I stand in amazement of God’s great love for us!


 One of my greatest prayers is that Daddy’s family, especially my out of town kids, will get to see him while he is still aware.  It has been difficult to see Daddy slipping away, knowing how much Nathanael, Emily, Pamela, and Will long to see him one more time before he’s gone. 

Well, I am witnessing the Lord answer prayer after prayer.

Later last week, Daddy began having hallucenations and bad dreams again, and he’s not on any new meds.  We have learned that this is a common symptom of late stage CHF.  Well, yesterday Daddy got more & more alert as the day wore on.  One of his dear nephews and wife came for a visit – such a good visit, too – and Daddy conversed very well with them.  Then, we watched the Red Sox vs. the Twins, and after the Twins came back from an 8 – 2 deficit and won, Daddy had me call Nathanael so he could talk to him about it! He used the remote (expertly) to surf his news stations. He was conversing with me about several different subjects, some long ago, and some current events.

Last night Daddy had bad dreams and hallucenations again.  I was up most of the night, which of course means my poor hubby was awake, too; anyway, Daddy was talking very plainly almost as though he were being interviewed!  After a couple of hours of getting up and down, I decided I’d better give him some medicine to help him relax. 

This morning he had a really difficult time waking up – it actually freaked Jeanne and me out – but the moment my sister Martha came to his bed, he brightened up and began to climb out of his grogginess.  Today, all of Daddy’s children and many of his grandchildren were here for a visit.  When each one came in, he recognized them and even asked relevant questions.  He ate really well, and had such a fun day!  He was still talking about the great day as he went to sleep tonight!

Daddy is not getting well.  Some of his symptoms are intensifying.  What I see is my precious Heavenly Father lovingly answering the prayers of His children.  And I stand amazed!

God bless your day!

 

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to I stand in amazement of God’s great love for us!

  1. loaine says:

    May God fill you with strength and peace as you continue to care for your Daddy!

  2. grace_to_be says:

    so glad he got to see his children/ grandchildren and have that time.. i know this season of life is so hard right now. not wanting to lose him, but wanting him out of pain, with his Father, whole and well. continuing to think of you w/ it all. i’ve so admired your attitude and love in caring for him. {{hugs}} to you today friend. 

  3. I can’t tell you how grateful I am so know that he is being so sustained by the Father! This time with his kids, grandkids & very shortly with his little great-grands is so precious, and something we will all treasure forever. 

  4. leasejw says:

    What sweet answers to your prayer.

  5. Bettyeboop says:

    Yesterday was wonderful in so many ways.  It was thrilling to see Dad’s reaction to each grandchild and great-grandchild as they arrived.  He talked about things with and about them that amazed me.  He truly loves every one of his great-grandchildren as much as he does his children and grandchildren.  I was blessed to have him talk with Martha and I about when he and our mother married so many years ago.  He still remembers that time so clearly and told us the name of the minister who married them and even the friend who took them to be married in his car.  Since our mom has advanced AZ it was wonderful to hear Dad fill in some of the missing info.  I know it was a lot for you and Jeanne to have to deal with but I loved having so many there to show Dad how much we love him while he is still here to bask in that love. 

  6. Randy7777 says:

    God is so good and loves to answer our prayers.

  7. pettybunch says:

    @Bettyeboop – My goodness, no it wasn’t too much for us!  We were so blessed to have everyone, and to see Daddy interact with his family.  I was so touched to hear him telling you and Motts of your mother and their marriage.  I am so thankful for these multitude of answered prayers!

Leave a Reply

