Again with the photos!


Dannye Reigh has two favorite times of the year:  in the Fall, it’s Glen Rose, our annual Homeschool Group camp out in Glen Rose, Texas; in the Spring, it’s the Montgomery County Fair!  From the time Dannye was ten years old, we have participated in the MOCO Fair.  When Dannye first entered the Fair competitions, she showed chickens with her brother and sister, and also participated in the Homemaking competition.  Dan loved it all – well, everything except the part where she had to interact with people!  Judges and the buyers at the auction scared her to death, but she never let her shyness squelch her love of the Fair, and through the years she worked through her fears!  Anyway, Dannye is no longer a student, but still enjoys everything about her beloved MOCO Fair! 

 Pamela and Nathanael really enjoyed the Fair, too – but it is definitely Dan’s passion!  She now enters the adult photography show on the first Sunday of Fair week, but that’s definitely not the only thing that draws her!  Friday and Saturday nights are the rodeo, all day Saturday are the different animal and homemaking competitions for the kids.  There are shopping tents, a wonderful carnival, live music, “world’s smallest” or “world’s largest” something or anothers – you know the bit!

This year, Bo’s family and Pamela were all here for the first weekend of the Fair.  Of course, Dan took hundreds of pictures, and I will stop writing and let the photos show you what fun we all had!

MOCO Fair 1
At the fence waiting for the “radio” to start!

MOCO Fair 2
Nonnie’s JOY!

MOCO Fair 3
Look at my Lil’ Cowboy!

MOCO Fair 4
Watching the Fair Queen candidates and their sponsors parade around the arena – Arulai called them “Cowgirl Princesses”.

MOCO Fair 5
She loved them!

MOCO Fair 6
Her best Cowgirl Princess smile!

MOCO Fair 7
Then the petting zoo – Ty wasn’t real sure at first!

MOCO Fair 8
But Arulai – she behaved as though she has these animals running around her own backyard!  She had NO fear!

MOCO Fair 9

MOCO Fair 10

MOCO Fair 11
Titus is getting the hang of it…

MOCO Fair 12
She was being so good, biding her time until she could…

MOCO Fair 13
“Ride the REAL horsie!”

MOCO Fair 14
This is what she had been waiting for all night!

MOCO Fair 15
She even flirted with the cowhand!

MOCO Fair 16
Titus didn’t get to ride, but he did get his picture taken.

MOCO Fair 17
Next, the Carnival!  Pamela rode the Carousel with Arulai.

MOCO Fair 18
Kakie (my pet name for Pamela’s best friend, Katie) rode with Titus.  It’s a good thing she did, too – that thing spun like a tornado!  I’d have been sick the rest of the night if I’d been on there with them!

MOCO Fair 19
This is Saturday at the Rabbit Show.  Arulai doesn’t look happy, but she’s just telling me a story, I’m sure.  She loved the whole thing!

MOCO Fair 20
Titus and Auntie Pam

MOCO Fair 21
My three beautiful girls – well, four counting Arulai in the background!

MOCO Fair 22

MOCO Fair 23  MOCO Fair 24  MOCO Fair 25
This was so funny – Bo rode the Carousel with Arulai on Saturday.  Every time they would circle around back to us, they were doing something different!  So cute!

MOCO Fair 26
Em and her babies

MOCO Fair 27
Her little man is almost as big as she is!

MOCO Fair 28
This was a little boy near our seats at the rodeo Saturday night.  He’d been fussed at by his grandmother, so was pouting.  Bo and Em had left earlier to go back to Minnesota, so I kinda knew how the little boy felt!  Life just doesn’t seem fair sometimes…

MOCO Fair 29
Okay, Y’all – ever seen “Mutton Bustin’?”  It’s the greatest!  Kiddoes between 3 and 7 can sign up to ride a sheep in the rodeo!  These kids were unbelievable!

MOCO Fair 30
All children were required to wear helmets, but she lost hers during the ride.  Look at her hanging on!

MOCO Fair 31 
It’s a shame you can’t zoom in on this pic – you’d see the ear-to-ear grin on this little man’s face!

MOCO Fair 32
The Lonestar Cowgirls

MOCO Fair 33 
They were just too cool!

Well, I’m up way past my bedtime, but I really wanted you all to see more of our fun times during our kids’ visit.  God is so good to sprinkle generous amounts of joy among our sorrows!

If I haven’t said it before, I want to be sure that I tell my Xanga friends how much you have meant to me, especially during the last 2 1/2 years.  Many were the times when I felt so lonely because I couldn’t go and do freely as I’d always done before; couldn’t be with my family, or visit my faraway kids.  But you, my friends, were always there for me!  And I thank you – so much!

God bless your day!

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Again with the photos!

  1. Abbiegirl says:

    Dear Mrs. Petty, This post was so fun to see, I LOVE the pictures, as always, Dannye is an amazing photographer. We miss you guys over here, and can’t wait till Em has her baby, so we can see you, I hope before the Wedding, then maybe you could all attend. I hope you have a Wonderful weekend! Love you! ❤ 

  2. I love seeing you having such a fun time with your family and friends!  

  3. Randy7777 says:

    So cute – I love the kids/animals picutres

  4. AuntGen says:

    Ahh, the MOCO Fair!  I miss the days when we watched the horse, pig, and other livestock shows together, and the days of cheering on the bidders at the livestock auction. It’s so much fun to see a pictoral journal of some of the Petty MOCO Fair adventures!  (Maybe next year you and Dan and I can pick up our old tradition and catch a few shows together.)  Dan’s rodeo pics are the greatest and I especially love kind of seeing it all from A.J.’s perspective. It had to be hard for all concerned to say your good-byes and have them leave you there at the fair to embark on their long journey home.  I can’t imagine how empty that left you feeling, as the whole event came so close on the heels of Daddy’s funeral.  I remember how much you wanted to stay home that evening, but what a blessing you had for going!  Isn’t God sweet, and tender hearted toward us, His children?

  5. Loved all the pics! Looks like such fun.

  6. redladybug18 says:

    How fun to get to go the fair with the family! Fairs are the perfect place to get such fun pictures.  That pouting cowboy is so cute 😉 Love the mutton busting and you got the perfect pictures to capture it 😉

Leave a Reply

