Keep on the Sunny Side….


I’m sitting up in my bed on this cool morning, listening to Second Chapter of Acts sing “O For a Thousand Tongues to Sing,” and watching the clock for the time to go wake up Daddy.  It’s nearly time, but I’ve been looking at this blank page for 15 minutes wondering what I’m going to say this morning. 

Most of the time I have no problem talking or writing.  If I just start typing, the words begin to flow and off we go!  This morning, though, I am determined to avoid the depressing, and concentrate on the many great things going on in my life!  And there are many great things.  I just have to cut through this heavy cloud that’s been hanging over me in order to see them!  So…..SCALPEL!

 I realize I am mixing my metaphors here, but we all know that the “cloud” I’m dealing with has another name – my FLESH.  (Definition of the FLESH by John Piper –  “the flesh” is the old self-reliant, faithless me)  So, a scalpel is the necessary tool here!

Okay, so first great thing that comes to mind is actually an activity.  This Tuesday, Bill and Dannye are signed up for a Sandy Puc “Power of Passion Tour” workshop/seminar.  Sandy Puc is a “nationally acclaimed photographer and businesswoman who shares her wisdom and techniques with photographers at all stages of their careers by traveling and lecturing nationally and internationally at seminars and schools.”  Bill and Dan attended one of her seminars last year, and were so impressed, not only with her expertise as a photographer, but also with her helps and encouragement in the business side of the photography field. 

Bill has wished I could have attended that last seminar so much because I handle the majority of the business side of Petty Family Photography.  When this year’s tour came up, none of us even thought about me going.  We purchased Bill and Dan each a ticket, and they made arrangements to pick up a couple of photographer friends, and everything was set.  Until last week when Bill mentioned that the seminar is on a Tuesday night.  My wheels began turning…. Tuesday and Wednesday are my brother Dave’s days off.  I wonder….

Sure enough, Dave is more than willing and able to come over to sit with Daddy so I can go the the seminar with my family!  I am truly more excited than I can say!  I’ve been trying to find things to stretch my brain a little bit lately, and this will definitely be a stretch for my lazy mind!  I will have to put my ears and brain into high gear in order to take in as much as possible! 

We are really working on our business, in part because it will soon be Dannye’s only source of income, but we are also hoping that one day Petty Family Photography will provide income for after Bill and I both retire.  So we need to get busy!  The Lord has been sending more and more photography opportunities our way, and I believe He will make the business successful.

Now, on to the next great thing – Family Day.  Yes, we’ve been having Family Days for more years than I can remember; but we’ve recently had a new addition to our Tuesdays.  My sister, Bettye, her hubby Scooter, and my nephew Marty (the daddy of my precious godchildren) have been joining us on Tuesdays!  We have just LOVED it!  Bettye is almost like another mother to me – her firstborn and I are just a day apart in age – so having her around more has been like ointment on my hurting heart! 

Scooter is a very quiet man, but something I’ve noticed about him is how loving he is to my Daddy.  Tears spring to my eyes even now as I mentally picture him shaking Daddy’s hand while giving him precious words of love and comfort.  Sweet, sweet man!

Marty (or as we “kids” always called him – Marney) has probably been as much or maybe even more of a blessing to me on these Tuesday visits.  Marty is so enthusiastic about our time together.  He makes us all remember what a gift we have in our family.  He loves us, enjoys our simple day, and brags on our food!  Marty is a musician, and I am hoping when the days are milder, we can sit on the porch and sing with Marty’s guitar accompanying us.  It makes me happy just thinking about it.  Marty indulges my love of sappy folk tunes!  Marty also very much reminds Jeanne and I of our brother David, and Dave hasn’t been able to attend Family Day much here lately, as he has had other important irons in the fire.  Okay, now I’m ready for Family Day!  This week we are having ham, Au Gratin (or scalloped, can’t remember which) potatoes, salad, and some wonderful dessert!  Y’all come!

Well, I’d better got off here.  I’ve already gotten up and tested Daddy’s blood sugar, but I know he will be ready to stir soon.  I think I’ve at least begun putting my thoughts on the “sunny side of life” and I am ready to face the week!

Sunrise Florida

God bless your day!

 

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Keep on the Sunny Side….

  1. Bettyeboop says:

    We are loving getting to be at Family Day also.  I am going to miss it this summer!  I just love getting to have some quality visiting time.  As you know, we NEVER have enough of that.  What made me happiest with Marty is that he is the one who said what I was trying to get enough nerve to say, that we should come out there every week.  It was so much easier to simply agree with him than to broach it myself.  ha  Scooter has been wonderful about it.  I was just being a big chicken about bringing it up.  My husband is so much more than I give him credit for most of the time.

  2. Dannye_Reigh says:

    Grab your coat and get your hatLeave your worry on the doorstepJust direct your feetTo the sunny side of the streetCan’t you hear a pitter-patAnd that happy tune is your stepLife can be so sweetOn the sunny side of the streetI used to walk in the shadeWith those blues on paradeBut now I’m not afraidThis rover crossed overIf I’d never have a centI’d be rich as RockefellerGoing to set my feetOn the sunny side of the streetOne of my all time faves!  And I love you!

  3. pettybunch says:

    @Bettyeboop – I’ve tried not to think about Summer!@Dannye_Reigh – I love this song, and I love you, too!

  4. Sometimes it’s downright hard to see the sunny side, but I find that literally counting my blessings like you’ve done here just about always steadies and refocuses my frame of mind!I hope your week is lovely! BTW I saw that you got pulled into Facebook! It’s very different from xanga but also faster and easier to connect with family realtime. I hope you’re enjoying it!

  5. pettybunch says:

    @PrincessOfSeptember – Yes, I got on FB so I could keep up with Bill and Dan, plus keep my non-Xanga family updated on Dad, but no, I don’t like it much.  I have been having a good time today because Dannye and I have been chatting.  I just have too many words for FB!  I truly find it pretty shallow.  I am only friends with my kids and siblings, with a couple of nephews thrown in, so I only have 14 friends!  Give me my Xanga any old day!!

  6. ABAHM says:

    Lord bless you, and bless your week!  

  7. Kunkel_Daze says:

    Of course I’m willing to stay with Dad. You and Gen do so much for him and I do so little, I already feel guilty for not doing my share. It’s the least I can do to give you an evening off. I miss Family Day soooo much! Like our Dad, Family Day is a symbol of stability, safety and security. I am terribly insecure when it comes to change, and when I stopped coming on Tuesdays, I was a mess. Daddy has always been the Icon of stability in my life. I know that Jesus should be in that position, but I am human, and I haven’t been able to turn that over to Him yet, try as I might. I am weak. And as we talked about while waiting in the ER the other day, Dad has always been so strong, nothing could break him or shake him! To see him so weak is very hard for me. However, I anxiously look forward to the day when I can once more routinely attend Familoy Day. To shoot bows and arrows with Gen and Dan and whoever else decides to join us. To grumble because Gen wants to rake up every leaf and stick on the place. To cook steaks or chicken or deep fry a turkey for yummy lunch. To sit on the porch and sing praises to the Lord!Well, if I go on, I could go ahead write a blog of my own. Hmmm, maybe…Love y’all,Dave

  8. pettybunch says:

    @Kunkel_Daze – You commented!  Yay!!!!  But no guilt – you do what you can do!  As I say, you have bunches of important irons in the fire – a full time job and home building especially!  And I think all of us have those feelings about our Daddy!  That’s the hardest part of this phase of life!Love you, Dave – no mistaking that!  I miss you being at Family Day, and can’t wait for that time to come around again!  Maybe I’ll be like Dan was when Bill was doing tractor work and pray for rain so you can’t work that day!

  9. AuntGen says:

    Where is the “like” button?!!!  I’m so glad you, Bill,and Dan are going to be able to go to this workshop as a team. It will abe good for you, and may be a boon to the business!  I miss Dave on family day, too, but like you, understand why he’s not een able to attend. I have really enjoyed having our south county family join us lately, and, like you, refuse to think about summer, when they won’t be able to be here. Daddy’s growing stronger, and so it may be that soon, he will begin to take interest in the festivities more. In the mean time, I’m praying for you, that your sunny side will be “up” more often.

Leave a Reply

