Roller Coaster Ride


Last weekend was my weekend “off”, and it was a busy one.  Saturday, Bill and Dannye Reigh had been asked to photograph a Right to Life Banquet in our area by our dear friends, the Herzogs.  I was also invited, and we had a wonderful, albeit convicting time! 

MCRTL (Dads) 189
Bill caught Dan and I at our table where Bill and Dan had displayed pics of many of the babies we’ve photographed. 

I had the privilege of hearing several pro-life speakers – one of our Congressmen, Kevin Brady, Ex-Planned Parenthood Director Abbie Johnson, as well as Elisabeth McClung, the young lady most influential in helping her change her heart. 

MCRTL (Dads) 159
Abby signing her book, “Unplanned”

MCRTL 340
Elisabeth, encouraging us to come, stand, and pray

MCRTL 365
The crowd’s appreciation

MCRTL 359

MCRTL 503
 She is a lovely, and VERY PERSISTENT, young woman!

The latter two are both persuasive speakers, and while I have always been pro-life, I had gradually grown apathetic.  I was truly thankful for the vivid reminder of this horrific LEGAL practice, and learn some practical ways to help the Pro-Life effort.

Sunday of last weekend was my turn to go to church, and what an amazing blessing that was!  By the end of the day, four had come to Christ!  Such a JOY to see the Lord working in the life of our church!

Sunday evening when I got home I noticed Daddy had a bit of a rattle in his chest.  Jeanne and I discussed it and thought perhaps the breathing therapy might be loosening the congestion deep in his lungs.  By Tuesday, though, we were realizing that Daddy was ill.  Possibly a cold, or bronchitis, or even allergies since the pollen is flying in abundance!  Jeanne called the doctor, who called out an antibiotic right away. 

I wish I could say that Daddy is now on the mend.  Not so!  He just isn’t getting any better at all, has lost his appetite completely, and is having what seems to be occasional hallucinations.  So frustrating!  He knows it’s happening, and it’s very aggravating to him. 

Jeanne had the opportunity to go away with her hubby this weekend, it being my weekend to stay with Daddy.  We’re getting pretty good at this every other weekend thing.  When Mama was living we never could get our schedules down. Now we can even make future plans according to our schedule, and make trades when necessary.

Well, anyway, back to Daddy. Jeanne and I have decided to take him to the doctor tomorrow.  I hate it for him because it takes so much energy to go to town.  Taking the wheelchair will help, but it still makes for a long day.

This illness has been a difficult one to accept.  Daddy was doing so much better, and now we feel like we are once again on a roller coaster ride!  Please pray with us that Daddy can get some relief from the coughing and congestion.  And especially the mental issues – they are so distressing to him!

God bless your day!

 

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Roller Coaster Ride

  1. Your pro-life meeting sounds inspiring.  I am so glad that a birth mom chose life for our oldest daughter and that God brought her to our house.  I’m so glad that our grandbaby’s birth mom chose our oldest daughter and her husband to be the parents of her unborn baby  and that this little girl became our very own.  I hate to think of our lives without her.And about your Daddy — I am so sorry that things have been on the downhill for him — because that always translates into being on the downhill for all of you.  It sounds serious, though, Nina, and I hope that you have some answers tomorrow.  May God give you wisdom and courage and peace.Thanks so much for your kind comments on my post.  It is a blessing to me to have a friend who truly understands how I feel about my faraway children.  May God give you what you need for “long distance parenting of adult children.”

  2. redladybug18 says:

    You guys did a great job documenting the story of your pro-life banquet.  some of those shots I wouldn’t have thought to get.  Hope it’s nothing too bad with your dad and they’re able to get him fixed up easily so he’s feeling better

  3. pettybunch says:

    @Buckeyegirlie – Thank you for your encouragement and prayers.  What a testimony for life your family is!  Praise the Lord! 

  4. VallejoGirl says:

    Keeping you, your daddy and family in my prayers. 

  5. Abbiegirl says:

         Ohmygosh, When Chris was here he baught my mom and I the book “Unplanned” I’m a HUGE fan of Abby Johnson’s I heard her story right after she left Planned Parenthood, and It’s so amazing you actually got to MEET HER! Wow, I hope she come’s this way, It’s my dream she heads this way for all her pro-life work! 

  6. Bettyeboop says:

    I anxiously hearing the news after today’s doctor visit. Your weekend sounds so great and fulfilling and I hate that it endex with Daddy being sick. I pray there is something Dr. S can do to make him feel better. I hope he is able to have his visit from Motts and G!

  7. ABAHM says:

    Praying for all of you and for your Daddy.  It is so difficult to have these reactions when trying to make him well.  May the Lord hold you up and give you and the Doctors wisdom.  Beautiful pic of you and Dannye…you can sure see the resemblance…two beautiful ladies.  Sounds like a wonderfully informative time.  I am thankful for those who speak out and educate in the pro-life movement.

Leave a Reply

