Slowly back to normal….


The wildfires continue to burn near us, but so far the winds are keeping them away from us.  The nearest fire has now destroyed 12,500 acres (latest report I’ve heard), about 100 homes, and is only 60% contained. I’m following a FB page called Montgomery County Wildfire Info, and it’s heartbreaking to see all the displaced folks and animals, yet heartwarming to see all those wanting to help in every way you could possibly think!

The rest of life seems to pale in comparison to the fires, but there are other things going on.  Bill has been dealing with mouth pain for over a month, so we finally got him in to see the dentist.  I didn’t know what to expect, since the pain had been pretty bad for quite awhile, but it was determined that two teeth had to go, and a crown on another.  I felt pretty relieved that it wasn’t something worse, and although he is still in some pain today, we are hopeful this fixed everything.

Dannye Reigh has had her share of medical issues, too.  Before she went to Bo and Em’s, she developed a viral infection in her left eye.  The doc gave her some steroid drops that helped a lot, but during her visit up north it got real bad again.  We got her back in today, and the doc upped her dosage and wants a recheck next week.  I am praying that this will do the trick – eye issues are even scarier than teeth issues!

I don’t know if I told you all, but just before we went to visit the kids Bill asked me to quit my job.  I was so torn about it!  I definitely enjoy being a homemaker, and having my only “boss” being my sweet hubby, but I LOVED MY JOB!  I also enjoy the freedom that being at home gives me, like being available when Bill wants me to go places with him, or doing things with Jeanne during the day, or running off to visit the kids for a month anytime I want to!  But I know I will miss the challenges of my work, and the little dab of money I made doing that work! 

Bill’s reasoning for asking me to quit was many fold, but one biggie is to give me more time to work on Petty Family Photography administrative stuff.  Bill and Dannye Reigh are definitely the photographers, but neither of them enjoy the office or public relations stuff much.  Bill handles it better than Dan, but he’d much rather tell me what they want and let me handle the phone calls, website updates, and print orders!  So the next week or so will mean getting our upstairs office organized so I can better know what I’m doing.  Now if I just knew how to organize this stuff!!  We have a pretty small space, but I think if I make the best use of every nook and cranny, it will service us very well.  If I can keep Bill from spreading HIS stuff out all over every flat surface up here!!  Goodness!

I may have put these up before, but here are some of my favorite of Bill’s photos we are selling as art prints.  You can tell we’re from Texas – the biggest seller I have is the Texas Flag by Moonlight, with the second biggest seller being the Longhorn in Bluebonnets.  I love those, but my favorite right now is the blue-hued tree landscape.  It came out of the camera like that, and I love it!

Texas Flag and Moonlight sm 001

Dads stuff april 07 070a

sunrise January 29, 2007 042

April 2010 380a sm

DSC_6807a

DSC_7973a

I thank you all for the sweet notes of prayers coming our way over the fires, as well as the different health issues we’ve had around here.  As one of my Xanga friends said in a recent post, “…and wonderful friends who’ve been so supportive, and when i say, friends, i mean those of you here too.. a friend to me is anyone who takes the time to express interest and show kindness, and though i’ve not met many of you, i feel that term “friend” defines you well.” 

My feelings exactly! 

How blessed I am to have these friends who care enough to pray for our needs!

God bless your day!

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Slowly back to normal….

  1. Awesome pics! Thanks for befriending and visiting my site! God bless, ~ Pete “Since you were precious in My sight, you have been honored, and I have loved you…” Isaiah 43:4 (ref. my Xanga post of 2/21/2011 AD)http://evangelist-guy.xanga.com/741882736/do-you-feel-loved-and-honored/

  2. AuntGen says:

    How’d I miss this one? I’m so sorry about Bill’s teeth, but hope having them fixed will be a boon to his overall wellness.  Is he feeling better today?  And, yeah, Dan’s eye thing is kinda scary.  I’m praying for both of them. These fires seem to be coming so close!  I know most of the smoke is just that, but as dry as it is, you can’t help thinking that we could be in the middle of a red alert evac before we know it.  Amy and I were just talking about what to box up just in case…

  3. pettybunch says:

    @AuntGen – Yeah, we’re making a loose plan, too!

  4. redladybug18 says:

    loves these prints!  That first one is amazing and makes me think about how he captured it with the moon so bright as well as the flag.  Is it two images put together?Glad you’re still safe and the fires are dying down a bit! 

  5. pettybunch says:

    @redladybug18 – Thank you, Gabrielle. The first one is just one shot.  He worked hard to get just the exposure he wanted!  The wind is giving a lot of trouble with the fires.  The containment was down to 50% this morning, but I read that they are sending in a DC-10 jumbo jet to dump fire retardant material on our area fires.  Praying it will be very successful!

  6. ABAHM says:

    Came over to “check on you”, as the news is reminding me of all the wildfires in Texas.  Continuing to lift you all in prayer! Beautiful to see these pictures of Texas! 

  7. Any updates on the fires? God bless, ~ Pete

  8. pettybunch says:

    @ABAHM – , @redladybug18 – , @Evangelist_Guy – The fire closest to us is now 85% contained.  Donation sites have been re-organized, and folks who have lost their homes are being given vouchers for hotels.  They are still dealing with hotspots and minor flare-ups, but have things well under control at this time.Thanks for your concern.

  9. redladybug18 says:

    @pettybunch – yay for the fires getting controlled!

Leave a Reply

