It Looks Like Spring!


I really need to update, but my heart isn’t in it!  Although Daddy is doing quite well physically (again, for a 90 year old man with congestive heart failure) he has been very depressed lately.  He was much better yesterday afternoon – engaged in conversation with Jeanne and I, and even told a story or two – but we’re not sure if that was a one-time thing, or if he’s on the upswing.  I do believe that our cry for prayer was answered, and the Lord gave Daddy a bit of sunshine outside and in his heart yesterday!

Daddy’s depression has me a bit down, too.  As you saw in my last post, I’ve been missing my grandbabies so very much!  As I drove to work in the beautiful Spring-like morning, I began thinking how much Emily would LOVE this weather we are having right now – sunny, upper 40s to lower 70s for temps, grass and flower buds beginning to pop out.  Emily LOVED our Texas Springtime!  I had to turn on Dr. Tony Evans’ message to get my mind off my Emily just to avoid smearing my makeup with tears!!

THEN, one of my Xanga friends posted about signing up her little boy for T-ball, and by the time I finished commenting on her post about how much I LOVED doing baseball with Nathanael, I was in tears again!  Man, oh man – this has to stop!

So, I’m going to show you some photos Dannye Reigh recently took of my Daddy’s peach trees.   

Peach Tree 5

 Peach Tree 1  Peach Tree 2

Peach Tree 3  Peach Tree 4

Peach Tree 6

 Spring is coming, and something about Spring brings joy to my heart!  “Newness of Life” – that must be it!  Reminders all around of what Jesus does for every one of us who believe on Him!  How good of Him to set those markers all around for us to see!

God bless your day!

 

 

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to It Looks Like Spring!

  1. Bettyeboop says:

    Well, it makes me sad to read that you are sad.  See how this stuff spreads?  I know how much you miss your kids and grandkids.  I start pining for mine when we are at the river and that is only 3 1/2 hours away.  And I know what a hunk of your life memories with Nate include baseball in one form or another.  I am looking forward to seeing Adam’s first game next Tuesday.  I wish you could come but I know it is about impossible for you to get away that time of the day.  Call your babies and talk to everyone.  Hopefully that will help a little.  I love you, Sis.

  2. leasejw says:

    I’m sorry you’re feeling blue. I’ll pray right now that God brings you encouragement and hope.

  3. pettybunch says:

    @Bettyeboop – “Call your babies and talk to everyone.  Hopefully that will help a little.”  It’s funny you said that – right after I posted, Emily sent me a wonderful video of them at a winter flower show!  It was wonderful to see her enjoying the flowers (her favorite flower is the stargazer lily) and to see Bo trying to get Arulai to touch the fish in the pond!  God is good like that! 

  4. AuntGen says:

    I’m hoping for a trend, but it doesn’t look promising. Dad’s really feeling like a burden, and nothing I say eases his mind. This so hard for him…  We will just have to keep trying to engage him. He did talk with me about the news a bit today. I know you miss your babies and your kids, and the emotions that flood our hearts right now make the longings more acute. I wish I could make it easier for you, but I rest in the assurance that these “polka-dotted trials” are working perserverence and Christ-likeness. Love you.

  5. VallejoGirl says:

    Such pretty pictures!  Do love the colors.  Hope your father continues to get stronger…health and mind.  Major illnesses do a number on the elderly.  Keeping your family in my prayers.

  6. Sometimes at this stage of life, the best thing we can do is to bring as much laughter into their lives as we can, cherish the moments, and think in terms of “looking back on this day, what will I remember and what can I do that will make it memorable”  I am sure that your daddy must be grieving the loss of his wife and must be thinking about the passing, and what it was like for her and what it will be like for him.  Even when our parents are ready, love the LORD and KNOW they are going to Heaven, it is still the last stronghold of Satan, and it is an unknown, and it takes courage and faith to walk these days with confidence and joy.  I’m hoping the days will be so alive with glory that you will all feel the presence of God and know that He walks these dark days with you.  

  7. pettybunch says:

    @Buckeyegirlie – Thank you for your wise words, and your sweet understanding.  You are a blessing to me.

  8. Aww, I’m sorry my post about T-Ball made you sad! I will have to take some video of him practicing and share perhaps.It is so hard to miss your family. I actually thought about you all just today. I thought about seeing Emily once long ago blog about meeting Nate and her relaying part of their love story. I thought of how I want my children to have Christian educational opportunities, not just at home and around here, and how that may cause them to meet someone who doesn’t live locally and take them far away.Have you had the opportunity to Skype with them? You may already be a Skype expert but one of my dear friends’ daughters and three grandchildren just moved to Indiana and Skype is their best friend these days! If you don’t have a webcam they aren’t terribly expensive anymore. And some smartphones will even Skype! I can video chat with my sister while she’s at her computer and I’m on my phone!

  9. pettybunch says:

    @PrincessOfSeptember – Bill is really interested in getting Skype.  I know it would be fun, but thinking about it kinda makes me sad – so close, yet so far away!  But I would love to see what Arulai would think about it – I bet it would be a hoot!

  10. Oh sweetie, I’m sorry you are struggling. I can’t imagine how hard it must be to see your daddy so sad. I know just watching my grandma breaks my heart. I just can’t imagine how you and my mom do it when it is your own parent. I’m still praying for you, your sister and your sweet daddy.Hopefully the upcoming Spring season will give you some cheer. The wintertime is notorious for giving me the blues!Much love to you and yours. Hope you have a good weekend

Leave a Reply

