Daily Miracles


Daddy has now been out of the hospital over a week and a half.  I don’t know how all Daddy’s ills are connected, but whatever they fixed this last visit has made an unbelievable difference in every aspect of Daddy’s health!  At first, the mental/emotional side was slow to follow the improvement of the physical side, but now we are seeing daily improvement in this area, too!  These are some of mine and Jeanne’s Facebook updates since we came home.  As you read these bullets, you can see the progression of Daddy’s improvement:

  • Dad and I are enjoying our evening at home, watching a couple of wonderful church services. He really enjoyed Dr. Adrian Rogers, who has a good, loud preaching style. We’re loving being back home!
  • Dad’s not very energetic today. Can’t seem to stay awake at all!
  • Dad’s Home Health nurse came by to re-evaluate after his hospital stay. He still seems down, but is doing fairly well physically.  
  • Dad really did seem glum today, but I’ll try to work on it tomorrow. I think a good night’s rest might give him a better start in the morning. Even having company didn’t cheer him up as much as usual.
  • Fixin’ to go wake up my daddy… Please pray that he can have some joy today. I’m going to try to turn both our eyes upon Jesus, something I haven’t been faithful to do lately.
  • Please pray for Daddy. He is feeling deeply his growing dependence on his daughters tonight. His heart is hurting, and so is mine.
  • Daddy’s doing pretty well today. Home health nurse came & His bp and heart rate were kind’a low. He had a shower this p.m. and is worn out, but didn’t need quite as much assistance as usual. This actually seems to be a bit of a trend, as he seems to hold up to the exertion a little better each time. Progress is slow, but I do think I see progress.
  • After sleeping most of the day, Dad was alert enough to watch the news and guess several answers on Family Feud. He was also interested in Bill’s efforts to stop water and toilet leaks. I was thankful he perked up, even if it was just a little bit.
  • Jeanne and I had a wonderfully pleasant afternoon with Daddy! I believe the Lord answered our plea for a lift of depression. He smiled, chuckled, and told a couple of stories! The depression may come again, but right now I am basking in the joy of seeing my Daddy smile!
  • Daddy’s long time friend Dora just called and chatted with him. He was really blessed! Didn’t talk long, but it was nice.
  • Gotta start supper – Dad is hungry! Spaghetti with salad is the menu – not his favorite, but he eats it pretty good if I don’t give it to him very often!
  • Gotta get Daddy to bed – and he dreads going. I pray every night with him and ask the Lord to give him peace in his heart. It’s just the going back there…
  •  He did ok – asked if we’d prayed yet. He squeezes my hand as I pray, and truly makes me glad I am there – no matter how rough or boring the days are!
  • Post hospital doctor visit today. Dr. S was about as excited as we have been as we see small but steady improvement in Daddy each day. He did some bloodwork, and if it comes back with no surprises, we get to go 2 weeks before his next check! Praise the Lord for answering our prayers!

And these are today’s statuses from Jeanne:

  • Woke Daddy at 8:30 and told him I’d come wake him again in a little while so he could be up and dressed before the nurse came. A little before 9:00 I heard his light come on, and a few minutes later, he came walking into the living room, dressed and ready to face the day! Ate a good breakfast, too. “The LORD is merciful and gracious, slow to anger and abounding in steadfast love.”
  • Daddy quote: We were discussing the age of my Opie cat and I reminded him of the birth of a friend’s baby YEARS ago and told him Opie is the same age as that baby. He was quiet for a second, then said, “Tempus Fugit”. I was clueless, so he added, “…time flies…”
  • Two therapy sessions, two breathing treatments, and two meals down. Dad didn’t eat much for lunch, but he agreed to try leftovers from our family day meal and enjoyed the few bites he ate. He asked me to cut his ham for him, then said, “Oh, I’ll see if I can do it.” And he did. Little things mean a lot.

We are truly thankful for our doctors, and the care he received at the hospital and from the home health staff.  We cannot fail, though, to recognize and proclaim the power and blessing from the Lord in Daddy’s life!  He and I pray together every night, and I know he would call me back if I forgot to thank the Lord for His graciousness to us!

Our greatest prayer now is that Daddy’s fears can be eased.  He is still quite afraid to be left alone, and much of the time wants his companion to be either me or Jeanne.  I don’t know if he is afraid others wouldn’t know what to do in case of an emergency, or if we’re just what he’s used to.  Another fear he seems to have is that we are going to leave him if he gets “better enough”.  Jeanne and I both try to continually reinforce that we are here for the duration, that we won’t leave him alone even for a minute if he doesn’t feel comfortable with it.  I don’t know what’s going on in his mind, but hopefully we can reassure him that he’s stuck with us!  That is another prayer I have when Daddy and I pray at night – that the Lord will remove all fears from Daddy’s heart, and will cause Daddy to feel His presence always.

********************************************

 Bill brought home a treadmill awhile back – someone at work was throwing it away, and Bill Petty can’t stand that!  It works, but it has an automatic incline motor that is broken, so it is stuck at a pretty high incline.  I walked on it for less than 5 minutes and my knees were killing me!  I do have pretty bad knees, but I can walk a pretty good distance on flat ground!  Hopefully Bill can either fix the motor, or lower the incline.  Jeanne and I would love to be able to walk, and not being able to leave Daddy means we must exercise in here with him.  So the treadmill will be a great answer – if I don’t have to walk uphill the entire time!

Well, I need to give Daddy a breathing treatment and do another round of exercises.  He doesn’t like it, but he’s pretty good about doing them. Thank you all for your prayers – God is hearing, and showing us His grace and mercy!

God bless your day!

 

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Daily Miracles

  1. redladybug18 says:

    yay for some improvement!  Keep hanging in there. 🙂  Hugs!

  2. AuntGen says:

    You are right. It helps to see all these updates together and I’m so glad you posted them!  I have begun praying with Daddy more ~ before meals, of course and even before exercises. He answered enthusiastically when I asked if I could before his therapy today because he is leaning so hard on those Everlasting Arms.As for the treadmill, I don’t know if I have those “Allen knees” or not, but in any case I’ll have to start out in “granny gear”.  After being almost sedentary for so many months, I’m looking forward to being a little more active but have a feeling the progress will be gradual.

  3. WOW..I’m so happy for you all & your daddy. It must be so awesome to see him have good days. It’s funny how their biggest fear at that age is being alone. I watched my grandpa fear the same thing and both my grandmas do. My grandpa that just passed always said he did not want to die by himself. No matter who was in that room, he was never alone. The lord was with him. I think just having your loved ones there makes the process of being ill or passing so much less scary to think of. Your dad really does seem to be making awesome improvements. I love that he cut his own ham! Blessing to you and him for the weekend. Hope it is an awesome one. Don’t walk too much on that treadmill, you will waste away to nothing!

  4. pettybunch says:

    @redladybug18 – Thank you, Gabrielle!  These days have sure been an encouragement to keep hanging in there!@AuntGen – Granny gear for me, too, but I know gradual is better than no progress at all!@fortheloveofblogging – I think you’re right about older folks not wanting to die alone – I can only imagine how that must feel.  Oh, and don’t worry about me wasting away – my appetite is much healthier than it ought to be!

  5. ABAHM says:

    So good to read this list of updates.  One can see progress, and it reminded me again to pray for JOY for all of you!  

  6. grace_to_be says:

    glad to hear your dad is doing better~again, just so blessed by your commitment to him.and hoping that treadmill got fixed and you’re NOT walking uphill every day. :)love you

Leave a Reply

