Moody – me, not the preacher…


I am not a moody person.  At least, I never have been before.  But I am feeling pretty moody right now and I don’t like it one bit!  I’ve seen people write negative things about Pollyanna lately, which makes me sad, because I am a very Pollyanna personality.  I LOVE the Glad Game.  I pretty much live by the Glad Game.  It’s not that I don’t know the truth, nor that I want to hide the truth.  It’s that I believe in a different truth.  I believe in the truth that says that no matter what circumstances surround me, my Lord not only has everything in control;  He’s also working those circumstances out for GOOD.  My good, your good, but mostly His good!  Hence, the Glad Game works for me!

Usually…

We arrived at Pamela’s a day later than planned.  We had a good trip, so that wasn’t the problem.  The problem actually began almost a week before we left.  You see, on Monday night before we were planning to leave on Friday, I fell down the last few steps of our stairway.  I won’t go into all the whys and wherefores.  Just suffice it to say that I fell and it was eventually determined that I sprained my knee and my foot/ankle.  All I know is that it really hurt bad, and it really limited my ability to prepare for the trip! 

To add to the stress, we were also on the back side of the estate sale for the folks’ stuff and although we had quite a few come our way, it didn’t make a dent in the amount of stuff left over!  So we had to put things away, pile stuff up, cover and protect in case the never-ending drought in our area decided to end while we are gone.  We had people calling to look at some of the items we had for sale.  I truly think we send out vibes to all the idiots who read the classifieds on Craigs List!  You can’t even imagine the stories Bill could tell, and you might not even believe them if I told you! 

We weren’t able to leave on Friday, but we did get on the road bright and early Saturday morning.  We had hoped to take several large (and necessary) pieces of the folks’ furniture to Pam and Will, but Bill just couldn’t fit nearly all of it in.  We were driving the Explorer to leave with Bo and Em, and found out that the only self-moving company that rents trailers for non-local moves doesn’t allow them to be pulled by the Ford Explorer.  So we crammed the Explorer as full as we could and took off! 

We did have a great trip.  We stopped in a small town for the night, so the second day of our trip was shorter.  It was so wonderful to see Pam and Will, and we had a fun few days here with them.  We even got to go to the Cottage, Will’s folks’ lakehouse, for a day.  Pamela has PRECIOUS in-laws, and I’m so glad we  had a chance to visit, even for a minute.

Cottage 2  Cottage 1

Bill, Pamela, and I left for Minnesota on Thursday morning, sadly leaving Will behind.  It was a horribly long drive for me.  I may have overdone it with my leg the day(s) before, and I just wasn’t feeling well.  I was, though, eager to see my babies, so we just pushed through the rough stuff and made it before the kids went to bed!  Oh, it was wonderful to see my babies!  And equally wonderful to see Bo, Em, and Dannye Reigh!

Em with kids  Bo   

My cup was indeed running over!  We had so much fun, holding the baby, making Titus smile (which isn’t difficult, I might add – he’s the happiest child I’ve seen since his Daddy!), and listening to Arulai talk and sing, watching her dance.  Joy, joy, joy!

Selah 3  Selah 4

Selah 5

Selah 2  Selah 1  

Titus

Arulai 2  Arulai

Before I left home, I got the idea to have a “Long-Distance Shower” for Emily & Selah.  I invited all of Em’s friends who live too far away from her to actually give her a baby shower.  I had such a great response, and so many friends gave towards our goal of a really nice double stroller.  I was actually able to buy the stroller, and have enough left for Pamela and I to shop for extra gifts!  So when we got to Minnesota, we wanted to have a time for Em to open the gifts – sort of a baby shower without the silly games!  Emily’s mom and dad joined us for the evening.  Emily was soooo surprised!  And blessed!  It was great!

On Sunday, we got to do one of my most favorite things in the whole world – watch my son play baseball!  He is such an amazing athelete, and has so much fun playing.  He has joined a 28+ team, and it seems they are all glad he did.  They were also appreciative of Nathanael’s loud, cheering family – especially since that family includes not only us, but Emily’s family, too!  We had so much fun!

Bo 2

Bo and kids 2  Bo and kids

Well, at least until we went back to the parking lot.  I went over to the Explorer to load up, and it was immediately obvious by the broken glass that it had been broken into.  I was just sick.  And got sicker when I realized that my purse was gone!  Because I wore the leg brace, I decided to leave it in the car.  I was careful to put it on the floor board, but I wondered if I was watched or something, because my purse is all they took.  I guess they didn’t want my Bible bag, which was right beside it!

Of course, it didn’t take long for the theives to begin using my cards.  If it hadn’t been the weekend, they would have been sorely disappointed.  We don’t have much, especially between paydays.  We discovered it fairly quickly, but not quickly enough.  They drained everything – plus!!  Thankfully, our bank was great, and stopped the spending spree before more harm could be done. 

We did have to close out our accounts, though, and since I now have no ID, I was not allowed to be on the new accounts.  And I lost my favorite purse.  And a couple of days worth of pills.  And my PHONE!  Oh, man, I miss my phone!

It’s a weird feeling, losing my purse.  Having no ID limits everything – driving, purchasing… Having no phone is awful!  Not because I love talking on the phone, because I don’t.  The reason it was in the car in the first place is because I don’t love talking on the phone.  And I figured that anyone who needed to get ahold of me could call any number of my family members who were right there with me.  But not having a phone, my own phone, has really affected me. 

As a matter of fact, this whole thing has affected me.  I don’t really feel what other people say they’ve felt – violated, etc.  I feel…ALONE.  It is such a strange feeling for me, and probably made worse because Bill went back home Wednesday.  It’s as though what identity I had left is now 1200 miles away from me!  I know – melodramatic!  Something I have little tolerance for normally!  I’m afraid it’s creeping up on me stealthily, and overcomes me when I least expect it! 

Papa with Ty

I believe with all my heart that my Lord was not taken by surprise by all of these events.  I believe that He will, as He promised and always has before, work all these circumstances for good.  I know He not only loves me, but cares about all of these things.  I am thinking, too, that He is patiently trying to show me that HE is my identity.

These past days, though, my feelings haven’t matched up with my knowledge!  I imagine that just writing all this out will help bring the two closer together.  I hope so, because I really miss Pollyanna!

God bless your day!

 

 

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Moody – me, not the preacher…

  1. Oh how AWFUL! I am sure I would feel very violated, too! Ugh, that just leaves you with a terrible, sick feeling, doesn’t it? I’m so sorry. :(I hope tomorrow is better. And hopefully the Glad Game will be a little easier then!

  2. chix0rgirl says:

    I’m so sorry to hear about all the recent setbacks! It’s really rough to have good times dampened a bit by such negative things. I hope it all gets resolved quickly and that you are able to regain your usual mobility and your personal belongings/accounts quickly. So sorry to hear!

  3. pettybunch says:

    @CandisBloggery – @chix0rgirl – Thank you, ladies.  It lifts my heart just that you’ve taken the time tonight to sympathize!

  4. windsormis says:

    It is often when we feel far away from God’s comfort that He is actually doing the most in our lives. I’m so glad he does not depend on our feelings, but loves us no matter what.  I am so sorry for all you have been through. I am encouraged by the fact that you are still trusting the Lord through all of this.Praying for you.

  5. Bettyeboop says:

    I know it has been a rough trip in many ways. All will be much more calm and sane once you get home and in your own nest. I can’t even imagine being away from home for that long. Even my trailer is my other home. Enjoy the rest of your visit with your kiddos. Love you very much.

  6. loaine says:

    Such a bummer about your purse being stolen! (one of my fears) May sunny days and blue skies be ahead!And may you feel the Lord’s presence & goodness surrounding you!P.S.Your grandkiddos are adorable!

  7. Oh, my goodness!  You have certainly been through it!!!  A friend here recently had her purse stolen too, and she has gone through all the same things.  It is awful!  And I leave my purse in the car a lot!  I think it is ok that you are feeling what you are – God created us with emotions and feelings!  And just because you feel grumpy because of the very difficult circumstances doesn’t mean you aren’t still trusting God and acknowledging His sovereignty.  Saying a prayer for you now, dear friend!

  8. FlyAway180 says:

    Wow, I hope things turn out for you. I said a prayer for you just now.And those pictures up there are quite precious.:)

  9. What you are feeling are lots of honest emotions, and I suspect that your biggest emotion is grief.  You’ve had significant losses in a very short time. Sometimes I find that one more loss, especially if it was unexpected, becomes the breaking point for all my feelings to come crashing down.  It is a really hard time for you, and I can only imagine how you must feel.  But your commitment to allowing God to work through all things is truly what will see you through these tough times.  You will, by God’s grace, be okay, and I say all of the world can use more Pollyannas so  YOU GO, GIRL, and don’t let circumstances cause you to shift your focus.  I will pray for you, too.  It is still the best thing we can do for our friends.  And Nina, though I have never met you, you have ministered to me so often over the last year or so, and I pray that God will bring that blessing back to you a hundred fold.

  10. pettybunch says:

    @Bettyeboop – I wish I could deal with all these crazy issues so the remainder of my trip could be easy-breezy! Pamela and I are surely enjoying Arulai.  She is so much fun, plays by herself when we’re busy, and entertaining us with her amazing imagination! We haven’t seen much of Will, but he will be off tomorrow and Wednesday – and he is preaching Wednesday night! I’m so excited about that!@piecedtreasures – I think that the thief/thieves probably saw me put my purse back in the car. I’ve had advice from many to put my purse in the trunk, but the Explorer doesn’t have a trunk! Thank you for your prayers!  I am blessed by my Xanga friends!@Buckeyegirlie – Thank you for your encouragement, Mary Ann.  I definitely think the feelings I have come from the increasing pile of events in my life.  Sometimes I wonder if just a time of gut-wrenching sobs would get rid of some of the pressure!  You say I have been an encouragement to you, but it is certainly true vice versa!  God has given me so many good friends through this little blog!

  11. ladymeeki says:

    Is Pamela pregnant?

  12. pettybunch says:

    @ladymeeki – No, just a loosey swimsuit cover!

  13. ABAHM says:

    oh so sorry to hear of your ankle and your purse being stolen.  I had mine snatched when we were first married and it is still a vivid memory.  Love to you and prayers to the Lord. Your sweet ones are so cute, I know they must be a huge blessing.  We just finished our visit with my son, his wife, and little Malachi and it was so so much fun!

  14. grace_to_be says:

    oh, wow! so sorry about your purse.. i totally understand that alone feeling and clinging to your husband as that last sense of “identity.” i lost my wallet several years ago and it was such a frustration to get everything replaced. i hope you can get things back in order soon!!! you’ve been through alot this year and i know it’s hard to always keep our focus where it should be – but i’m blessed by your honesty and the way, even in the tough times, you acknowledge He’s in control… shayne and i were just talking about this recently that that’s what real faith is~ at the end of the day believing God is who He says He is, even when we don’t feel like it’s true and our moods and emotions don’t match.  regardless, clinging to the truth. the pictures are all so great~ selah is a gorgeous baby. but of course, look at the parents! 😉 love & hugs to you friend. i personally am GLAD for the pollyanna’s of this world!!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

