is a school teacher, and as such she will be able to keep the boys after school.  Therefore, Dannye will be out of a job as soon as school is out and Mama is home for the summer. 

So, what’s a girl to do?  Well, our girl has been very busy lately building up her photography skills and exposure.  Dan’s specialty has always been children and babies, although I truly believe she is really good with Teens, wedding candids and posed shots, and has just begun dabbling in landscapes, etc.  I just wanted to show you some samples of her latest work, of which I am especially proud!

Baby Jenna

Jenna 2

Jenna 3

Jenna 1

Baby Natalie

Natalie 1

Natalie 3

Natalie 2

Natalie 4

God bless your day!

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Update on Dad, and Pics by Dannye Reigh

  1. Nice work, Dannye! I think I particularly love the last one — I’m sure the family adored it too!I’m so sorry you’re enduring yet another hospital stay. I know that gets so old so fast!

  2. pettybunch says:

    @PrincessOfSeptember – This precious baby’s Daddy just left recently for another deployment, this time to Afghanistan, I believe.  I know this pic must be precious to him!

  3. @pettybunch – Wow! *sigh* I know so many military families and they get such respect from me. Their strength truly amazes me.

  4. ABAHM says:

    I am sorry to hear you and Daddy are in the hospital again, but happy to hear he seems to be adjusting well to meds and all.  Hope you are back home swiftly.  I especially like that last picture…so sweet.

  5. My favorite is Baby Natalie in the basket with the afghan!  Saying a prayer for you all right now, dear friend!

  6. redladybug18 says:

    I hope you’re able to get some nice rest in tonight.  I know how being there and being woken up every little bit can make you so tired.  wow love those pictures!    So cute and she’s doing great on her photography!

  7. Praying for your Daddy! The pics are absolutely adorable!!

  8. So good to hear your dad sit up a bit today. It’s funny how reflux seems to affect them when they are sick. My grandpa had very bad reflux when he was so sick.and my grandma has been suffering with stomach issues for the past few weeks. Like you were saying, the doc said he really needed to run some tests on her but the risks were just too high. It seems like everything starts stacking against them all at once. Hopefully they will get your dad’s meds adjusted and that will really make a difference in him at least for a bit. Try and get some rest tonight. I don’t know how you keep going, you must be so exhausted.I wouldn’t worry too much about your girl having a job. With photography skills like that she won’t be out of work long. Those pics are absolutely amazing. She really is talented :)Try & have a good weekend friend….Love and Prayers!!!

  9. AuntGen says:

    I hadn’t seen this post, but you’ve already told me all this news. I’m sitting here with Dad, lights out but he’s wide awake. He’s asking for a pain pill because his hip is hurting. I don’t know if y’all have had this discussion before, but I’ll ask the nurse. I want to ask you, but am hoping you are asleep! Glad you are having a night off with the fam. Love and see you tomorrow!P.S. I like the pic of Natalie in the afgan and the first one of Jenna the best. Dan is going to be sooo busy!

  10. AuntGen says:

    Wait, I like the one of Natalie and Lindsey best. I forgot you included it!

  11. Bettyeboop says:

    Off subject but talked to Matt while ago re Jake’s shoot. Marty had told me about yall’s conversation at hospitsl. Well matt called Jake from here and they talked about next Sunday so long as he can get to work by 5. Now Matt is supposed to get this info to Dan. Shame on me but I know my son. I hope he makes a liar out of me and contacts yall tomorrow. I am supposed to be bowed out. So I am going to text you Jake’ phone number and I am done. Promise. Ha

Leave a Reply

