A Few Moments to Write…


Today has been a refreshing departure from the norm.  Bill had the task of delivering a trailer to Louisiana, and asked if I would take off work and ride along – so I did!!

We left home this morning [earlier than I think anyone should be awake], and drove pretty straight to the jobsite.  I didn’t think I’d be able to stay awake, but I managed, and it was a great drive.  Well, up until we left I-10.  Then we rode on the roughest road I believe I’ve ever ridden on!  Pulling the trailer made it almost impossible!  But we got there, got the trailer in place, and then had the rest of the day to lollygag as much as we wanted to!

We decided after just a few miles on the rough road that we would take a different route home, so we got on the scenic route.  Bill has taken quite a number of pics, but I’ll have to post them after he goes through them.  We saw so many beautiful things, and a number of odd and crazy things.  I thoroughly enjoy the beauty of God’s creation, and Bill thoroughly enjoys the oddball things that man does with it!  I’ll write more descriptions when I get the photos.

*********************************************

Jeanne and I are still working on the folks’ place, trying to get ready for a yardsale, and eventually the sale of the property.  These last visits have been especially poignant, as we have found so many buried treasures.  We discovered sweet yet difficult memorabilia our Mama kept from our big brother, Danny.  I know I’ve told you about him:  he drowned when he was 15, I was 13, Jeanne 12, and Dave 11.  We were all there, saw it happen.  Mama kept his suitcase from our Lake trip still packed with his things, and when she could bear it she put other special things inside the case, too. Just yesterday we discovered the many cards and letters sent to us after he died. 

Because I was only a child when Danny died, I responded/reacted differently than an adult would at that time; so reading these letters was a completely new way of experiencing Danny’s death.  One of the letters was from our dear eldest sister, who was overseas when Dan died.  Her pain simply flowed through her pen as she wrote a letter she had been dreading to write. 

Another letter was from my paternal grandmother, who was back home after the funeral.  As so often happens, my brother’s death brought back the pain of my grandfather’s death even though it had been almost 6 years earlier.  Little did she know at that time that she would lose one of her own sons just a couple of months later.

I think the most difficult, yet amazing thing I have dealt with in going through these things is how in the world did my Mama do it?  How did she live through losing her precious oldest son in death?  I could barely stand the pain just thinking about it!  Yet, she did stand it.  And I do know how.  The same Heavenly Father who chose to take Danny home also held my Mama up, comforted her, and healed her in time. 

In Mama’s journal, she answers the question “What was the hardest thing you ever had to do?” with this: “On June 19, 1973. This is the day Danny died… Martha and Bob waited for Dad to come home from work to come tell us… It was like the very life had been taken out of me. Getting back to living a normal life of Mother and wife was the hardest thing I ever did. I wanted to quit, but with the Lord’s help and the support of all my family and some time, I did begin to live again.”

 That truth amazed me and encouraged my faith as I watched it unfold throughout my life, and even more as I look back with a mother’s heart and contemplate the great pain my Mama bore.  What an amazing Mama I had.  What an awesome God we serve!

Even though Jeanne and I are finding emotional roller coaster rides each time we go over to Mama & Daddy’s house, the faith, trust, and godliness of our parents is being confirmed at every turn.  What a privilege it is to be their children!

********************************************************

Now Bill and I are nearing Houston and the sky has exploded with the most gorgeous sunset I’ve been blessed to see in such a long time!  Again, I will have to get the pics from him soon so I can show you.  Of course, he had to pull over on the side of the freeway to take pictures!

Oh, and I must leave you with the most precious pic of my grandbabies to date!  They will have a little “brudder-sister” soon, and we are all anxious to meet him/her.  Arulai says, “Dis tiny baby brudder-sister is gunna come JESTERDAY!”  Her sense of time is a little off, but it will be here before we know it!

Arulai and Ty

Hoping it won’t be so long before I write again!

God bless your day!

 

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Few Moments to Write…

  1. AuntGen says:

    So glad you wrote today! You seem to have had a wonderful trip, and I can’t wait to see the pictures. I am emotional after  our “finds” yesterday and visiting Mr. J today ~ striken with the realization of what our parents went through and the reality of the grace poured onto them by a faithful, very real Father/God.  Mama expressed somewhere in her journaling that she loved God’s word, but was never sure about applying it to her life, but she just didn’t realize how much her life really was a display of His splendor. I didn’t realize it, either. It has taken losing Mama and Daddy, standing back from who they were, to really get into focus what others could see for years. I don’t know if I’m expressing myself very well, but I know you know.  What grace, that God is still constantly working these thing together for our good and that He gives us eyes to see it. What a heritage He’s given us.

  2. ABAHM says:

    Thank you for sharing this, it is wonderful to read about your parents.  I know how it is going through things.  We found many sweet things in amongst all the drawers and closets.  I am glad you wrote it down, to help you remember.  The Lord is good.

  3. Bettyeboop says:

    It was so hard for me to deal with Dan’s death from such a long distance away. After the first shock wore off, I stayed busy during the days with four boys to care for but the nights, oh how I dreaded the nights. That’s when it would hit me in the stomach again that my little brother was dead. It took a long time to get past that. I would get a visual of what you all must have seen and it was like receiving a physical blow. The visual in my mind was as horrible after Billy Michael died. I wanted an eraser to wipe it out of my mind. Well, enough of that! No one should have to bear the depth of pain Dad and Chloe did but they bore it with such faith and grace.

  4. This is such an encouraging post.  It is a blessing to me to see how people verbalize the pain of their lives in the context of God’s unfathomable Grace.  The things you have said about your Daddy and Mama make me realize again how many people are watching our lives, and how the way we respond to what LIFE hands us is either a monument to faith or a foothold for disbelief.  Thanks, girlie, for this post.  I hope you and Bill are having a wonderful trip together.

Leave a Reply

