A Good Friday!


Today, Jeanne and I were finally able to be here at the house at the same time and actually get some things accomplished.  I was off work, so we made the plan and it happened!  We worked in the living room – my folks have stuff stuck in every nook, cranny, drawer and cabinet in the house – and Jeanne and I went through it all!  Bill had suggested we put up tables and set out everything we need others to go through and/or will end up in the estate/garage sale.  So we did, and now the tables are laden with books, collectibles, CDs/cassettes, and more.  There is still room for more, and we know we will need many more places to display the stuff we will go through!

I only had a bit of trouble with my emotions, and the main reason for that, I think, was having to decide what to do with the many, many pictures Mama & Daddy have.  It’s horrible to think, “I don’t need/want that” when you know how much it meant to your parents!  And some of these things mean a lot to us, but we don’t know what in the world we would do with them!  Jeanne said she’d better start now getting rid of stuff so her kids don’t have to deal with what we are dealing with!

Since my last blog, I have been working up to being able to deal with this aspect of my parents’ death.  I didn’t know how much I dreaded it.  All I knew was that there was always something else to do, some other place to be.  One of the biggest things that helped was when Jeanne turned the corner in her grieving process.  It lifted my spirits immeasurably!  Now we are able to lift one another up when one or the other of us are down.  It’s really good!

I know there are other things to write about, but I’m still not in my writing groove.  My thoughts are somewhat disconnected, and I can’t get them to flow well!  I am truly doing okay – just feeling kind of unsure of myself.

Tonight I am cooking a real meal for Bill and myself, the first time since I don’t remember when!  We’ve had all kinds of food around, but always brought by someone else.  Tonight, I am grilling pork chops, with buttered new potatoes and green beans.  And I’m starving!! 

I am praying that my heart can get prepared for Resurrection Sunday this weekend.  I am having a bit of trouble focusing!  Perhaps you can pray with me?  This song has been on my heart so much lately – I may have even included it last time I wrote – but the Lord has used it to minister to me in a great way:

  1. Once far from God and dead in sin,
      No light my heart could see;
    But in God’s Word the light I found,
      Now Christ liveth in me.
    • Christ liveth in me,
      Christ liveth in me;
      Oh! what a salvation this,
        That Christ liveth in me.
  2. As rays of light from yonder sun,
      The flow’rs of earth set free,
    So life and light and love come forth
      From Christ living in me.
  3. As lives the flow’r within the seed,
      As in the cone the tree,
    So, praise the Christ of truth and grace,
      His Spirit dwelleth in me.
  4. With longing all my heart is filled,
      That like Him I may be,
    As on the wondrous thought I dwell
      That Christ liveth in me.


God bless your day, and bless this weekend that reminds us of the hope we have in our Lord Jesus Christ!

 

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Good Friday!

  1. Bettyeboop says:

    I would give anything if I could be there if only to sit and offer moral support. I think Jeanne is on to something. You would not believe the albums and photo boxes of full of pics I have that my boys are not going to want. Guess I shoild do something about that somehow. Wow. Love you, Sis.

  2. You have been on my mind alot lately. With us slowly watching our Grandfather decline we are trying to prepare ourselves but I know that no matter how much you “know” it’s going to happen that doesn’t take away from the deep hurt and loss you feel. Many hugs are being sent your way!

  3. Mottsngbury says:

    Nina, we started getting rid of “stuff” when Bob went thru that w/his mom. He said his heart hurt to throw away/donate stuff that meant so much to her.  I think I scared my kids when I first brought up the “giving away” process. Both asked if we were “ill”,  and we told them we didn’t want them to just pitch or sell everything when we knew what to do w/some of it now.  Kim made me a book.  It’s a spiral notebook called “Nonny’s Book” w/every child & grandchild tabbed on their own section.  I’m to write down what I want them to have or write down if they’ve asked for a particular thing.  Not much in it yet, but it’s a work in progress. No one wants our “stuff”, ha!!

  4. pettybunch says:

    @Mottsngbury – “Nonny’s Book” – what a GREAT idea, Motts!  Just know I am praying for you and I am believing the Lord will work a miracle to get your Mom near you.

Leave a Reply

